We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, maybe not a five star though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
Ranked #161 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The hotel was well priced for a five star, although didn't quite live up to its five star rating.

The Crown Piast was nice with stylish rooms, complimentary bath robes etc - however, while we did not use the spa facilities the literature in the hotel did mention having to pay for the sauna facilities. Rather unusual to find a five star without a pool too.

The bar was nice, very quiet and not huge.

Overall, a good hotel, but maybe somewhat over rated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheWandererHimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 264 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had an early morning flight so decided to stay over in Krakow. Finding the hotel was a bit hard as the entrance to the grounds is virtually under a flyover, it is like a lay by and that is the entrance. Close to the airport, few minuter from town

The hotel was beautiful sat in a park that we could not appropriate as it was raining but very quiet. The room was nice, but not to my taste slightly dated looking, the bathroom was first class. The bed was so comfortable.although my niece who was five at the time had a temporary bed that was not so great from a comfort point,.

However the highlight was in the morning, the breakfast was the nicest I ever had. It was from 7 am until 11 and it seemed anything I could wished for. was on the buffet table, from sausages, to ham, cake, mousses, yogurts, omelet and everything I tried was just first class.

There was two negatives, first was the car park was extra and the second the porter was a bit pushy. We only had one small case yet he insisted on helping despite me telling him a few times I could manage. In the end he got a couple pound tip.

Next time we are in Krakow I will defiantly stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I had misgivings about visiting this hotel due to the mixed reviews on Trip Adviser particularly around staff attitude and the local surroundings i.e. Flyovers, dual carriageway, distance from the city and costs of travel into city. My misgivings were put to rest on arrival and throughout our stay. I am Mr Fussy and Mr obnoxious when things are not right -not a problem here. The hotel is beautiful, immaculately clean, ornate, well maintained and excellent facilities.The staff could not have been more helpful, polite, conversational and witty. The issue around being remote and cut off from city is incorrect. There is access to buses and trams within 30 seconds of the hotel entrance and the cost is minimal. The buses and trams are every 6 or 7 minutes and start early and finish late. A fantastic stay in Krakow made all the better due to choice of accommodation. The Hotel costs a little less than comparative hotels in city centre and I strongly suspect that the negative comments on Trip Adviser were by people who went for the less expensive option out of the city but then didnt want to spend money going into city. If they used taxis it would be about £10 each way which still isnt horrendous for 2 people, we however used public transport feeling that it adds to the experience. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very clean and the staff are very helpful and cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble. However the restaurant is very expensive and not much choice on the menu. Not much of an atmosphere and felt quite awkward whilst in there. Would definitely say go out to the old town to eat and drink it's a lot cheaper and a nicer atmosphere. The hotel was nice and didn't take long to go into the centre but you do have to get a taxi, no way you can walk it. Apart from that it's a nice quite place and no trouble. Maybe not a five star hotel but definitely a four.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank LeanneeLouiise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Good hotel but it's probably 1 and a half hours to walk into the city, the taxis are cheap so it's not a huge problem. Food is average in the hotel and very expensive compared to all of the other restaurants in the city. The "fitness centre" was an absolute joke. It's a room with 2nd hand gym equipment in and not even one treadmill!! Overall the hotel looks great and is probably a good 4 star, also the staff were absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had our wedding here in August, so this is sort of a 2 part review, for the Wedding day itself I'm going to give them 4/5, for the rest of the time I'm going to give them 2/5, I'm also giving them the benefit of doubt as I know the management and organisation structure has changed, so hopefully things are on the up.

So to start of with, this is not a 5 star hotel, I have no idea what the rules are in Poland for calling yourself one, but I've stayed in far nicer places in Krakow and Warsaw that don't claim to be 5 star, so the first thing they should do is lower expectations and either re-label themselves as a 3 star hotel, or make the necessary changes and aim for the 4 star rating this venue should be capable of. Either way, 5 stars is just ridiculous.

Now as I mentioned, we had our wedding here in August and that is the only reason I am showing some sympathy with this review. Organising initially was a complete nightmare, with either outright lies, or severe communication breakdowns throughout, however as I mentioned there were several personal changes, so its plausible the new management are slowly getting to grips with things. Firstly despite agreeing a price for certain parts of the wedding, every time we requested written confirmation of the phone call/conversation in person it took ages to arrive and then changed, this happened so many times we lost count!!!

Perhaps the rudest moment of the whole planning was when we went to try the wine (we never got to try the food, despite being promised this) before the wedding, was when we tried a slither of the red and white wine, when our drinks bill came, they actually tried to charge us for these tasters!!!! Then to top things off the manager made a big deal about taking out her personal debit card to cover the bill as we obviously weren't going to (for the wine taster, obviously we paid for the drinks we actually had).

Another recurring theme was them saying yes and meaning no, for example, the table covers were yellow/gold (we knew this), yet when we asked if they were white, we were told they were!! This part wasn't a language barrier as we asked in Polish!

There were a few more hiccups en route, but when it came to the day itself the management had completely changed, so as I said at the start, it may be that change is good as the wedding day was largely glitch free.

Now onto the hotel itself...the location isn't great, but its near the airport, fairly near a tram stop and its easy enough to get a taxi, that said they need to sort out the entrance road as there is an abandoned motel just outside which is really off-putting and a shame as otherwise the hotel would look quite impressive on arrival.

The gardens (one of the main reasons we chose it for the wedding) are very nice, with some great outdoor seating and good facilities for bbq's etc. They also have some outdoor tennis courts.

There is no swimming pool, which is one big omission (especially when claiming to be a 5 star hotel), this is something they should definitely consider adding if they want to attract more guests. They do have a small Jacuzzi and a very small gym area, but that's not really suitable for a hotel of this size.

The bar is small, but nice enough, expensive for Krakow, but that's expected for a hotel, there's even room to sit outside in the gardens when the weather is nice, which is actually quite pleasant. The service at the bar is generally okay (when staffed), however oddly despite a completely full bar, they sometimes randomly seem to shut up at night, with no warning, very strange!

So what else did they get wrong?

Well we had about 100 people coming from outside Poland (and others domestically), we had given the hotel very precise details of room arrangements and checked numerous times about early check-in's/late check-out's as people were catching 4/5am flights and obviously would want to check in early. This was all agreed, yet despite this they initially refused to allow people to check in early as previously agreed, it was only when one of the guests called me we rang the hotel and resolved this, although unfortunately some people had been turned away and headed off into central Krakow.

They only had 2 cots...its is presumably mainly a business hotel, but given the size of it, it was slightly surprising. That said, we did know this in advance, so pre-booked them, of course on arrival one was missing, eventually one turned up hours later from a sister hotel.

They also managed to mess up the bedding arrangements, by trying to cram in a family of 4 into 2 beds, which initially they refused to rectify, luckily we had a fairly feisty polish speaker (the mother of the bride) to hand to resolve things!

Also worth a mention is the fact that they accused my parents of stealing a bath robe (it should be pointed out they have form of threatening to call the police which you may be aware of if you read certain UK papers)! My parents kindly offered to empty their luggage out in the middle of the lobby should they wish to inspect their contents...they declined this offer!

Now onto the wedding day...with the ceremony at 16:30 (the hotel had the full timetable), people obviously wanted lunch before they went and they were happy to take the orders...unfortunately with 5 minutes to go the majority hadn't turned up! The hotel said this was because they were too busy sorting out the other room for a wedding!!!! Now whilst this is of course true, its not acceptable to take these orders and charge people when they know the people ordering are going to the wedding they are setting up and hence can't wait 2 hours for a burger! They also made it incredibly difficult for people who never got their food to get their money back along with a couple of rogue drinks they were charged for that never appeared!

Its also worth mentioning that at breakfast (which is actually very good, a great selection, even a chef cooking omelettes on demand) we were waiting for a sound technician, who was supposed to meet us. When we enquired where he was, we were told he wouldn't be able to meet us until later, we pointed out that wasn't acceptable and also not what was agreed and it turns out he must have been in the next room as he was there within minutes, very odd!

All that said...the wedding party itself went off pretty much seamlessly, we hired a decorator to take care of the room and she had no issues, the staff seemed helpful and willing to assist with the setup, the food and drink all came out seamlessly, one course a few dietary requirements were messed up, but this mistake was resolved very quickly and not repeated. The hot food was actually very good and the cold buffet also impressive.

The next day we had a bbq in the garden, which was pretty nice, the food wasn't the same quality as the day before and some of the meat was undercooked, but overall it was decent and no real complaints there.

So, to sum up, I'm giving the Crown Piast the benefit of the doubt and awarding them 3/5 partly because despite issues beforehand they actually did pretty well for the wedding party and partly because the management changed and I'm hoping in time they get their act together. The hotel has potential to be very good if it has a competent management team, so hopefully they read reviews like this, learn from their mistakes and turn things around. I should point out, that if I ignore the wedding, based on our experience, I would be struggling to award 2/5, so well done to the staff for their efforts on the big day itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went there on Christmas. As we were the only guests we were given in-room breakfast and free entry to the sauna (which we used on all three days). The room was not very hot and we were told that they are not putting heating very high as it isn't very cold outside. However, after we asked them for the third time, we were given an electric heater for the room which solved the problem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestbourneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa
#83 of 267 in Krakow
347 reviews
Q Hotel Krakow
#69 of 267 in Krakow
202 reviews
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#132 of 267 in Krakow
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#86 of 267 in Krakow
662 reviews
Green Hotel
#215 of 267 in Krakow
11 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#41 of 267 in Krakow
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Piast Hotel & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Piast Hotel & Park

Address: ul. Eliasza Walerego Radzikowskiego 109, Krakow 31-342, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#58 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: $70 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Piast Hotel & Park 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Piast Hotel & Park in Krakow. Our Hotel is a modern complex. Ideally located in Krakow, surrounded by greenery provides to its guests tranquility and relaxation. We offer the accommodation in 179 comfortable perfectly equipped rooms and suites. The Hotel Restaurant Anthurium serves a gourmet menu, also supports weddings and other special events. Each year Crown Piast Hotel & Park organizes dozens of international conferences, banquets, seminars, meetings and events in the garden as well. Just be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Piast Hotel & Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Piast Hotel And Park
Crown Piast Hotel Park
Crown Piast Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing