We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Eden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Hotel
Ranked #26 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Location:
This hotel is situated in a side street in the former Jewish quarter of Kazimierz. It is just off the main square in this area which provides a variety of restaurants and pubs and is approx a pleasant 15 min walk to Rynek Glowny, the main square in Krakow. It provides easy access to the city centre, transport facilities, places where Schindlers List was filmed, Schindlers factory and Ghetto Heroes Square.
Hotel:
We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We were upgraded to an apartment free of charge as all the rooms had been booked out for a large group of students and were given a lovely view from the balcony of the old Jewish cemetery and synagogue. There was a television, fridge and complimentary bottles of water. No tea making facilities were provided but we didn't really need this. There was no bath but the shower was good, complete with heated towel rail and hairdryer and the heating in the rooms was perfect.
A buffet continental breakfast was served in the pub restaurant and provided a good selection of cheeses, fruits, yoghurt, salads, cereals, juice and coffee. We had no problems while we were there but the dining room is quite small and I could see how there would be issues if the hotel was full.
We found the staff to be helpful and approachable and the hotel clearly advertised a number of trips and tours that could be organised - they also provided a free guide and map of Krakow which contained a wealth of useful information. We did not use the tours provided by the hotel or tourist information as we found it easier and cheaper to use public transport to access Auschwitz and the Salt Mines ourselves (the guide book mentioned earlier gives a list of train times for visiting Auschwitz). The hotel also offers a salt grotto, mikvah and computer room but unfortunately we didn't have time to use these facilities.
All in all I would highly reccommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    148
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
68
209
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

What a wonderful quaint tastefully restored hotel. Extremely helpful staff who can arrange any trip you wish to go on at much better rates than usually available. They booked us a taxi to do Auschwitz, Birkenau and the salt mines all in one day, which leaves you more free time to explore the surrounding area and of course the magical old town square, The taxi driver spoke very good English, took us to an excellent restaurant for lunch, opposite the salt mine and even used his contacts to change us some money at a better rate. All for 500zlty for the day, when shared between four it works out at around £30 each. The only critisism I have of this hotel is that you need to take a travel kettle as tea and coffee are not available in the rooms. We were upgraded to a larger double room which had a lovely sitting room as well, but a very squeaky bed!(which woke you up when turning over) Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty and the hotel was lovely and warm. Slightly disapointed that the pub in the hotel was not open as it was out of season but there are plenty within a couple of minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This was my first visit to Poland and we booked Hotel Eden through Expedia for an exceptionally reasonable price. I had minor concerns over why the hotel was offering rooms at such a low price, but the only reason I could think of was due to the time of year (late Jan/early Feb) and the hotel itself did seem rather quiet.

However, the hotel is in a good location - Jewish quarter, close to many restaurants and bars though not too busy as it is located up a side street. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, with small television and fridge. The hotel also has a mikvah, sauna and salt grotto, along with a cellar bar/restaurant (which was closed at night when we were there) but where breakfast is also served.

There always seemed to be a member of staff who spoke good English on duty, and although not overly friendly were nice enough

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Nice little hotel with a nice location in coasy area of the jewish part of town. God resturants near by, and 7min walk to main square. Fantastic service at the hotel. The nicest reseptionist even helped me get my camera back from a disonest cabdriver. I forgot it in the taxi on the way from the airport. She got the boss from the cabfirm to diliver it pearsonally at the hotel! Not Bad!!I Will defently stay at Eden hotel the next time ill wisit krakow. The price was fear and the breakfast was god, specialy if you like cheas. Coffe and juce was the cheapes cind, bud overall it was a wery god 3star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvittiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2009

we were booked into hotel astoria, got changed to hotel eden when we got there, seems it`s the thing they do, ( as we have been told ) , hotel was old but clean, good breakfast, pleasant staff, it is in a back street but it was a thoroughfare, in walking distance for schindlers factory, river side, castle, restaurants, shops,
there was a fesival the weekend we were there,which was a good display,with fireworks.
did the tours our selves, got a taxi to auschwitz, at least 1 hour away, did not feel rushed, then on to auschwitz - birkenau, again not rushed. also did the salt mines , krakow itself is full of history . a very interesting 4 days,

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2008

The Hotel Eden is a great place to stay if you require more than adequate accomodation,and a sensible room rate combined with the cultral atmosphere of an old tradtional area you will not be disappointed.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to please.
And the breakfast of smoked salmon was a sheer delight.
This old Jewish district of Kazimierz is littered with good restaurants so finding a respectable evening meal at a fair price is easy.
Local transport services are only round the corner from the hotel hence you can be in the centre of Krakow in few minutes.
The main purpose of my trip to Poland was to visit the Aushwitz concentration camps and Schindlers factory, which I did using public transport , its a fraction of the cost compered to the orgainised tours and the bus stops right outside the entrance to the Aushwtiz museum which is free entry. ( highly recommended)

  • Liked — fair price and good room
  • Disliked — no air conditiong
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileyWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

This was our first visit to Poland and we had read about this hotel prior to our arriving there, but after we had already booked it at the travl agents. We would agree withall those correspondents who have given this hotel a positive report. On arrival the young lady on duty at reception could not have been more welcoming and of more assistance with our enquiries. We were allocated room 114, virtually opposite the lift on the first floor. On entering he room we were pleasently surprised by what we found. Two comfortable beds, good solid quality furniture, including a small fridge encased in a cupboard matching the rest of the furniture. There is a good size wardrobe and the en suite facilities are very good. There were two complimentary bottles of water provided also. The TV provides both national channels and also a plethora of satellite channels! This room is at the front of the hotel and there can be some noise from passing pedestrians rather than vehicular traffic. Only on the Saturday we arrived did we consider this intrusive, the rest of the time we were there it did not cause us any problems e.g disturb our sleep. As this hotel is situated in the Jewish quarter you must expect that certain things may be affected by the occurence of their religious holidays as was the case at the time of our stay. Because of the holiday of Pechora (my apologies if I have splelt this incorrectly) no bread was being served all that week. We said it was no problem to us - but for those that wanted it, a voucher was offered for a breakfast at another nearby hotel. It was of no consequence to the other guests as far as we could see. Our overall impression was of a well run, very clean and comfortable hotel and we would have no qualms about returning there on our next visit o Krakow.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lancastrian018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#17 of 260 in Krakow
417 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 260 in Krakow
1,283 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#43 of 260 in Krakow
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#48 of 260 in Krakow
566 reviews
Kazimierz
Leone Aparthotel
Leone Aparthotel
#58 of 260 in Krakow
493 reviews
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#72 of 260 in Krakow
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel

Property: Eden Hotel
Address: ul. Ciemna 15, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#38 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#47 Business Hotel in Krakow
#58 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden history: We are located in the carefully restored XV-th century home of Isaac Jakubowicz, the founder of the Isaac Synagogue. Hotel Eden location: Hotel Eden is perfectly situated right in the heart of Krakow's old Jewish quarter - Kazimierz. We are close to many historical sights such as The Remuh synagogue, Old Synagogue, Wawel Castle, Schindler's factory and the former Jewish ghetto in Podgorze. The medieval Main Market Square with famous St Mary's Church and Cloth Hall is an easy 10 minute walk away. Rooms and relax: Hotel Eden offers 27 rooms (single, twin, triple, quad) equipped with private bathroom, fridge, satellite TV, telephone, coffee and tea facilities, free WiFi internet access and an additional computer for hotel guests in the lobby. For a modest fee you can use our unique Salt Grotto as well as the more traditional forms of relaxation: sauna and massage. What makes us special: Hotel Eden is the only hotel in Poland with mezuzah (a piece of parchment inscribed with specified Hebrew verses from the Torah) Hotel Eden is the only Jewish hotel in Poland with a mikvah (ritual Jewish bath).In its pre-renovation state Hotel Eden can be seen in the film "Schindler's List", as some of the film's scenes were shot on Ciemna Street and inside the future hotel. There are unique paintings and posters on the walls from various period of times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing