We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Francuski
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Unicus(Krakow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel(Krakow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pollera(Krakow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Amber(Krakow)
View Hotel
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveler rating
342
275
60
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
275
60
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand staircasethe main squareold townclassic hotelorder hot foodpacked lunchhot breakfastoriginal featuressitting roombit datedfew minutes walkhuge bathroomhot optionsorder eggsexcellent locationbeautiful hotelbreakfast was amazing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 697 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Francuski from 23 July to 27 July 2012. We arrived at the hotel at 11 am and as the check in was supposed to be 3 pm, we asked if we could leave our luggage. The girl on reception was very pleasant and said she could give us a room right away. We actually got a little apartment (Room 201) where we had a bedroom, little sitting room and bathroom and also a little balcony. The hotel is quite old fashioned in decor with a lot of original features. It was very clean and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is very good with a good choice of cold meats, fruit, pastries etc but there is also an extensive menu if you want something hot, cooked to order. We had a three course lunch in the hotel on our first day at an unbelievable cost of 20 ZTL (£4) each. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we wanted to try out some of the many restaurants in Krakow. The hotel is in an excellent location in a small street just off the main square. We have been to Krakow before and did the Auschwitz trip and the Salt mines on our previous visit. This time we took a trip with Cracow City tours to Zacopane. The trip was very good with an excellent guide but my only complaint was that we only had 45 minutes in Zacopane for a lunch stop. I would have liked more time to have a look around the place. Krakow itself is very cheap for eating and drinking, you can get a two course meal with drinks in a top class restaurant for under £40.

Room Tip: Room 201 has a separate little sitting room and a big bathroom
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keeto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in Krakow. Some fixtures in the room could use updating without losing the classic feel (alarm/radio the size of a small refrigerator).

Also, could be very loud on street side with bar below.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmmaurer219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

such a beautiful hotel, great people on the desk, wonderful porters. Rooms old fashioned but large , such a nice change from souless places . Fantatic location as you can walk to the main square in two minutes for all the wonderful food, shops, buildings and 'buzz' . 16 year old daughter also loved that we could walk to the huge modern shopping modern centre in 5 minutes (Levis, Ray Bans et al all very good value ! ) Close to art galleries . About half hour from arport, and one hour to Auschwitz. Only slight complaint was that the room was very very warm, so maybe a few electric fans would not detract from the original vibe of this fabulous place. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plasticpaddyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Ok, it was wise decision not to refurbished old hotel. You should be prepare for old dust, akward bathroom, old-fashion service, and close attandandace of the owner. Join other guests dwon in the bar for tea at 5, indulge yourself in hotel restaurant and have a great, great breakfast.True experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The recent renovation of the venerable old Francuski (still ongoing in the restaurant) is tasteful and has preserved much of the old hotel's wonderful atmosphere and charm. The folks at the front desk couldn't be more helpful, friendly, and willing to assist. Our room on the fourth floor was very comfortable, clean, and with sparkling new bathroom fixtures. The hotel location is a special plus, since it is within walking distance of all the highlights of central Krakow and is adjacent to at least a dozen great restaurants.

But speaking of restaurants ... the Francuski's own restaurant, run by the Gessler family themselves, is a slice of classic "central Europe in the grand style" not to be missed. The delightful patriarch himself, Mr. Adam Gessler, presides in evenings and can easily be identified by his whimsical shoes -- the red ones stand out particularly! What a grand old gentleman, and his son (I think his name is Matteusz) keeps everything running like clockwork, in a really friendly spirit. The soups are invariably outstanding, and the dessert trolly (yes, a whole trolly of desserts!) is something I've only seen in deep country Burgundy. If you like steak tartare and the theatrics of its preparation on the spot, the Francuski can't be beat. Breakfasts include a very nice buffet, and option to order hot plates (like Eggs "Benedictine") which are superb. Coffee the best I've had outside of Italy and Vienna.

I only wish I could have stayed another week at this great place. One minor drawback was that WiFi did not extend to our room on the fourth floor, but was available in public rooms on the first and ground floors. But after a day I found myself appreciating, so much, the lack of being "Wired to the World" in my charming room #403! You will too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swr1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews