We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting”

Cracow Historical Museum - Old Market Underground
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.46*
and up
Krakow Museums and Transport Official Pass
Ranked #16 of 276 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Contrary to one of the previous reviewers, I felt the quality of the information was excellent. It's fascinating to find out more about the history of the Market Square going back almost a millennium. They've also set it up really well so that it's easy to find your way around.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,464
    644
    232
    70
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
779 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The background to this museum maybe amazing and what they've done is very impressive but the quality of information is very poor. We walked around not really knowing what we were looking at. Would have benefited from an audio system. Would not recommend to others.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I love everything to do with underground tunnels passages etc, I find them fascinating. There a lot of history here and gives a good insight into the past, and the thing of it is, you wouldn't know it was under your feet unless researched Krakow before you left home as it's poorly advertised at street level.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrssalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b,ham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go Tuesday it's free”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on a Tuesday went to the main door to get tickets as you have to pre book to get in . But we were at the wrong building however a guide was standing there and said for 120 zloty which is the entry price we could go in with him . Straight awAy . Not knowing Tuesdays were free we agreed . Though his English was not perfect he gave us a good and informative view of the place . It's well worth a visit . If a guided tour is needed I'm not sure up to the individual we could easily have gone around with out one as all the info the guide tells you is there for you to read your self . On touch button screens and we gave him a 20 zloty tip not knowing till after that Tuesday are free . Felt a bit conned at the end .

Helpful?
Thank jamie6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
813 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Market Square Underground Museum”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have mixed feelings about the Rynek Underground. Admission is through a doorway in the Cloth Hall; timed tickets are sold in a separate location on the other side of the Cloth Hall. There's a lot to learn about the excavation of the Market Square. Some of the visuals are impressive. And the captions are in multiple languages. There was a nice display of the underground Rich Stalls which were buried as the town was built up. But we found the use of the touch screen displays a bit of a waste. We spent too much time wading through endless menus in order to learn about history when the same information could be presented more efficiently by simply providing more than one sentence per screen. There's a lot of archaeological material to be seen here, but the presentation could be much better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracow Historical Museum - Old Market Underground also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Cracow Historical Museum - Old Market Underground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing