We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ester
Ranked #89 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a lovely hotel witha great feeling to it. we stayed in the normal double room but we was worried that the beds would be rock hard from looking at the pictures but how wrong was I!!! nice pillows and bedding. location is perfect in the old jewish quarter so you are close enough to everything but quiet enough so you have a good nights sleep. Staff couldnt do anything more for you and they are so polite. We will defo be back to this beautiful city and wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    176
    50
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
208
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Krakow but first at this hotel, which was far and away better than other places we have stayed. It's always hard to know why some travelers are dissatisfied when others like us are not, but we've found that our reception mostly depends on our own approach. At this hotel, the front desk staff was helpful and courteous, though not warm and welcoming. Our room was quite nice and well-appointed. The dining room, where we had dinner one evening, was charming and both the food and service was exceptionally good. The combination of excellent location, charm and value is enough to make me recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience all that Krakow has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallenkaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a small, well maintained hotel in a great location in the heart of the Jewish quarter of Krakow. Our room was nice, clean and well appointed. So did I rate this as average? The rude staff. Our greeting when we arrived was "Check your room immediately and report any damage immediately. You will be charged for any damage when you check out." Nice welcome. And sure enought, that attitude was in place when I checked out. They asked if I took anything from the honor bar, and I truthfully said no. I left my luggage for storage at the front desk for about 10 minutes after checkout, while I took one last walk around the area. When I returned, the clerk at the desk asked me accusingly "Are you SURE you didn't take a tonic water from the refrigerator? The housekeeper said one was missing." I was put off by his attitude, and told him in absolute terms that nothing was taken, and I would not pay for something that I did not use. I thought they might hold my luggage "hostage" until I paid for the bottle, but they gave me the luggage me immediately. Too bad about the staff, the hotel is very pleasan and nicely located and I would have had a pleasant time had I not be treated like a criminal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richgussow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a basic but charming hotel in the Old Jewish Quarter. Our room was small with a sloping ceiling, but very comfortable (we had to be careful not to bang our heads). The staff was very helpful and spoke a lot better English than our Polish! The breakfast was very good. We loved the location. In addition to the history and ambiance of the neighborhood, there were many good restaurants and art galleries in walking distance. We could also hop a tram or walk to the castle and the central square in maybe 15 minutes.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank frugaltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my partner on our first visit to Krakow.

Rooms were spacous & very clean, breakfast was adequate but the main features of the hotel are the staff and location.

The staff were very friendly & helpful throughout - and spoke excellent English.

The location was perfect for us, it was a 20 min walk to the main old town for the sites but personally I prefered the old jewish area around the hotel on an evening. 5 mins walk from the hotel is the old market place where you'll find a number of small bars with a variety of styles. The street between there and the hotel UL Jozefa had a number of excellent eateries. Kolanko is great for a bite to eat in the afternoon (2 soups & 2 beers came to about £6). The Argentinian grills steaks were superb but my favourite was Starka.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I chose the Hotel Ester for its location - a choice which turned out to be a good one. A small hotel in the Jewish quarter of Krakow, the staff were friendly and the outside restaurant had a truely magnificent serve of duck (try it!). The rooms are somewhat dated but clean and reasonably appointed. The only downside was the live music in the restaurant which quickly became tedious and then there was the added "bonus" of someone continually touting to sell you the CD! Despite the music, Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Have just returned from 4 night stay with my elderly mother. Each year I take her to visit a European city and we have always chosen hotels form TA and never been disappointed before. The location is excellent with plenty of good restaurants (Moment In Time by far our favourite) but our room was very dark and considering we paid 600 pln to upgrade to a "luxury double", it turned out to be the one on the professional photos which is the least appealing - dark brown bedspreads, dark furniture, and damp smelling shower with no bath. The staff were all polite but certainly not friendly - none of then ever asked us how we were or whether we'd had a good stay. We ate in the restaurant one evening - good atmosphere in the square outside and the music was pleasant although identical every single evening. The food was fine but the wine was undrinkable and when I asked for a bottle from the wine list I was told they were waiting for a delivery so had only a bottle of semi-sweet Polish white. (We had specifically requested a dry white.) When we found the more lively bars around the corner from the square we discovered "Moment" which had an excellent wine list, great food, buzzing atmosphere and very charming staff. What a difference! Despite the negatives, we had a wonderful time and Krakow is a beautiful city. The location of Ester was excellent and we were able to walk everywhere, even my mother at 84! Particularly recommend the Salt Mines, which were amazing, the Galicia Jewish museum, Schindler's factory, all the churches and synagogues and a day trip to Zakopane - as a taxi was 600 pln we took the bus which was easy and took between two and two and a half hours for 80 pln! Well worth it. I think the hotel just needs some more experienced staff with more people skills and the rooms (at least ours) need updating. On the plus side, breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed looking out over the square, there was no problem with noise and the beds were comfortable. Not up to the Savic (Prague) or St George's Residence (Budapest) for similar price, but we still had a an excellent time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 35!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizHeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Rubinstein
Hotel Rubinstein
#62 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#70 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#22 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#30 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#43 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ester

Property: Hotel Ester
Address: ul. Szeroka 20, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#30 Family Hotel in Krakow
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#59 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ester 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Hotel Krakow
Hotel Ester Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing