We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barbican House Apartments
Ranked #60 of 433 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Barbican House apartments, located on Florianska street, in the heart of the Krakow CBD are the perfect location for a short or long term stay in this historic and beautiful Eastern European city. The service provided by the friendly staff is of the highest quality and helps make your stay all that more enjoyable. Location wise you couldn't ask for more, with all the major city attractions within walking distance, and taxi ranks and public transport stops are only a short distance away if required too. As someone that's travelled extensively all over the world, I can honestly say that the service and value for money I experienced whilst staying at Barbican house apartments in Krakow was second to none, and made my stay extremely comfortable with everything I needed at my fingertips. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to stay in the heart of Krakow whilst there for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Barbican House Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2017
Dear Damian S,


Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

We are glad that you liked the very central location of the apartment. We are also very happy that you found our staff to be extremely helpful.
Our aim is to do everything we can to make our guests’ stay as much enjoyable as possible.

We hope that you will come back to Krakow and stay with us again.


Regards,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very central, close to everywhere we needed to be, including transport links to the airport. Apartment really clean and spacious, kitchen area was well stocked with fully working appliances, bed very comfy. Staff were really friendly. We had a wonderful time in Krakow and staying here only made it better. We shall definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Barbican House Apartments, responded to this review, May 15, 2017
Dear Elizabeth W,


Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you liked the location and the cleanliness of our apartments as well as comfortable bed.

We hope that you will come back to Krakow and stay with us again.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The location of the Barbican House Apartments on Florianska Street could not be better. It is close to everything you need (restaurants, shops, tours, museums). Keys are usually collected from the Venetian Apartment office, at number eleven, Rynek. The office can be found straight down the road, past The Church of The Virgin Mary with the two uneven towers (the walking tour guides meet here). The entrance is on the left at the end of the Market Square. If you don’t want to risk booking your own airport transfer (40 zlotys) the staff there can book it for you at 70 zlotys each way.

We had apartment 6 (quieter and at the back of the building but nearly at the top). We could hear the bugle call from the church tower every morning, which I rather liked. It was not too loud and it is part of Krakow’s tradition. Take earplugs if you are sensitive to noise or want a lie in. There is no lift, so walking up the stairs will offset those delicious Polish meals (e.g. in Szpitalna Street behind the apartment U Babci Maliny’s delicate, clear beetroot soup, followed by elk with bison grass potatoes and hot poached pear with raspberry sauce). Zapiekanki (half baguettes slightly grilled with various toppings), sesame coated pretzel rolls and brown smoked cheese from the Tatra Mountains can be bought practically outside the door. There are enough fast food outlets on Florianska to satisfy all tastes. Alternatively, have a look at the gourmet restaurants on Trip Advisor.

For minibus or coach tours there is a booking office at the top of the road on the left, just before the arch. Cracow City Tours (do not confuse with the more expensive Cracow Tours) currently offer 10 zlotys discount per person per tour if you show them an orange Free Walking Tour map, 2013. Discounts vary from year to year and only apply to their own tours. Tours set out from 2 Matejki Square behind the Barbican, about seven minutes walk away, avoiding time wasted on hotel pick-ups and keeping costs down.

There is a small supermarket (top of Florianska, turn right before the arch and it is about half way down the street). Try the farmers market, Stary Kleparz (behind the Barbican, cross the road to Matejki Square and turn first left). Alternatively, turn right at the end of Matejki for the big Carrefour Supermarket in Galleria near the main railway station. Everything is in easy walking distance.

The apartment is serviced, so linen and towels are changed and toiletries (soap and shampoo) are replaced regularly for those staying more than a couple of days. There is even a vase for that romantic red rose or flowers bought in the market square. The cafetiere for coffee was particularly welcome. We tuned the television to the radio channel for music and the free wifi was useful for emails and texts.

The modern art on the plain walls is cheerful (think Mark Rothko in a good mood). We hope that you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are at the back, overlooking the small restaurant garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explorers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Barbican House Apartments, responded to this review, May 16, 2017
Dear explorers2,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this very detailed review. We are sure it has been already very helpful to many other travelers.

We are very pleased that you liked the central location of the apartment and that you enjoyed your stay.

With regards to check in procedure, we operate from 24/7 reception in nearby Venetian House Aparthotel. We always try to establish what time are our guests arriving and preferred option of check in is meet and greet on the spot. Very often however, our guests arriving to Barbican House, visit us at our reception on Rynek 11, especially when they arrive early and want to leave luggage before check in time.

With regards to the lift, it was unfortunately not possible to install one during the renovation of this historic building. Our staff is however always happy to help our guests with luggage if required.

Once again thank you for your great review and we hope to meet you again in future!


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Value for money, location superb, less than 100 meters from main square.
Very clean and well equipped. Staff friendly and helpful, although they are located in reception at far side of square.
Really enjoyed this apartment which was suitable for our needs, 2 adults and two children aged 18 and 20.
Great WIFI and on first floor with a view of the street below.
Only downside was street was noisy at night but after a days sightseeing and a few vodkas we all slept well.
Would stay here again

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper choose apartment at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Barbican House Apartments, responded to this review, May 16, 2017
Dear travelguru,


Thank you very much for writing this review.

We are very glad that you liked the location of our apartments as well as cleanliness and helpful staff.

We look forward to meeting you again!


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The apartment was just as pictured, free wi-fi and a simply fantastic location in the middle of everything. The staff could not be more helpful, organising airport transfers, letting us store luggage out of hours, and being all-around nice people. This matters a lot! The only downsides were that we found the beds a bit uncomfortable and the linens were a bit scratchy. Also, we were in apartment #5 which faces Florianska street and there was a bit of street noise at night, but we got over it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the interior and not Florianska Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Barbican House Apartments, responded to this review, May 16, 2017
Dear Andrew,
Thank you for providing us with your review!
It is pleasure to hear that you have found Barbican House a great place with a good wifi, well located and that our staff was helpful. We do try to do our best to make the stay of our Guests a fantastic time. As for the beds and linen, I would like to inform you that we have changed and improved our cleaning system, therefore the situation with uncomfortable beds and old linen will not happen again. We are sorry for this inconvenience. We do hope that you will visit us once again to see that we have changed. If you are planning your next trip to Krakow, please contact us directly for the best prices.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We got apartment 5 first and we liked it so much that we extended our stay: our luggage was moved to the available apartment 5 and we had great experience with both.
The main advantages of staying at Barbican are:
- location: 3 minutes from the fabulous Market Square, 10 min from the main train and bus station (on foot), shops in the neighbourhood
- space: it's the size of a spacious bachelor's flat, with nice big windows and high ceilings
- furniture: an equipped kitchen (induction kitchen, pots and pans, plates and bowls, etc., dishwasher), new, modern furniture (bed (-s), closets, sofa, flat screen TV
- wi-fi connection that really works
- easy-going, friendly staff.
- Bathroom: big, clean, modern, with a hairdryer

Inconvenience?
There is no lift and you have to bring your luggage upstairs and downstairs yourself.
Reception is in another location, at the Main Market: but available 24/7 and showing up at your location if you need them, e.g. to get the keys.
That trip was a holiday visit, but even if I were going to Krakow on business, I would still like to stay there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Barbican House Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2017
Dear Ag M,

Thank you very much for the review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our apartments, especially the great, central location and spacious apartments! We are really glad to hear that we have met your requirements.

Barbican House is a 14th century building, which unfortunately, in the renovation process, could not have a lift installed. Please remember that our staff is always available to help you with the luggage or in any other need.

Should you find yourself back in Cracow, please, contact us via our website to make sure you get the best prices.

We do hope that we will meet again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in No.4 which is at the back of the building for 4 nights and loved it. I'd suggest arranging a lift from the airport as the apartment is a little difficult to find. You're looking for a restaurant as the apartment is through the bar and up the stair case. Don't worry though...the restaurant is loverly and relatively quiet. We were never disturbed throughout our stay. You even get a key to the restaurant front door!

The bed is comfortable, linen clean and the towels are clean and fresh. The bathroom has a great shower but no bath. The kitchen has every thing you might want. We just ate breakfast and had the odd cuppa but you could definitely cook a reasonable meal if you wished to.

There is a shop (exit the restaurant and turn right. Follow the street to the top but don't go through the arch. Walk to the right and round the corner. The shop is 100 yards on your right)

There is a dining table and a large sofa along with a flat screen TV

The BIG plus about staying here is definitely the location...walk out of your front door and you are in the heart of Krakow.

We booked a few trips and the drivers were happy to pick us up from the apartment - it becomes a pedestrian area after 10am each day. The main square is a 3 minute walk

Hope this helps

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment at the back if you are concerned about noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Barbican House Apartments, responded to this review, May 11, 2017
Dear TJBrooke,

Thank you for your review and great photos!

We are delighted to hear that you liked our apartments, their location and cleanliness. We think your review has been very helpful to many other travelers.

We are doing our best to make stay of our Guests a wonderful time and we hope to meet you again in the future.

In case you are planning another trip to Kracow, please, go to our website and contact us directly to make sure you get the best prices. We do hope that you will visit us again!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#89 of 260 in Krakow
163 reviews
Stare Miasto
Rembrandt Aparthotel
Rembrandt Aparthotel
#123 of 260 in Krakow
106 reviews
Mikolaj Hotel
#120 of 260 in Krakow
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#73 of 260 in Krakow
400 reviews
Stare Miasto
P&J Apartamenty Sw. Krzyza
P&J Apartamenty Sw. Krzyza
#57 of 433 in Krakow
54 reviews
Stare Miasto
P & J Apartments
P & J Apartments
#52 of 433 in Krakow
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbican House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbican House Apartments

Property: Barbican House Apartments
Address: ul. Florianska 21, Krakow 31-019, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 433 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbican House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Barbican House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing