We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Kurka Apartments
Ranked #24 of 425 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 4 nights at Red Kurka, in Apartment C and we were extremely happy with everything it had to offer. It is advertised as a studio apartment, but it is more than that. The bedroom is a large, separate room,with 2 armchairs and a large TV. The kitchenette/diner, has everything needed for self catering. My favourite appliance was the washing machine, as I was sick of handwashing. Most things dried overnight on the drying rack, plus you could use the heated towel rail in the bathroom. The toilet is separate to the bathroom and the whole apartment is really spacious.
Tea, coffee, salt and pepper are provided, and Ewa even brought me some washing liquid to use. The bathroom has a hairdryer and quality toiletries. There is a supermarket next door and a number of places to eat within walking distance. Ewa provided us with a list of recommended places and of the 3 we tried, all were good.
We walked everywhere -to the Old Town, the castle area and the Jewish area. We even walked from the station when we arrived, following Ewa's detailed instructions. If needed, there is a tram stop right outside.
We loved Krakow and we think the lovely apartment contributed greatly to our enjoyment of this city.

Room Tip: Apartment C is more than adequate for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonlady2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
66
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hanoi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great 3 nights spent in Apartment B with Red Kurka Apartments. Fantastic central location, around the corner from the main square, 10 mins walk from Wawel Castle/Cathedral. Perfectly quiet at night. All the facilities that you could wish for provided plus little extras like shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and tea/coffee, etc. Really couldnt fault Ewa and Karl for their attention to detail and their service. Ewa gave us helpful information about local sites (they provide you with a list of recommended resturants, bars etc) and booked us on to a tour of Auschwitz the night we arrived, which was great. They were on hand to help with anything. I highly recommend staying with them for a very relaxing, hassle free trip to Krakow. They deserve their number one spot!

Room Tip: Only viewed apartment B. We were four adults which fit very comfortably in this apartment. If I were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckylynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent welcome from the hosts, who even researched the best mobile phone plans for me to buy and attractions to see. Apartments are fine and well located; we could walk everywhere. Restaurants abound, but we specially liked the nearby restaurant (Klimaty Poludnia). Recommended.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, take the room who does not match the market deposit. Did not bother me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed three nights. Although there was a slight delay in checking in because it was not cleaned yet, the lady running it gave us a bottle of wine (!) in compensation.

The apartment is big, with everything including a washing machine, very good location, right next to great restaurant, and service is excellent - the manager sorted out a car for us to go to our next destination, and helped with other things.

Internet works well.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Go to the restaurant next door (slow service but great food) and go to Pod Baranem for awesome tradi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Starting with the warm welcome from your hosts through to the decor, location, comfort and price this place is a winner!! It's in easy reach access to the castle the Jewish quarter and the city is amazing to walk around!! The Restaurant behind Klimaty Poludnia is handy and does amazing food - try the honey vodka!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LukeNChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights from 30 th June 2013 having booked following the rave reviews posted here on trip advisor and I am pleased to say that the apartments live up to the billing. We were a family of four with two teenage boys aged 18 & 16 and found the apartments had all you needed for a holiday stay, we would happily have been here for a longer trip too. The location could not be better, five genuine minutes to the Main Square or Wawel Castle, restaurants on your doorstep and a supermarket a minute from your door.

Karl & Ewa were fabulous, providing great information and advice which we were pleased to follow and they did not let us down.

Great value for money and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 213Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We, a family of two adults and two teenagers, very much enjoyed our time in Krakow and the convenient location of the Red Kurka. It is just a quick couple of minutes walk from the historic square and about 10 minutes walk from the Krakow Glowny Train Station (which Galeria Krakowska, a big modern shopping mall, is next to; our kids like to shop). We caught the trolley at a nearby spot to get us to the Schindler Factory Museum and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Krakow.

Apt B is spacious and well equipped (washing machine came in handy as we were in the 2nd week of our trip), and we really appreciated every thoughtful detail Ewa & Karl have set up ... from drinking water, tea & coffee to extra toiletries and laundry drying rack. There is a grocery store next door (literally - delivery area for the grocery store is by apt B windows); it was easy to get eggs, bread, etc. to make a quick breakfast. Every night we had dinner at one of the restaurants on the Red Kurka's list, and we enjoyed every meal!

The See Krakow Auschwitz tour that Ewa booked for us was excellent. As the mini bus (probably had about 20 seats on it) used by See Krakow was convenient (the Red Kurka was one of the last hotels on the route for pick-up) and there was a lot of walking in the heat of the sunny day at Auschwitz/Birkenau, we were glad at the end of the day that we didn't try to go there on our own. It also eliminated the hassle of having to figure out which bus to catch when & where.

One thing that we should mention: the noise level. We just thought we should mention so that you can make an informed choice. Our nights in Krakow were too warm and we had to open the windows to keep down the heat inside the apt. We have to say it was noisy. We live in the middle of one of the US largest cities, so we are somewhat accustomed to some noise, but we do sleep at home with our windows closed and with a/c running. Anyway, we recommend that you consider your family's level of sensitivity to noise and the desire for this convenient location and see which is more important. Obviously from our rating, to us, the convenient location and the amenities offered by the Red Kurka Apt B outweighed the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTravelFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Legend Hotel
#19 of 259 in Krakow
141 reviews
Rezydent Hotel
#66 of 259 in Krakow
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Apartamenty Platinia
Apartamenty Platinia
#7 of 128 in Krakow
98 reviews
Crownhill Apartments
#41 of 425 in Krakow
34 reviews
Stare Miasto
Mosquito Old Town Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Kurka Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Kurka Apartments

Property: Red Kurka Apartments
Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 5, Krakow 31-046, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 425 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Kurka Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Kurka in Krakow offers three apartments in the very centre of the city, situated in a quiet courtyard of a traditional residential building. It's a few minutes walk from the Main Market Square, the Wawel Castle and the Jewish District, Kazimierz. Apart from the convenient location and comfortable standard, our interiors are beautifully decorated with hand-painted graphics and feature many good examples of 20th century Polish product design placed in a fresh new Red Kurka context. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Red Kurka Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing