We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the exhibits here”
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.52*
and up
Krakow Museums and Transport Official Pass
Ranked #67 of 276 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This history museum features a permanent collection of 20th-century Polish art, including the priceless collections from the Young Poland period, and exhibits of decorative art, Polish arms and army uniforms.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the exhibits here”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was about a 15 minute walk for me. I enjoyed my visit, especially the paintings. I think it was free the day I went, so if you are looking for fun things to do for free, check their calendar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoanMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    50
    12
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Vanity Exhibition”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very interesting exhibition however the the cashier should probably change the job.
There aren't too many pictures thus it's great for a person like me who doesn't like spending hours in the museums.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Great Modern Art”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm surprised more people don't find their way to the main building of the National Museum which is a haven of peace and quiet after the Main Square and its surroundings. It is on several tram & bus routes, though it's an easy walk from the Old Town.

I must confess the costume & armoury section didn't exactly get the blood racing. However the galleries showcasing modern Polish art are excellent - though much of the 19th and early 20th century stuff is derivative. The top floor has a really great selection of contemporary art and of installations which really do begin to break new ground and they are well displayed. At 10zl (concessions, including pensioners, only 5zl and free on Sundays for the permanent exhibitions) it's well worth the short journey and a couple of hours of anyone's time who wants to learn something about the Polish art scene.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“breath of fresh air”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We popped in here and have to say we were glad we did, if your an art lover then the selection of polish art here Will surprise you in a good way there were some fabulous contemporary peices which we thoroughly enjoyed. Don't be put off by this museum's write up in their pamphlets you'll thoroughly enjoy the top floor even if the uniforms and decorative arts aren't your thing - well worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Serenity_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Could spend a long time here”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Given that this is a National Museum it was very quiet and there are not many reviews so maybe not many people go there but it is well worth a visit.

The top floor is the art museum which has a lot of paintings and some sculptures, etc.

If you see the armoury section you don’t really need to visit the armoury at the castle as they are similar. We had already done the castle first though.

Photographs are allowed apart from in the special exhibition areas.

The museum is free on a Sunday. It was closed on the May Day Bank Holiday (Friday). It has a coffee shop where you can sit inside or outside and you order and they being the drinks out, there wasn’t really much of a wait for this. They have a good range of beverages and some snacks like toasted sandwiches (menus on the tables).

The trams and numerous buses stop nearby (Cracovia) and coming from town you just need to cross the road.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing