We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A very nice hotel in an excellent location - less than 10 minute walk from the main market square. We were given our room on arrival ( 10.30 am ) as it was ready. The room was large, in good decorative order and very clean. The bed was also very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a large choice of hot and cold food.

There are many restaurants between the hotel and main square and the tram stops very close to the hotel if you want to go further. The train and bus station is about 20 min walk or a simple tram ride.

On asking, the hotel arranged a Taxi to pick us up from the airport to transfer us to the hotel which was very efficient.

Room Tip: Lift only goes to 4th floor, you then have to walk some stairs to 5th floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewportWelshmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Maksymilian. We also would like to thank you for your nice and encouraging comments about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow. With best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maksymilian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 861 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, booked through Travel Wasp back in the summer.
This hotel is perfect for visiting the centre of Krakow, 10 mins away from the Market Square.
We had a low cost room, which needed modernising, so could not comment on the other rooms.
Good basic room and facilities, very clean. Staff very helpful.
Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty to chose from.
Arranged pick ups to and from the Hotel, also booked trip to Auschwitz and the Salt Mines with Krakow Tours, definitely recommend - even got a discount !!!!
Only disappointment was I did not see any snow !!!!!!!!!!!
Thoroughly recommend.
On checking out there is a local tax that has to be paid, so leave some money for this, about 19 pln.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisEssex456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback on which we strongly rely. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you would recommend our hotel.
It would be great to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay here while we visited Krakow. This hotel is situated just a 5 minute walk from Krakow square which makes it ideal for sightseeing. The staff were brilliant-friendly and helpful. the room was spacious clean and had everything we needed. As we were at the end of the corridor the Wi-Fi was a bit spotty but that is just a small blip on what was a great stay. The breakfast in the morning was a buffet affair with scrambled eggs, smoked sausage and a selection of hams and cheeses. Tea coffee toast and fruit juices were also available. All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again when we next visit Krakow.

Room Tip: room 311 had spotty Wi-Fi but the room is excellent
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imcomingtogetyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian for your stay in Cracow. It is a pleasure to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel and our service. Our team works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has a great stay and vacation at Hotel Maksymilian. Therefore, we have passed your comments to our employees as such positive feedback is an additional motivation for them to fulfill our high standards. Dear guest, we thank you again and hope that we can welcome you back at Hotel Maksymilian.
Kind regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was an excellent hotel to use as a base. The staff were helpful and knowledgable, with a good level of language skills. It was clean and comfortable, with pleasant rooms, good beds and excellent showers.
There was plenty of choice for breakfast, both hot and cold food. The bar was pleasant and cheap!
We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, as it was the only downside to this hotel. It looked bleak and unwelcoming.
It was very conveniently placed, just a 10 minute walk to the Market Square. Trams passed the door if you wanted to go further afield.
I would recommend this as a good base!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 511ElizabethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had such a good stay in Hotel Maksymilian. Your opinion has been passed to our employees as an additional motivation to keep up our high standards.
We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow.
With best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very nice, clean and quiet hotel close to the city center and Old Town Quater. Room was comfortable, bathroom was very nice and clean. Breakfast was big and with a lot of variety. Good for spend some time in Cracow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank malgorzata123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Couldn't fault this hotel.
The rooms were clean and warm with a very good shower and all the staff were very helpful.
The location is perfect, just a ten minute walk in to the city and on the tram line for anywhere further.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great base in Krakow

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleBurrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was a bit wary after reading less than positive reviews about the rooms looking a bit tired etc however my experience was quite the opposite. The room was really nice and very clean & the shower was excellent. Less than a ten minute walk from the town square it's also in an excellent location. The hotel staff could not be more helpful or friendly & the breakfast was excellent - for the price we paid for the room the value for money was exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank een247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guests,

It is absolutely fantastic to receive such a great comment. I am really happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. I hope that now you will visit it again. All the Maksymilian Team is awaiting your future visits with us.

Best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 261 in Krakow
1,300 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 261 in Krakow
991 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#46 of 261 in Krakow
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Yarden Aparthotel
Yarden Aparthotel
#52 of 261 in Krakow
944 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#17 of 261 in Krakow
441 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#26 of 261 in Krakow
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: $53 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing