We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suffer the waiter... the food is worth it.”
Review of Studio Qulinarne

Studio Qulinarne
Ranked #263 of 1,562 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kazimierz
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Suffer the waiter... the food is worth it.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Studio Qulinarne offers truly excellent modern European fusion cuisine that could be easily compared to restaurants in Paris, etc. However, it is at a fraction of the price as Parisian etc. restaurants of the same quality.

I've eaten twice at Studio Qulinarne, and served both times by the same waiter. The waiter really knows his food and drinks; he is clearly very knowledgable and speaks English and Polish well. However, the first time we went, he forgot drinks, and the second time we went, he brought me the wrong drink and billed me for it anyway (along with the drink that I actually ordered). To me, that's totally unacceptable.

However, the food and drinks are really top-notch... especially the Carbonara (best in town to my taste along with Makaroniarnia and Del Papa), the Caesar (the only good one I found in Krakow in a year living there), and the Cocktails are truly awesome.

Can you suffer an arrogant waiter who makes lots of mistakes for the sake of truly great food? I can.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FiresaleZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    54
    21
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
1 review
“Excellent food; terrible service.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to Studio Qulinarne with a large group for dinner the other night. The decor is lovely, and the food was delicious. Our waiter was just awful. From the start, he seemed very put upon that he should waste his precious time taking our orders, delivering our food, doing his job... I spoke to the manager after dinner and calmly told her about the waiter's lack of courtesy and the impression everyone got that the waiter didn't want us to be there. She seemed confused, saying this was the first time she'd heard such a thing. The waiter was called over, and I repeated our complaint.

His response: "I'm sorry I didn't smile enough for you."

The manager said nothing. At which point we left, because our concerns had clearly fallen on deaf ears.

The waiter's response was staggeringly rude, and also self-defeating given that he single-handedly motivated me to write up the evening, whereas with a simple apology I would have chalked up his behavior to the sort of bad day everyone has once in a while.

It's a crying shame the service was so bad; I really did like the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aMoreDeliciousSpeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Super”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Perfect atmosphere, nice staff, nice music.
Good food, original combination of sour and sweet tastes.
Nice terrace, original decorations.
To recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent it is!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Excellent!
Very relaxing and warm atmosphere with life piano music.
Attentive and rapid service.
Excellent food and choice of vines.
I am definitively going back there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top 10 in Krakow”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A fantastic experience! Wonderful ambiance, impeccable service, and delightful food. Our four person party ordered all different appetizers and entrees, and all were tasty, innovative, and presented beautifully. The piano player doing covers of rock songs was a nice little touch. A great wine list, with a knowledgeable waiter was a cherry on top. The duck was delightful, and the filet was the best one to date that i have found in Krakow, replacing Trezo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrojek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio Qulinarne also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Studio Qulinarne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing