We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and location”
Review of Eden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Hotel
Ranked #29 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was in very vibrant Jewish quarter. I would go back in a minute. Continental breakfast was good and served till 10.00 am. Hotel organised our trip to Auschwitz and Birkenau with the minimum of fuss, reasonably priced too. When you come out the hotel and turn left there's a super bar called Ulica Krokodyli. Friendly bar staff and good fun. We retained our room on last day as we had an evening flight for a reasonable amount. The receptionist booked us a taxi to go to the airport which was a good bit cheaper than the taxi we took from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186525Shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina M, Manager at Eden Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for kind words concerning Hotel Eden. I'm pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in our beautiful city of Krakow and hope you will visit us again.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    148
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
67
205
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are looking for a friendly, well run, clean hotel with the added benefit of being in the heart of Kazimerz, then this is a wonderful choice. Room was great, breakfast was good (one of thebreakfast staff gave us some of her grandmother's cake), bathroom excellent, elevator available. Packed lunch was fantastic to have for trip to Aushwitz-Birkenau and waiting for us at the desk at 06:00.

And a wonderful bonus is the staff. They are more than willing (if they don't have other guests to attend) to chat about themselves and Poland and the history of Poland and how it relates to their lives. Talking to locals is a big part of the travel experience and Alina's staff is so welcoming and able to discuss virtually any question you can ask them with both grace and intelligence. This is the kind of intangible thing that makes the Eden a very special place to stay.

I highly recommend the Eden. It has character, location, and a great staff. Only positive, fond memories from our stay and a hope for a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina M, Manager at Eden Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for such a great review of Hotel Eden! It was a real pleasure to accommodate you in hotel Eden and make part of your Poland trip so memorable! I can only apologise for snow in April but I promise that if you ever come to Krakow again I will make sure the sun will be shining on you day by day!

Best regards and see you here again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at Eden Hotel for 5 nights recently. Overall our experience was good - the transfers to and from the airport were punctual and arranged in good time, the staff had excellent English, and there was a good range of food at breakfast (nice strong coffee, as well!) The breakfast is a cold spread, but the ladies will make an omelette on request. The rooms are old-style, well-furnished (wardrobe with hangers and dressing-table with mirror both provided in our room, very useful). The Kazimierz area in which the hotel is located is very cool, with a number of good bars and restaurants nearby, and has a young, hip feel to it. It's only a 15 minute walk to the main square, though it's perfectly possible to eat and drink very locally in the evenings.
However.
If you book a room here, particularly in the spring/summer months, I would strongly recommend that you ask for one at the back of the hotel. When we stayed we had a room with windows onto the street. The day temperature was around 26C, and the window had to be open to sleep comfortably at night (there is no AC, which is fine if you can have ventilation). On our last night, a Thursday, we were woken repeatedly through the small hours of the morning by shouting revellers, music, car engines, beeping, and street cleaning (to name a few). At the time of writing the house opposite the hotel is a building site: the builders start work before 7am and make no concessions in the arenas of shouting, banging and throwing materials around. The noise was significantly worse on the Thursday than any other night (which is why we did not raise it with staff during the stay: it was our last night) so I imagine it may well be focused on the Thursday-Saturday period.
Clearly this is not a failing on the part of the hotel: they can't be held responsible for noise outside the building. I mention it here as a handy tip for booking!
All in all good: just make sure that you're happy to sleep with the windows shut if you get a room at the front.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linoprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina M, Manager at Eden Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Eden. I am sorry that an otherwise enjoyable stay was spoiled by noise from the building renovations at the public house opposite us. We had notified the supervisor of the construction work and asked them to start work at 08:00am. We subsequently learned that under Polish Law, work may begin at 6.00am.

As the work has ended, our neighbor should be quiet for the next ten years. I hope that your travels will bring you to us again during this period!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel.I didn't have much time to look for a hotel and the rewievs were very good so I decided to book it.So the important info:
The room-it is an old style hotel,very simple...it was clean,but i felt like staying in grandma's.When you open the door you can smell the old furniture and so on...
The staff-i met 3 receptionist,all of them spoke english and were nice.Breakfest staff-2 women,i never actually saw them just heard talking laud and laughing from the back...
The Breakfest-basic food,some cheese,samali,veg,boiled eggs,youghurts...no scrambled eggs,no bacon,just a small choice...again felt like in grandma's house when she has a bigger family in the house.
The location-jewish district,a lot of bars a places to eat around,a lot of young people,kind of party place during the weekends.Not the best for public transport,have to walk 10 min to get to the tram that goes to the city centre...
Overall-for 48 euros a night would expect something better.I did not felf comfortable staying in the old room...It is not a bad place,but i if you are used to stay in hotels then this is maybe not the best choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjj02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina M, Manager at Eden Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Eden! As you’ve noticed Hotel Eden is a small, family run hotel located in XVIth century buildings with old-style furniture and cosy atmosphere.
We try to please all of our guests and hope they leave Krakow satisfied with their stay in Hotel Eden and their overall visit to Krakow. We are sorry that at no time during your stay did you express any concerns or comments to us; we would have taken immediate action to rectify them.
We have noted all of your comments and will try to make improvements where necessary. Sadly we can do nothing about the short walk to the tram; it is usually 5-6 minutes, and an easy stroll to the Rynek (Main Square) is 12-15 minutes.
Regarding the breakfast staff and service I will speak to them about their behaviour and noise.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Hotel Eden.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just returned home from an amazing 3 night break in Krakow, my first time in Krakow and Poland.......there will be a 2nd to come!!. This Hotel truly is a gem; real value for money and friendly staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.

Based on a side street in the Jewish Quarter (the area is an attractive itself), it is only a 2 minute walk from great bars and restaurants such as Nova and Restauracja Starka. Krakow's Wawel Castle and Market Square are only a 15 - 20 minute walk away, or a 5 minute Tram ride away on line 3 (tram stop is a 2 minute walk away on the prominent Starowislna street).

Our room was nice and spacious, en suite toilet and shower, TV and fridge. The Eden offers free Wi-Fi (also a computer free to use with internet access opposite reception) and free town maps and excursion leaflets in its reception (very helpful).
Their packed lunches available upon request for the next day are delicious and great value (20 PLN) to take on a day trip, such as to Auschwitz or the Salt Mine.........we didn't manage to finish ours all at once during our trip!.

The only issue I could see some people having is with the breakfast. The seating area is a little small and limited, and breakfast always consists of a buffet of cheeses, cold meats, cereals, bread, yogurts etc. This personally wasn't an issue for us however.

The Eden is a fantastic little hotel, and Krakow is a fantastic city to visit for a short break, oozing with culture and character. Both definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TArneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina M, Manager at Eden Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for posting your opinion on tripadvisor.com. I'm glad you had an enjoyable time in our hotel and hope you will visit Krakow and hotel Eden again! I will make sure the weather will be sunny and warm as it was in April!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Eden for 3 nights, the Hotel is hidden away in a little street in the Jewish Quarter, about 100m from loads of excellent resturants and bars. The hotel room was spacious with an attached lounge, balcony, large TV and fridge, everywhere was exceptionally clean, and the staff could not have been more helpful.
The breakfast was Continental, with a good choice.
Krakow is a great place for a short break, with plenty to see, great people, great food and all very reasonably priced. The weather was VERY cold, but dry an sunny

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewBBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina M, Manager at Eden Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your opinion of Hotel Eden. I'm pleased you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel despite the cold weather!
I hope that next time when you visit Krakow the weather would be much nicer!
Best regards from sunny and warm Krakow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Eden at Easter and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and spacious and the bathroom immaculate with a fantastic shower. Lovely little touch for Easter Sunday was a couple of chocolate easter chicks. Great choice for continental breakfast. There was a fridge in the room which was very handy. The beds were very,very comfortable and the room was lovely and warm, which was needed because it was freezing outside. We were within walking distance of the old town and there were plenty of little bars and restaurants close by. We intend to go back to Krakow again and wouldn't hestitate to book the Hotel Eden again. Thank you all for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina M, Manager at Eden Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting your opinion of Hotel Eden. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and the breakfast. I do hope you visit us again in the future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#17 of 259 in Krakow
406 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#46 of 259 in Krakow
883 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 259 in Krakow
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#48 of 259 in Krakow
564 reviews
Kazimierz
Leone Aparthotel
Leone Aparthotel
#59 of 259 in Krakow
488 reviews
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#72 of 259 in Krakow
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel

Property: Eden Hotel
Address: ul. Ciemna 15, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#38 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#47 Business Hotel in Krakow
#58 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden history: We are located in the carefully restored XV-th century home of Isaac Jakubowicz, the founder of the Isaac Synagogue. Hotel Eden location: Hotel Eden is perfectly situated right in the heart of Krakow's old Jewish quarter - Kazimierz. We are close to many historical sights such as The Remuh synagogue, Old Synagogue, Wawel Castle, Schindler's factory and the former Jewish ghetto in Podgorze. The medieval Main Market Square with famous St Mary's Church and Cloth Hall is an easy 10 minute walk away. Rooms and relax: Hotel Eden offers 27 rooms (single, twin, triple, quad) equipped with private bathroom, fridge, satellite TV, telephone, coffee and tea facilities, free WiFi internet access and an additional computer for hotel guests in the lobby. For a modest fee you can use our unique Salt Grotto as well as the more traditional forms of relaxation: sauna and massage. What makes us special: Hotel Eden is the only hotel in Poland with mezuzah (a piece of parchment inscribed with specified Hebrew verses from the Torah) Hotel Eden is the only Jewish hotel in Poland with a mikvah (ritual Jewish bath).In its pre-renovation state Hotel Eden can be seen in the film "Schindler's List", as some of the film's scenes were shot on Ciemna Street and inside the future hotel. There are unique paintings and posters on the walls from various period of times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing