We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Batory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Batory
Ranked #35 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

very good hotel!!!.wonderfull staff!!!.family hotel!!!.good location!!!.
delicious breakfast!!!.everything 10/10.!!!
very close to public transportation!!!.great value for money!!!!!!!!!!!'
very charming and attractive hotel .

Room Tip: don,t hesitate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeevfl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    184
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
103
183
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights beginning of August 2012 (two adults with a 9 year old). We found this hotel to be very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has its own small car park which is free of charge for the guests. Hotel breakfast was out of this world, the best we have ever had in a hotel abroad - there was a wide variety of food and plenty of it. The hotel is conveniently located 10 mins away by foot from the main market square in Krakow and we kept leaving the car in the hotel’s car park to walk to the city centre.

On a negative note my husband and I both found this hotel extremely noisy. The main entrance of the hotel faces an ambulance station with ambulances leaving the station on siren several times per day and night. Although our triple room did not face the noisy ambulance station, it did face a car park for a four storey apartment block situated on the opposite side of the road. Cars kept coming and going all night long up to midnight. We simply did not sleep for the noise of the car engines being switched on and car doors being slammed shut. It was extremely hot in Krakow when we were there, 37C, as a result we could not close the window to curb the noise (there ‘s no air con in the hotel, except for the main lobby). To add to this, people staying in the room next door had an argument in the middle of the night, were shouting and banding on the wall. Following the sleepless night, we asked for another room and were given one on the top floor. This was a much better room with two windows rather than one, and although on the same side of the building, we could no longer hear the cars down below. We could however hear the very noisy extraction fan in the room next door which woke us up just after midnight. We found the walls in the hotel extremely thin.

We would like to return to Krakow next summer but I am not sure whether we would choose this particular hotel. As I said earlier, the food was excellent and staff were very friendly and they all spoke English but the noise was a little too much for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very clean hotel with welcome staff. No problem with parking. Excellent breakfast. City centre cca 300 m.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a decent 3 star hotel. There is nothing fancy about it, but it is clean and the staff is accommodating. It is a significant walk to the old city, which is fine if the weather is good. Otherwise, you might want to stay a bit closer. It does sit across from a hospital and there are ambulances that do make some noise while transporting patients. This was not a significant issue...at least while we were there, but it can interrupt your sleep. There is an open market about 10 minutes away on foot that was interesting with great fresh produce as well as other types of goods.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that DOES NOT face the hospital to reduce the sound of the ambulances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costaricajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were attending a Wedding in Katowice and decided to stay in Krakow for a couple of days before heading home. Because we were a group of twelve (inc children), we were limited in our choice of accommodation and all I could hope was that the Hotel Batory was at least clean. I had no need to be worried. This hotel is a little gem. Its only a fifteen minute walk from the Market Square and in a peaceful location. The rooms were beautiful and had everything we needed. The restaurant was lovely with a great breakfast and a nice menu for dinner (could do with including a children's menu though). We have to say that we found some of the staff quite ignorant at times however, when this was brought to their attention, they did apologise. All in all, I would return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonface203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

As other reviewers have stated, yes this is a 3 star hotel, but it is top of it's game for this rating. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by all staff. We were collected from the airport by a member of the hotel's team who chatted away happily to us about sites we were driving past (charge - 100 zloty from airport to hotel, 80 zloty on the return journey ((a little more on the first journey as they park up the people carrier)) just E-mail the hotel directly to book). Check-in was easy and quick and after dumping our cases in our pretty room (with a spacious bathroom), we headed straight down to their patio for drinks. What a start to our mini break!
The hotel is barely ten minutes from the main square (remember, left out of the hotel, then left, left and a right - a very simple route, no getting lost) and yes it is opposite an ambulance depo, but what can you expect from a major city. Our room was based at the front of the hotel and we slept with the window open every night. A couple of times we heard the ambulances, but they are mindful of late hours and usually turned sirens on once well clear of the hotel.
Breakfast was simple but plenty of choice and regularly replaced with waitresses being visible to help at all times.
We visited Auschwitz and Birkenau using escapetopoland.co.uk, and can highly recommend going by mini van as you are a smaller group and gain more of an experience and feel for the camps compared to the large bus load tours we witnessed. Again a gentleman of a driver and a fantastic tour guide.
Krakow itself has plenty of bars and restaurants. Be mindful of the terrace tax that is added to your bill at the end if you sit out on the main square though.
A restaurant that was recommended to us by an ex-pat was Pimiento. A little more pricey, but still cheaper than England. To look in you believe it is an indoor restaurant but ask to sit in their fore-courted garden and it is like another world. No rushing you through your meal for the next sitting at the table and they are happy to recommend courses and wine. We both agreed the best Argentian steaks we had ever had, and my friend has travelled the world.
Don't get me wrong, the temperature being in it's 30s always puts a different spin on things, but we could not have asked for more and both agreed we would stay at the exactly the same hotel again - as you will want to visit Krakow again believe me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JackG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This a 3 star hotel that is not much to look at on the outside, but like myself, has it all where it counts: on the inside.
We ate in the hotel nearly every night and was never disappointed. The breakfast is a buffet, but there is something for everyone.
The staff were most helpful and friendly, and went to great lengths when I was dumb enough to (temporarily) loose my travel documents and lock myself out of my room: "No problem".
I would definitely consider using this hotel if I am ever again in the lovely city of Krakow.

Room Tip: The beds are a bit on the small side, so we would need singles for our next visit. Neither of us are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#40 of 256 in Krakow
776 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
1,201 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#44 of 256 in Krakow
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#23 of 256 in Krakow
674 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
1,162 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#19 of 256 in Krakow
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Batory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Batory

Property: Hotel Batory
Address: ul. Gen. Romana Soltyka 19, Krakow 31-529, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Krakow
#32 Business Hotel in Krakow
#46 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Batory 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Batory is a family hotel with a unique atmosphere and professional, friendly service. Conveniently located in the city center, near its greatest tourist attractions. The hotel's location allows guests to benefit from the offer of cultural - entertainment, without having to use public transport. For our guests we prepared 29 comfortable, decorated in classical style rooms, completely renovated in 2009/2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Batory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batory Family Krakow
Hotel Batory Family

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing