We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable long autumn weekend in Krakow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa
Ranked #65 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Enjoyable long autumn weekend in Krakow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Niebieski Art Hotel and Spa for 5 nights as a party of 2 adults and a 4 year old child. Prior to our arrival, we reconfirmed our request for a rollaway bed with the hotel, and they responded very quickly that everything had been arranged. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a slightly larger room with a balcony facing the river, which was great!

The hotel had almost a Scandinavian design feel to it. We found that our room was designed quite simply and cleanly, with some artwork on the wall but otherwise austere. Our room had a queen sized bed and a rollaway twin, which was on a nice frame as opposed to the more standard folding kind with a thin mattress. The room was spacious enough to hold our luggage and still have ample walking space and play space for our child. We had a flat screen TV, a desk, and some chairs. The balcony didn't have seating, although our neighbor's room had chairs, so we presume it could have been arranged. The room had wired and wireless internet for free (no security code). We found the wireless to be of adequate speed for general internet browsing, but slightly slow in quality for doing work. The room also had a closet for hanging clothing as well as a safe, which was neatly opened by our room key in stead of a code. Free water was provided in glass bottles, which was a welcome touch for evenings at the hotel. We didn't use the mini bar. The room facing the river was quiet other than occasional foot traffic in the hallway. We don't know if the rooms facing the road behind the hotel would be equally quiet or not.

The bathroom was spacious and had a walk in shower, separated from the rest of the room by a plastic curtain (not exactly luxurious, but the shower was nice and spacious so it didn't matter in the end). We also had a sink, toilet, towel warming rack, and three sets of shampoo, lotion, and body gel. Our only complaint was a lack of tissues.

Our rate included breakfast, which was served in the main Vanilla Sky restaurant. Breakfast was in buffet format, and mostly cold items except for scrambled eggs and a few meats. The quality of the cold selections was excellent -- multiple kinds of fish, cheeses, meats, cereals, yoghurts, breads, and juices. Coffee / tea were available, and espresso-type beverages on demand. We found it to be a great start to the day, although our child regretted not having more hot options e.g. pancakes. during nice weather, the restaurant had outdoor balcony seats which are lovely, overlooking the river.

We also ate dinner once each at the hotel's two restaurants - Vanilla Sky and Pizza Fresco. The latter had excellent pizza and pasta choices, and was very child friendly. Considering the quality of food, the prices were extremely reasonable and had we not wanted to try more Polish cuisine, we would have been tempted to return. Vanilla Sky is a Polish fusion restaurant which appears to turn into a dance floor on occasion (not while we were there). The food was good -- we had beetroot soup with ravioli and then steak and pork dishes, and our child had pasta from the kids menu. The entrees appeared to try too hard to be creative, and would have been better with simple focus on the fresh quality. But we did enjoy ourselves, and also our child enjoyed the play room which was set up just behind the restaurant. Unfortunately our child was out of our sight while finishing off the meal, which meant that we took turns checking on him, but in the end, he had a great time so we were fine with it.

The location of the hotel on the river was fabulous - we walked to town twice. It was a slightly long walk for a 4 year old child, considering we were going to tour the rest of the day, but doable. He had a great time tossing pebbles into the river. The area in between the hotel and Wawel Castle is under renovation, so there was construction equipment at work during the weekdays. On the weekends, they left it open for people to walk or bike, which was quite nice. The hotel had a tram stop just behind it, so catching a tram to Old Town was easy and quick. The neighborhood didn't offer much to see or visit, other than the hotel itself, so if you want to walk out to shops and restaurants in the immediate area, this isn't the place for you. If you don't mind a stroll to city center and a good place to stay, then definitely give this hotel some consideration.

The staff in both the restaurants and the reception area did not exude friendliness (likely a cultural nuance), but when approached, they were very helpful and efficient, and even offered up helpful tips to ensure we didn't make common tourist mistakes. They all spoke passable English, although can't say everyone seemed comfortable in the language.

We took taxi's in both directions from and to the airport, and the price was between 80-100 zlotys and took approx 20 minutes to drive. The taxi which our hotel arranged was a large and comfortable van which was cheaper in the end than the small public taxi we took on the way in.

The hotel lobby also has the bar immediately there, with just two small sofa's for seating. We didn't intend to sit at the bar, but having seen it, we wouldn't have found it to be a place to linger, had we wanted a drink.

n.b. there is construction going on immediately next door to the hotel, but we didn't notice it at all. We did not use the fitness room or spa so can't comment on those. One last note -- despite passing no smoking laws in Poland a few years ago, there is quite a bit of smoking everywhere. Our room was clearly labeled as no smoking, but there was a slight residual odor in our room, possibly filtering in from the balconies or neighboring rooms.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a river facing view for a quiet, pretty experience. Certain rooms on the 4th floor have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    83
    13
    14
    4
See reviews for
44
137
5
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Level Contributor
333 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This boutique property is located by the river and gives an access to a walk way by the river. Not too many rooms, but has all the facilities that a boutique property usually has. Loved the breakfast on the deck overlooking the river.

Not centrally located, but like locals you can walk to the old town.

Room Tip: Go for the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnuradhaGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luhacovice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Super hotel, great location - on the river bank, in a walking distance from the historical centre of Krakow. Great service, helpful staff, good food. Only the conference rooms are not very roomy. Sometimes parking troubles...limited capacity (if you organize a gathering for more people, conference or seminar). But I come repeatedly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the river view, not a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Englad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 4 days at this cute hotel.
On arrival it looked tucked away and maybe too far from square or Jewish quarter, but quickly the charm of this modern hotel, overlooking the river was the best choice. At £40 per night it was not only reasonable, but the friendliness of the staff and cleanses meant this was more than an average hotel.
The trams were great fun and just outside the hotel, with regular trams making it a fun way to wiz through the city, but if live walking, then a charming walk along the river and passed the castle will suit you.

The rooms are not big, but designed well with fab showers, worth asking for a river view.
What made this hotel special, was the spa, at first again just looking like an average spa ( I have do e so many) but again the service, advice and quality of treatment made this a must. Two hours of pure heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luisamaxbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Niebieski for seven for seven nights that included the Saturday when our son and his Polish Fiancee got married in the adjacent church, The english guests virtually filled the hotel over the weekend and not a single word of compalint was expressed by any of them. The hotel reception and service provided were first class and the wedding reception held in the hotel dining room went from 5 pm on the Saturday afternoon til 5 am on the Sunday morning with at least eight courses throughout the night together with a continual buffet and free bar.
The hotel is ideally placed for visitors to Krakow, not far from the centre and directly on the bank of the river with a wide footpath going beyond the castle for a relaxing walk, or to take advantage of the river taxi. Our room was on the fourth floor with a balcany overlooking the river where we sat and relaxed each afternoon or evening. We can well recommend the hotel for anyone visiting the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river..........a good view and no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-milligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent place, visited the hotel with bunch of friends in June 2012 with bunch of friends. City center is not too far, pretty quiet (except for the rennovation in the next building). Rooms were very clean and nice and shiny, staff very polite and friendly. Breakfast is pretty standart for Poland, but very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuracart812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel located next to the river and a short taxi journey to the old town. Rooms are clean and specious we had the superior one with a river view and it was comfortable to stay.
I would highly recommend to pay a visit to Vanilla Spa, they offer extensive list of treatments and massages. I had amasing masage and facial treatment which lasted nearlly two hours for around $ 200.
Restaurant is nice however it was quite empty on a friday night, food was tasty but not memorable, service attentive and friendly.
I definitely recommend this hotel for young couples and groups of friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iness_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#32 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Hotel Stary
#52 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#33 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Hotel Kosciuszko
#79 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#44 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa

Property: Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa
Address: ul. Flisacka 3, Krakow 30-114, Poland (Formerly Hotel Niebieski)
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#27 Family Hotel in Krakow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#35 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#35 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niebieski Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing