We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit odd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Queen Boutique for four nights in mid-June 2013 on vacation. We chose this hotel based in part on TripAdvisor reviews, which were generally accurate, and availability. We booked on their website (queenthotel.pl).

Upon arrival from the train station, our first impression was the thought that perhaps we had made a mistake -- the entrance is on a busy street that has little character and a hint of seediness. That street essentially is in the no-man's land between the historic part of town (Wawel hill and Stare Miasto) and the more bohemian part of town with restaurants, bars and clubs (Kazimierz). Once we got over our first impression of the street, it frankly turned out to be quite convenient to be in between both parts of town -- while not in the hub of either, we also didn't have to trek too far to reach either destination. Overall, it is a good strategic (if not atmospheric) location.

We had one of the sky rooms (the number escapes me now, but at the end of the hall). I wanted a Deluxe Wawel view room but none were available. Our sky room had a very nice view of Wawel hill, *IF* you were laying on the bed or floor to see it (the window starts at floor level and rises only about a meter). So you can't enjoy the view by simply glancing out the window; but we don't stay in the room much anyway. The skylights were nice but the sun does stream in. I was hesitant that the sloping ceilings would be too low, but that wasn't a problem for average height folks. The room was generally spacious enough for 2 but could have benefited from a few more square meters.

The issue with our room was that after our initial check-in we set out to explore the city for a bit, and when we returned a few hours later there was a very strong and unusual smell (as-if-a-small-animal-had-died sort of smell). The hotel staff were very quick to respond but unable to figure out what the source of the smell was; and since they were fully booked they couldn't give us another room. So we turned off the A/C and opened the windows and they gave us a fan to air out the room. We also bought deoderizers for the room, which helped. It was quite hot in town during our stay so ultimately we had to use the A/C and on occassion we did notice the smell again but not as strongly as the first time. Two other things to note: it can get quite hot on the 4th floor, and on one of the mornings there were workmen on the roof starting around 8, which not only woke us up but also was a bit disconcerting as we could clearly see their shadows through the skylight blinds and didn't know how much they could see in.

The lobby of the hotel is a bit sterile - a large empty white marble space, and the restaurant in the basement felt a bit like a catacomb (but it's very nice down there with a very mod decoration). The spa is tiny, but very handy to have since there's a lot of walking in/around Krakow (especially if you go to Auschwitz and the Salt Mine), and a massage is definitely in order.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tribecaleblon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izabela P, Front Office Manager at Queen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

I would like to thank you for taking your time and write such a long review.

First of all, I would like to apologize for an accident with strange smell in your room. We were also surprised with this problem, because we didn’t know what was the reason of that but we did our bests to solve the problem as soon as it was possible. I hope that this annoying happen will not discourage you to visit us during your next stay in Royal City of Kraków. Please be confident that this situation will not take a place in future in our hotel.
In relation to the workman on the roof – I would like to explain that in was urgent repair and it was need to be done immediately. In that case we could have informed you earlier about this inconvenience. I would like to apologize on behalf of all our staff that you were waked up.

I hope that those two inconveniences will not change your opinion about our hotel and you will recall in future great memories connected with our hotel. I would like to inform you that you are already part of our loyalty programme and during your next stay we will prepare for you a small surprise.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Izabela Przetocka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,834)
There are newer reviews for Queen Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,834 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 11 July the hotel is wonderful & the staff are the best we have ever encountered. They were extremely helpful and polite. The hotel is perfectly situated easy walk to Old Town and even closer to the Jewish quarter with all it's great pubs and restaurants. The weather was terrible whilst we were there but we did everything we wanted. The hotel was most helpful when booking trips.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A group of 6 of us went to Queen Boutique in April 2013 for my sisters birthday. We not only got a wonderful deal at the hotel but every aspect of the hotel was wonderful. The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. The comments on tea and coffee are bizarre as you can get tea 24 hours free of charge! Bar/restaurant is nicely decorated and cocktails are lovely. There is a spa on site too but we did not manage to get a treatment. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to the main square with countless bars and restaurants. If I was going back to Krakow I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyMcComb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izabela P, Front Office Manager at Queen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Indeed our rooms are well decorated and spotlessly clean. Moreover, from May each room is equipped with a kettle and tea/coffee sachets so now all our guests can enjoy tea or coffee in the room. Our hotel is placed between The Old Town and Kazimierz District so those areas are easily accessible by a short walk. We also recommend to visit our Amarylis Restaurant which serves very delicious meals and cocktails.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Next time you should definitely take advantage of our Queen Beauty & SPA.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Izabela Przetocka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My son and I arrived to be told we were being upgraded to a suite! For no reason, couldn't believe it, I have had suites before in 5 star hotels this topped them by a mile, absolutely gorgeous!
The staff here are the best, so helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was fantastic. I would most definitely come back. I fully recommend this hotel 100%!
Excellent location close to everything, transport links also great

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for four nights from the 24th June 2013. What can we say....a great hotel, great location and very polite and helpful staff. Our room was lovely and was very quiet at the back of the hotel. Room cleaned every day and fresh towels,
The hotel was well situated just about 10 mins walk from the square and the same from the Jewish quarter, The breakfast experience was a bit different but never the less very substantial.
If i had to have a negative it was the tours organised by the hotel. We were to be collected and left back at the hotel however the coach left us somewhere we didnt know. When we complained to the hotel staff they phoned the company on our behalf right away. All in all the tours to Auschwitz and the Salt mines were fantastic.
Would totally recommend this hotel 100%

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the trams could be noisy. We had room 7
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This little hotel is beautifully decorated with stunning bedrooms which are well equipped, modern, and spotlessly clean with large comfortable beds. The breakfast was really nice and eggs can be ordered freshly cooked in various ways at no extra charge. The staff are very efficient, pleasant and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay here. The area around is quite shabby but it is safe and within 10 minutes walking distance of the Old Town Square and the same to the Jewish Quarter and the river, so it is really central. I can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks to all the staff who helped make our stay there so great.

Room Tip: All rooms looked beautiful, but the back of the hotel is quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twaauldyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izabela P, Front Office Manager at Queen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read such a nice review. Thank you very much for appreciating our service as we always try to do our best to make guests’ holiday unforgettable. We are very glad that you enjoyed the breakfast with its huge variety of cold and warm choices. Next time you should absolutely try delicious food in Amarylis Restaurant.
Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Front Office Manager,
Izabela Przetocka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went on a 4 day trip stayed at this hotel, it was fantastic. Everything you need is in this hotel the bed are comfortable and clean the rooms are spacious and very nice and modern. The staff were very helpful indeed and very friendly, the hotel was very modern, clean, with a great restaurant and bar. I would highly recommend this hotel not very far to old town or Jewish quarter. Breakfast was the best ever never had food in the restaurant as the food in the old town or Jewish quarter is so cheap. We will be going back next year but for longer this time.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 261 in Krakow
991 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Stradonia Serviced Apartments
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Boutique Hotel

Address: Jozefa Dietla 60, Krakow 31-039, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: $107 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen Boutique Hotel is a unique place. This exclusive hotel began operating in 2011.The Queen Hotel offers 18 Classic Rooms,6 Deluxe Rooms with balcony, 6 "Sky" Rooms and apartments. All rooms are elegant and functional and feature high quality equipment. In the basement of the Hotel is located in Queen Restaurant. Cozy interiors of the historic house, superb design, excellent music and excellent service. In the menu you will find fusion cuisine - based on the best Polish culinary traditions, but successfully using the culinary achievements of other countries and cultures. The Beauty & Spa area you care about your fitness you, look and feel. We have an up-to-date conference centre, one of the most beautiful and well-equipped in Cracow at our guests disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing