We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel added to holiday”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #37 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel added to holiday”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Just back from staying 4 nights here. Hotel is spotless, breakfast is adequate, staff are very helpful and location is excellent. I have given room a 3 purely because I felt it was a bit on small side.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joasiabuczkowska, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.
Best regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    323
    63
    10
    5
See reviews for
130
375
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Maksymilian for four nights with my wife in April. Very efficient and helpful staff. Allocated a family room which was spacious and had a lovely view over a quiet open space with double old-style opening windows and window seat. Spotlessly clean and cleaned daily by cheerful staff. Despite being on a busy road we heard no traffic noise and slept well each night. Good breakfast provided in a charming basement crypt. Most unusual. Great location just 5 minutes walk from the old town which is just gorgeous. Short walk from the airport bus stop. Would definitely visit Krakow again and recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joasiabuczkowska, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very grateful for your feedback following your stay.
Thank you for mentioning about our good location. It is really true, that the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre. It is so nice to see, that you appreciate our staff. Professional service and hospitality are our priorities.
I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maksymilian Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful authentic hotel about 5-7min walk from the main square. Breakfast is traditional continental food with some traditional polish breakfast of sausage & onion, scrambled eggs & onion. Buffet style. Rooms are excellent, staff friendly and I can recommend the spa massage.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PAULA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joasiabuczkowska, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I had never been to Poland and enjoyed my stay here very much. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant for dinner and breakfast were both exceptional. It was walking distance to quite a few areas including the main square. I would highly recommend to anyone going to Krakow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joasiabuczkowska, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is absolutely fantastic to receive such a great comment. I am really happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. I hope that now you will visit it again. All the Maksymilian Team is awaiting your future visits with us.
Best regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in February for 4 nights and could not fault it at all. The bedroom was spacious and extremely clean. The bathroom had a modern, power shower, basin and toilet. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joasiabuczkowska, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)
Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and i stayed at the Maksymilian Hotel for four nights recently. Its situated in a wonderful location, very close to the main square, just about a ten minutes walk away. We were welcomed by very pleasant staff who went out of their way to be helpful. We wanted to visit Auschwitz-Birkenau, which was the main reason for our trip, and the staff arranged the visit for us. We were picked up via courtesy minibus and transferred to a coach very quickly and onto our destination. The breakfast room was clean and well laid out. There was lots of lovely fresh bread, hams and cheeses to choose from. Also freshly made coffee, tea and juice to choose from. We wanted to purchase some football shirts of the City team for our sons and were having problems finding any. We mentioned this at the reception and next thing we knew a lovely lady called Joanna was looking on the internet for you and gave us directions to the nearby football stadium which was about twenty minutes away where we purchased the shirts. We also ate in the hotel restaurant and received a complimentary drink each and 10% off the bill. The food was wonderful and first rate service from the young staff, well recommended to try. All in all,a first rate hotel for service and situation, so pleased with our lovely stay that we bought some flowers for the girls on reception by way of a thank you for looking after us.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joasiabuczkowska, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us :)
Looking for your next visit. I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Brilliant location, quiet at night, fabulous room, breakfast plenty, staff very helpful. A short direct walk to Market Square, which would've been far to noisy to stay at night. Would stay there again and recommend it to anyone who wants a good nights sleep after a good night out, without the noise of trams rattling by.

Room Tip: Excellent transfer to airport connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiemac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joasiabuczkowska, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Maksymilian. We also would like to thank you for your nice and encouraging comments about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow. With best regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#24 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#13 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#45 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#20 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Property: Hotel Maksymilian
Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing