We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cracow Historical Museum - Old Market Underground
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.92*
and up
Krakow Museums and Transport Official Pass
More Info
$22.14*
and up
Krakow Old Town Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #17 of 297 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bielsko-Biala, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I felt lost!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've been to Krakow many times but could never get tickets for this attraction so we were delighted to finally book tickets and get in.

I couldn't follow the story, however the old ruins were interesting!

Should be visited, but don't expect too much!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank adrian_bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,563
    668
    243
    76
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating to get a feel for medieval Krakow”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I think this was a really cool museum for a few reasons. I liked that you could see the actual foundations from different times. I also liked that information covers several things like the burial customs, jewelry, fashion, blacksmithing, etc. At the end there were several videos where you could learn quite a bit about the history of Krakow from its beginning right up through the 20th century. Make sure you set aside more time for these at the end. There is some information and photos about the excavation itself as well, which I find interesting. Overall the museum is very impressive looking as well with its architecture and exhibits.

The only down points I have are that there are a lot of screens you have to be at and click on in order to read information; sometimes other people would be at these screens and reading the information in a different language or different pace from you. Some of the screens I didn't get to see because there were too many people in the way, but this only was a couple times. Overall I was able to learn what I wanted.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lpskapunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Bizarre in a bad way”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This might be okay for young kids, but this is a bizarre museum of sorts, with interactive exhibitions that make little sense and don't tell much of a story. Seeing the preserved old ruins underground was somewhat interesting, but that was more of a footnote to the main exhibit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dberkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków, Malopolskie, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must-visit place for everybody”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was enchanted. This is a really good, not only for tourists attraction. I was amazed, how good it was.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LukaszDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Many people don't know about this!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

New in the last couple of years and we found it fascinating especially since it was only uncovered in 2005. Shows you exactly what it says - the undergroud city

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LindasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracow Historical Museum - Old Market Underground also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Cracow Historical Museum - Old Market Underground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing