We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location”
Review of Brama Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brama Hostel
Ranked #124 of 444 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hostel is located just a few steps from the main square, and it's surrounded by many cafes and restaurants, always alive and vibrant. The rooms are decent and clean, the location is superb! Breakfast was fresh and offered a nice selection. Overall a positive experience!


  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank metanoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Brama Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 106 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hostel is close to both the station and the city center, which is very convenient. The room was comfortable, the bathroom large and clean.
At night the street outside was crowded, but as long as you keep the window closed, it is not too loud. The breakfast buffet offered everything you need, the breakfast room was nice and comfortable. My room was on the third floor without an elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mary Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I must confess that I had my worries about this ho(s)tel, given the fact that it was a last minute booking and that there were some negative reviews. However, everything was just fine: ultra-central location, beautiful view from the window, rich breakfast buffet, large rooms. The cleanliness was OK (not the best but decent enough) and the staff was more than helpful. Finding a parking place around the hotel is a bit trickier, as it it a very busy area, but with a little patience you will find one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked last minute on booking.com and got a great deal for a single room. Clean room with two beds and a table and a lot of room. Big clean modern bathroom across the hall - shared with two other rooms but it was never occupied when I needed it. Internet worked with no problems. Good breakfast with juice, breads, yogurt and cereal and had outside seating. Neat old building in the heart of the old city - wouldn't want to stay in any other location in Krakow. 8 minute walk with a big backpack from the bus station/train station. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rungeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is a great hostel. Breakfast is a kind of buffet and rooms are clean. Price is competitive and location is really good. i reccomend it but remember to get for the check in before than 10 pm because , even if website doesnt say anythig about it, after 10 pm there is noone in the reception!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabriele1976_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Good - The location was excellent, right by the Florianska Gate and only three minutes walk from the main market square. I had a double room with private bathroom and both were basic but clean.

The Bad - Despite the amazing location the one thing that would put me off staying here again is the noise in the night. For two nights of my stay I didn't sleep at all, despite having my windows closed. This was not the fault of Brama Hostel. Drunk British people shouted and argued in the streets until well after 5 am and this was during the week in November, not on a weekend.

Although the room was clean the sheets didn't fit the beds properly - there was a gap of several inches at the top of the mattress and the pillow was extremely lumpy. The breakfast was extremely basic and the coffee was undrinkable. I only ate it once and went to Coffee Heaven a couple of doors away the remainder of the time.

Breakfast was not available during the hours stated on the website but only from 7.30 am to 9.30 am. The staff weren't particularly helpful. They were polite enough though. The reception was only manned until 10pm. It was impossible to find the lights for the stairway up to my room. I almost fell one evening as it was too dark to see.

If it wasn't for the noise, I would be willing to put up with the other downsides for the location and price. I had a double with bathroom for only £19 a night through booking.com, but next time I'm gonna stay somewhere I can sleep. Probably a hotel just outside of Planty Park.

Room Tip: If you do stay here - ask for a room that is not facing Florianska Street and take earplugs with you...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

For me the Brama Hostel had the best location. Right at the Gate. 5 minute walk to the train station, 5 minute walk to the Market Square and St Mary's church, The breakfast was pretty good, and on the day of our Auschwitz tour, I was able to make a little sandwich and pack it away to eat on the bus later(highly recommended). The staff at the Brama were excellent. So why only 3 stars? The good is balanced by bad. First of all my bed and room looked nothing like the picture here presented for a double with private bath. The bed matress was thin so hardly a matress, the pillows I jokingly called "non-pillows" as it would take two or three to equal a pillow. There was a tv in the room, but we were having such a good time we never turned it on, they lent us a hair dryer but once it cause the circuit breaker to trip (which was fixed immediately by hotel staff). The bathroom was fine but by no means the cleanest I'd ever seen. And the towels were quite coarse and rough. The great location near the main gate means there are people (read this: young people out to party) walking by all night. Noise level high. Yes, closing the windows , and the hostel did install noise proofing double pain windows, closing those windows helped. But since I saw no air conditioning I feel sorry for those who book a hot summer day and then have to shut the window at night. So, I will recommend this hotel for those who have the stamina and flexibility to work through the negatives, but for old folks like us, I think I'll look for another hotel next trip.

Room Tip: try to avoid facing the street.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewguySFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Floryan
Hotel Floryan
#128 of 261 in Krakow
131 reviews
Hotel Francuski
#43 of 261 in Krakow
622 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracow Old Town Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Berry Apartments
Berry Apartments
#185 of 444 in Krakow
16 reviews
Stare Miasto
Aparthotel Old City
Aparthotel Old City
#186 of 444 in Krakow
5 reviews
Stare Miasto
Greg & Tom Beer House Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brama Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brama Hostel

Address: ul. Florianska 55, Krakow 31-019, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 444 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: $41 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brama Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Brama Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing