We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”
Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Galaxy
Ranked #33 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. All the staff very helpful, it's a very cool spacious hotel not too far from city centre, easy walking distance. The rooms spacious and light and the complimentary drinks stocked daily. Breakfast really good plenty of choice. If you are looking for an excellent cheap hotel this one cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soups_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    461
    79
    21
    8
See reviews for
206
551
26
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading some great reviews on TripAdvisor. It is a bit further out than some of the other places but about a 5 minute walk to a main tram line and 15mins from the Jewish Quarter and a number of little restaurants and bars. Realistically it's about a 30 min walk up to the Old Town - but the tram line runs up there so it can be done much quicker.

Room was very nice, flat screen TV (Only 1 English speaking news channel), safe, huge bathroom, slippers, gown and water everyday. The breakfast was a great way to start the day - so much to choose from every morning and it's one of the places you get free wifi so take your phones down with you!

Compared to some of the dives we saw in Krakow nearer to the centre of town we were definately glad that we stayed here despite it being a little bit of a walk !

Swimming pool area nice but small and a nice way to end a busy day seeing the sights of Krakow.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikNak79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Galaxy. Very clean and comfortable - food excellent and lots of it -very high quality. Staff very friendly and service excellent. Pool was lovely and we used it every day.

Room Tip: From what we could see all rooms were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimandiWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is a short and pleasant walk from the city centre. Also, it is near the Vistula river. On the opposite side of the river, you can easily find Schindler's Factory with a very interesting tour there. The hotel rooms are very good size and breakfast is abundant with a selection of hot items like sausages, scrambled eggs and bacon, as well as cold items like fruit, yoghurts and cereals. It is also delicious, especially the salmon!
We found nothing to complain about this hotel. When it was raining, the hotel quickly arranged for a taxi to the centre which cost about 14 zloty (around 3.5 euro) only. They also recommended the taxi companies which charge the lowest fees.
The food for dinner is not very abundant but delicious nevertheless. The atmosphere in the lounge+bar in the evening and until late at night is great and you can wind down with family or friends after a day touring the city or nearby attractions.
Rooms are soundproofed so you can sleep very well, and beds are comfortable. We could enjoy the matches of the Confederations Cup for free on the LCD tv in the room. There is a 24/7 free gym which we tried once and a spa which we did not have time to try but which was also available for free.
Also we appreciated that we requested two adjoining rooms and that is precisely what we got.
Our room was overlooking the river with a great view and an amazing walk to the Wawel castle. Also, the price was extremely good and we booked through Otel.com which had the best deal on this particular hotel. We would certainly stay at the Galaxy again if we visit Krakow again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are beautiful and if you request one, the hotel will probably give it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddevilrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This Hotel is smashing clean airey and the staff are MOST helpful. the pool sauna and steam room are great to use. We did not eat in the Hotel only because my thirteen year old son is a funny eater but we strolled up the road to a lovely Pizza hut and found a great American dinner in the Galeria.
Krakow is a beautiful city I only wish we had the time to visit more attractions.
the tour of both Auschwitz and Birkenau camps was both emotional and moving I would thoroughly recommend these tours but you must be prepared emotionally.
Thank you to the Polish people for being so friendly you have a stunning city and I hope to return there one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to fault. Arrived early at 1130 am and room was ready. Spacious clean with all modern fittings. Flat screen tv, good air con water bottles replaced each day, modern bathroom.

Reception staff very helpful, breakfast excellent with more choice than other hotels we have stated in. Large glasses for juices - small glasses a pet hate of mine- local maps as place mats with English polish mini dictionary which was a nice touch.

Restaurant was excellent - two course meal cost £20 for the two of us with nice bread rolls and complimentary starter.

We used the pool- very clean changing rooms and pool was warm.

Location overlooked river and 150 yards from very modern shopping mall, with cinema. It took 25 mins to walk to castle and a further 5 mins the main square...this was the "long way" round. The more direct route took 20. It's all on the flat so an easy walk.

No hesitation in recommending this hotel .


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
308 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last month.

The Pros:
* The hotel's decor is very modern.
* Breakfast and dinner are good. There are plenty of options for all kinds of eaters. Lots of meats, breads, and veggies, hot and cold. We never went hungry.
* There is a piano on the second floor, outside of the restaurant/buffet area, which is lovely.
* Very close to the Galeria Kazimierz, just across the street. Super convenient. There are clothing stores, pharmacies, a grocery store, and lots more!
* Great view of the Vistula River.
* Great access to the walking/jogging/biking path along the Vistula.
* The restroom has a towel warmer. Lovely feature.
* The bed was very comfortable, and we slept great each night.
* There was no street noise, even though the hotel is situated on a fairly busy intersection.
* A couple of the front desk staff were nice, and seemed to like their jobs.

The Cons:
* There were a couple of front desk staff who seemed annoyed at our very presence.
* We could hear everything our neighbors said. The walls appear to be rather thin.
* The restroom smelled like sewage. Seriously. The second we entered the room (room 630), we were gagging. (We assumed that all of the restrooms were like this, so we never mentioned it until almost the end of our stay.) I sprayed my perfume in there each morning and evening to try to cover up the putrid stench.
* There were pee colored stains on the bedding.
* There is no iron or ironing board. If you wish to have your clothes ironed, you can pay a fee and have it done by the hotel. Tip: gently wet your clothing a night or two before you wear it, then hang it on the towel warmer in the evening. Not quite as wrinkle-free as with an iron, but it helps a little.
* The restroom does not have washcloths, only bath towels and hand towels.
* You may or may not get shampoo. Or you may have shampoo for the first few days, then have it swapped out for body wash. Remember,the mall's just across the street if you need to purchase any toiletries.
* Taking one of the two (yes, only two) small elevators at any given time of day may be challenging, especially if there are tour groups staying at the hotel. Try taking the stairs, but...
* Don't take the stairs until you've asked the front desk staff to grant you staircase access, via your room key. (Yes, we hauled up to the 6th floor, only to find that the card reader wouldn't respond to our room key, and let us onto our floor.)
* Our hair dryer was broken. Check to make sure it works before you need to use it.
* There is no mini-fridge or ice bucket. You can call and request an ice bucket, but don't forget to tip for it.
* Our safe didn't work. After a quick phone call to the front desk, a bellhop came and fixed it within minutes.
* Don't purchase wireless access in your room. The signal and speed is pitiful. Take your laptop or device to the lobby where it is free and slightly faster.
* There is a "fitness room" on the first floor, which contains a treadmill, an elliptical, a rowing machine, a stair-climber, and some weights. These all appear to have been taken out of the bedroom of a 14 year old girl. I am a 35 year old woman, weighing about 135 pounds, and I thought everything was going to fall apart as I used it. There is also nothing to wipe down the equipment with, so who knows what kind of bacteria is growing on it. There is also no water, and no fan to circulate the air. Word of advice, go outside and jog along the river's path.
* The alarm on the phone never worked. I followed the instructions, and it said "service accepted" when I finished, but the phone never rang. Fortunately I was able to wake up before it anyway.
* The coffee/tea cups and spoons were never taken away and cleaned. They were simply (poorly) wiped off each day of our stay.

All in all, we were very disappointed with our stay at this hotel, and would not recommend staying here. Seriously. Go to any other hotel, anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sardawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#46 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#34 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#10 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Property: Hotel Galaxy
Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing