We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this wee hotel”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #36 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved this wee hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 5 night and loved it. very central to main square. places to eat near by,shops also near by. Nice staff great rooms very warm inside as outside was freezing. Loved it.We where able to walk to the main square everyday and enjoy all the lovely food and drink Poland has to offer. Very cheap place and great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usccastle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very grateful for your feedback following your stay.
Thank you for mentioning about our good location. It is really true, that the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre. It is so nice to see, that you appreciate our staff. Professional service and hospitality are our priorities.
I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maksymilian Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    331
    63
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
382
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was small but adequate and clean. Tea and coffee, bottled water provided and clean towels every day. Hairdryer, shampoo, shower gell provided. Very good shower. Bed comfortable. Room 202 very quiet never heard a sound. Fantastic city wonderful architecture definitely coming back as much more to see. Would recommend this hotel. The breakfasts were great. Can't fault it hope to come back for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank droffarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our Guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We will be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Absolutely wonderful hotel - couldnt fault it. Ideally situated for an easy stroll into the beautiful city of Kracow. Spotlessly clean and quiet - even had memory foam mattresses!!! Able to leave luggage there securely on our last day as not leaving until late. Kracow is beautiful. Some great restaurants although booking recommended for the busiest, which the hotel reception are happy to do.Shop around for best buys for trips to Auschwitz and bargain with the buggy drivers for the city tours. The main square is brilliant for people watching but does tend to be a lot pricier than the small bars and restaurants off the side streets - ie beers are half the price!!! Try the little Bordo restaurant where the locals eat - 28zloty for lunch and 2 beers which is about £7!!! Exchange rates are better in Poland than the Uk and again, use the bureau de changes off the main square as rates are better. Cant recommend highly enough for a short, value for money break.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the inner courtyard which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian for your stay in Cracow. It is a pleasure to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel and our service. Our team works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has a great stay and vacation at Hotel Maksymilian. Therefore, we have passed your comments to our employees as such positive feedback is an additional motivation for them to fulfill our high standards. Dear guest, we thank you again and hope that we can welcome you back at Hotel Maksymilian.
Kind regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Militello in val di Catania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Even though my stay was rather short, I enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. The staff were extremely polite and friendly. They were always willing to help us get around the town and give us very useful information on means of transport and places to visit. The rooms were very clean and warm. As for breakfast , it was very good and fresh. There was a good choice of typical biscuits, cake, jam, bread, bacon, eggs, etc. The coffee was excellent. It wasn't the usual instant coffee that so many hotels usually serve. If you choose this hotel, you should try the restaurant for lunch or dinner. I had excellent meals there ( from pork meat to fish and side dishes) without spending a lot of money. Last but not least, the location was perfect. You can walk to some of the main attractions ( the main Market square and Wawel Castle ).

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are rather spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellinaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had such a good stay in Hotel Maksymilian. Your opinion has been passed to our employees as an additional motivation to keep up our high standards.
We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow.
With best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great location near to Tram stop. Plenty of eating places at bottom of street, by City Walls. We were on 5th floor and lift only goes to 4th with a number of stairs to climb to reach our room.Also 5th floor only has skylights to not a good outside view. Tea, coffee and bottled water restocked daily. Room was comfortable with plenty of hot water etc.
Buffet breakfast was a good way to start the day, good choices available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunnerMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback on which we strongly rely. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you would recommend our hotel.
It would be great to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just got back from Krakow. Stayed at the Maksymilian on Karmelicka, just a little way from the main square in the old town. Built into an old building, it has been completely refurbished and has that new small. Staff are very efficient. Reasonable English. Good buffet restaurant for breakfast and a bar in the cellar. Big rooms, comfortable beds and reasonably quiet even though on a main tram line. The hotel offers an excellent service and great value for it's three stars. It's a lot less expensive than the hotels closer to the main square, but is just as good. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBVGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend in Krakow and had at least two pleasant surprises - the first was the hotel. There's always a slight trepidation about how a hotel is going to work out but the Maxsymilian was smashing. The room we had was large, bright and very clean and the furniture and fittings were in good condition - in fact the whole place still "smelled" new. Service was friendly, efficient and very helpful plus a good breakfast buffet. A good place to stay. Oh, the other pleasant surprise, the weather was warmer than the UK!.

Room Tip: The hotel is on Karmelicka which is a tram route so rooms at the front will hear the trams. (End aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 259 in Krakow
980 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#17 of 259 in Krakow
405 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#47 of 259 in Krakow
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 259 in Krakow
1,266 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#24 of 259 in Krakow
528 reviews
Hotel Batory
#42 of 259 in Krakow
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Property: Hotel Maksymilian
Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing