We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a mistake...”
Review of Flower Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flower Hostel
Ranked #39 of 128 Krakow B&B and Inns
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a mistake...”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have decided to stay at Flower Hostel, encouraged by positive reviews on Tripadvisor, it tuned out to be serious mistake. I have stayed in quite a few hostels around the Europe, but this one was the worst by mile. Maybe my expectations were too high; I was looking for decent bed, good sleep and basic breakfast in the morning.

Let's start:
- person at the reception was just weird - poor manners, seem to spy us a bit (I was with Asian person) - what make us feel very uncomfortable during the stay;
- card terminal did not work, so have to draw the money somewhere in the city;
- the room (twin) was interesting - bathroom very good, however no towels (we got them eventually after request), very poor bed: mattress very uncomfortable, pillow (OMG!!!) never seen anything like this in my life - it piece of material filled with some weird stuff - really could not sleep. Wardrobe was not 2nd hand, at least 3rd hand - I thought it will fall apart every time I opened it.
- WiFi was working sometimes well, sometimes not at all
- According to hostel regulations after 10pm it should be quiet at the premises. Our room was next to the kitchen - it was extremely loud to 2 am. The reception is open 24hrs, but nobody seem to care.
- The same lack of care in the morning - apparently breakfast is served till 11 am. At 9.30 there was absolutely nothing to eat, not even the milk for the coffee. Staff put out some cheese, ham, eggs in the morning and do not monitor it all. If people at 8 took everything - it means you will have to eat somewhere else in the city (even though it was included in price).

You would think it is hostel, very cheap - so what you expect. Well, twin room cost us 170zl per night which is the rate of regular hotel, slightly further out. All what you are paying for is central location.

I would not recommend this accommodation to anyone as it could ruin the stay in such beautiful city as Krakow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ender_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
34
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed in Krakow for two days, one night at the flower hostel. It was quiet, clean, and a great value. It's located right in the heart of the city (which is quite small), so it' very easy to walk anywhere (e.g., main train station, city square, jewish quarter, etc).

It was quiet, shower and bathroom were fine, and common room was nice with a big kitchen. I stayed in a 4 person dorm with it's own bathroom, and there were only two of us. Free WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foam4Daze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Room was clean, staff were friendly and good value. Fresh bread and meats were provided for breakfast so that was good. Only problem was the club next to the hostel called "from dusk til dawn", no vampires but very noisy. Although to be fair the noise was only a problem on the first night. Overall very good hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TranceAddikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great place!!! My husband and I have just spent few days in there and would definitely recommend it to everyone who is looking for an accommodation in Krakow, hostel has a great location- few steps from the Main Square Market (read: heart of the town) and all other attractions, it’s also very close to the station ( direct train from the airport) but is absolutely quite in the night .
The room was very cosy, nicely decorated and was kept very clean as was the whole hostel, Good size kitchen with decent breakfast
The staff were always happy to help and work very hard at making this a very friendly, relaxed and welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Agnieszka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have travelled to over ninety countries around the world and stayed in many hostels. The Flower Hostel is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Allow me to explain. The staff are knowledgeable, kind and helpful - they do not just fulfill their working duties but are aware that they are building a lasting reputation as a reputable and first rate hostel . Their hostel itself is beautifully located in a quiet street that is one minute from the major square and tourist attractions of the city. Inside the hostel itself it is clean, well-eqiupped, relatively spacious, bright and colourful. There are nice and comfortable recreational areas with free tea and coffee plus a decent breakfast.

Room Tip: Clean, bright and spacious with generous bathroom provision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiten, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

nice service, close to the center,but not noisy, clean, bright rooms,not expensive,I highly recommend:)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natala34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I spent 3 nights at Flower Hostel last May - and I have to say that it was exactly the place I was looking for - clean, friendly and homey atmosphere - and the best location you can imagine - just few meters from the Main Square of Krakow where everything is happening - but at the same time it is quiet during the night so you can sleep without worrying about the noise - and all this at very reasonable price. Having travelled all over the globe I have stayed in many hostels of various quality - and I would strongly recommend Flower Hostel in Krakow as a safe bet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michal_K_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Nobel Suites
#16 of 128 in Krakow
113 reviews
Kazimierz
Bed & Breakfast Kolory
Bed & Breakfast Kolory
#15 of 128 in Krakow
135 reviews
The Piano Guest House
#28 of 128 in Krakow
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unikat Guests Rooms
#33 of 128 in Krakow
44 reviews
Stare Miasto
Globtroter Guest House
Globtroter Guest House
#4 of 128 in Krakow
726 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracow Old Town Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Hostel

Property: Flower Hostel
Address: ul. Sw. Tomasza 5, Krakow 31-014, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flower Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flower Hostel is located in a historic building on one of the oldest streets of Krakow, just one minute away from Market Square of Krakow. We offer comfortable rooms:from 1 person room to 5 person in room- all rooms with bathrooms! ! ! We provide comfort, cleanliness, professional service and a friendly and warm atmosphere. The hostel has a kitchen connected with a living room available around the clock. There is living room with TV, DVD and a computer with Internet access. The whole building has wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Flower Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing