We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Poland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kuchnia u Doroty

Kuchnia u Doroty
Ranked #21 of 1,346 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Kazimierz
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A taste of Poland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We saw this eatery was well reviewed and so sought it out whilst in Krakow, we were not disapointed!
Honest Polish food served by very pleasant staff at great prices.....please do give this eatery a try.....I am sure you will not be disapointed, would particularly recommend the house speciality of potato pancakes with goulash, tasty, different and very filling.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    164
    39
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decor is simple but food is very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife had chicken breast coated in almond slices. We had never seen that before and it was good! I had roast pork, Krakow style, which was roast pork on toast with brown gravy. The restaraunt decor is not fancy, but the food will surely please you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

we discovered this little place on our first night and ended up eating here three times. It is good, hearty, wholesome Polish food. the soups were first class and my friends loved the crispy potato cakes. I thought the stuffed cabbage was a bit on the watery side and the pork a bit school dinnerish, but who is complaining at this price. We paid abt 5-7 GBP per person depending on whether we had puddings. Loved their compot - a drink tasting like the juice from stewed fruit but diluted with water.
It's not a place for fine dining but more like a cafe/diner. The service is speedy and you come away feeling well fed and happy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank therapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent representation of polish cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

One of the best places to eat in Kraków! Because of its really good relation between quality-price and the feeling of being eating in the kitchen of a real polish house. Highly reccomended! :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleeGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seriously amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you go to Krakow you must eat here. Its not the most beautiful restaurant to be honest - but I want great food and this place has better than that and is unbelievable value. The chef/cook is always welcome at my house!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuchnia u Doroty also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Kuchnia u Doroty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing