We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #39 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Maksymilian for 3 nights. Got there very early so room was not ready, however, Receptionist allowed us to leave our bags behind the desk whilst we spent 6hrs exploring the City (could have gone back a lot earlier but got caught up with Schindlers Factory!) Room was on 2nd floor and although there was a large school group present which we thought would be noisy, we heard absolutely nothing! One double bed and two large singles pushed together gave us a choice of beds. Would have thought the double bed would have been the main bed but it wasn't and was pushed against the wall but this was not a problem. Bathroom was very clean and tidy, only problem was I got locked in the bathroom when the door lock came off in my hand. Luckily my husband was able to open it from the other side, we reported this when we left. Having free Wifi was very handy although the authentification failed to work on the last night so were unable to check home. The receptionist managed to put this right the morning we left. These two things are the only reason this hotel did not get 5 stars. Breakfast was sufficient and was in the cellar which was lovely with pictures of the renovation of the building on the walls. We didn't try the bar or restaurant. Location was brilliant, just 5 mins walk to the City centre along the main road. Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it to others, in fact recommended it to a couple organising a reunion trip for 8 next year.

Room Tip: Room 201 was good, no lift however only a short walk and next to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAM103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)

Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 897 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for a three nights. Would definitely recommend it. It is well situated, a short walk to the main square. The room décor is dated but comfortable and we had a good shower. The tea, coffee and bottles were replenished daily. The staff were helpful and booked our Auschwitz tour for us, which picked up around the corner at a near-by hotel. Other guests mentioned noise, but our room was quiet. There is a small bar at the front, the barman was very friendly and helped me pick which vodkas to try!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am very grateful for your feedback following your stay.
Thank you for mentioning about our good location. It is really true, that the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre. It is so nice to see, that you appreciate our staff. Professional service and hospitality are our priorities.
I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maksymilian Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant 4nt stay at this hotel and we would rate it as excellent. Upon arrival the receptionist informed us that they had re-allocated our room as they had a noisy group staying with them, this is a first for me as majority of hotels would'nt be bothered, Our room was on 2nd floor and serviced by stairs only which was small price to pay for peace and quiet. Obviously for someone with walking difficulty i would trust this hotel to sort out. Our room was spotless, spacious and well equipped including tea/coffee making facilities. The en-suite was roomy with large shower cubicle and hair dryer, it also had a small night-light, a brilliant idea, Towels were changed daily. Breakfast was a mix of continental with scrambled egg and smoked sausage. Breakfast was the only item that lost the hotel points; one morning when they ran out of bread for toast and one of the waitresses was neither efficient nor friendly.
Would we stay here again? Definitely YES!!

Room Tip: Always enquire if any groups are staying but, as i said, they had already located us away from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coachduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had such a good stay in Hotel Maksymilian. Your opinion has been passed to our employees as an additional motivation to keep up our high standards.
We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow.
With best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just back from 3 great days in Krakow,staying at the Maksymilian hotel.We arrived early and room was not ready but not a problem reception found us one that was so no waiting around.The hotel was everything the reviews said it was,clean tidy and very close to the old town.The history of the hotel and the renovations were in pictures on the walls fantastic.Breakfast was in the cellar and plenty of it, assortment of teas so something for everyone.The staff were very friendly and polite and it was a bonus to have bottled water in your room.Will defiantly be going back x

Room Tip: We had a room on a high floor no noise at all very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jawa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback on which we strongly rely. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you would recommend our hotel.
It would be great to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just back from 3 days in Krakow with my fiancé, and selected the Maksymilian with the help of previous Tripadvisor reviews.

I would say the reviews are accurate and I would recommend the hotel as a very good option for budget stay in a good location. I have to say that when I first entered our room (103) I was slightly disappointed with the size, but the room was very clean and the bathroom was nice and modern with a very good powerful shower. New towels were supplied every day which was better than some 4 star hotels that I've stayed at in other cities! I also appreciated the tea/coffee making facilities and the complimentary bottles of water, a nice touch. We didn't need to use the air con but from reading reviews of other hotels it sounds like air con isn't that common among older and less expensive hotels so I guess it's a bonus due to the recent refurb, and would be very welcome in hot summers.

Breakfast was good, a decent amount of choice of cold continental things plus very good scrambled eggs and two kinds of cooked Polish sausage.

Hope to revisit Krakow next year and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dammitjanet0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am very grateful for your feedback following your stay.
Thank you for mentioning about our good location. It is really true, that the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre. It is so nice to see, that you appreciate our staff. Professional service and hospitality are our priorities.
I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maksymilian Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I took a group of 44 17-18 year olds to Krakow, Poland on a school trip back in February. The hotel was booked through the company we were using, so I wasn't sure ha to expect, however, they exceeded all my expectations. The rooms were all very clean; staff were friendly & polite, even when they wanted to close the bar & we were still sitting chatting. They were very accommodating when they organised packed lunches for us, which were very good. The location is great for seeing Krakow, only about 5-10minute walk for the old town square & gat links to the tram lines. The only issue was that the car park was a couple of minutes walk away, but I don't think that is the fault of the hotel. We didn't use the spa facilities, so I cannot comment on them. Overall I was really pleased with our stay & wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We'd originally booked elsewhere but came here after finding it on the Internet, having been disappointed with our previous place! The staff were very helpful, the room was spotlessly clean and bliss! Air con (it was around 40 degrees!). All in all, we were thrilled to find this place, it was just a stroll (15 mins) into the historic centre. There are tram stops on the Main Street outside. There are lots of shops, bars, cafes near by. Great hotel, great and very comfortable stay and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was ok too!

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a room at the back of the hotel as there are trams running past the building on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

It is absolutely fantastic to receive such a great comment. I am really happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. I hope that now you will visit it again. All the Maksymilian Team is awaiting your future visits with us.

Best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#44 of 262 in Krakow
856 reviews
Kleparz
Yarden Aparthotel by Artery Hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 262 in Krakow
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#12 of 262 in Krakow
495 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#26 of 262 in Krakow
554 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 262 in Krakow
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: $46 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing