We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

recently stayed in this nice friendly hotel, clean rooms and communal areas, the breakfast of cooked meats cheeses scrambled eggs and sausage and various breads is a great start for your sight seeing, its got a great location a short walk to the old town, the staff are very friendly and both informative and helpful

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaz-cope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback on which we strongly rely. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you would recommend our hotel.
It would be great to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maksymilian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 861 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights here early January '13 and in no way regretted our choice. We had an incredible time in Krakow itself and this was complemented perfectly by our stay at Hotel Maksymilian.

The staff were really welcoming and very helpful, the room was immaculate and a really good size a with tea and coffee facilities available plus a bottle of water for each of us daily (so simple but such a nice touch). One point perhaps is that there were renovation works ongoing during our stay but "working hours" were really considerate and weren't at all disturbing, in fact the only reason we noticed them was because we went back to put on not more layers.

Breakfast was simple but effective, a step up from the humble cold meats and cheeses with the introduction of hot meats and egg with some interesting salads.

All in all a very enjoyable stay, would certainly go back and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian for your stay in Cracow. It is a pleasure to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel and our service. Our team works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has a great stay and vacation at Hotel Maksymilian. Therefore, we have passed your comments to our employees as such positive feedback is an additional motivation for them to fulfill our high standards. Dear guest, we thank you again and hope that we can welcome you back at Hotel Maksymilian.
Kind regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We're just back from Kracow today, Hotel was very nice, good beds, ample food and warm. Asha and Paulina from the reception staff were very helpful except Anna. She was on the desk when we first arrived, she was very vague when we had asked questions about different places including how to get to St Faustina's Divine Mercy. She told us to check it out on google which I did and shown her the polish version, to which she said she didn't know where that was. Anna did not check it out online or even offer to check it for us, I then asked if she knew a bus to get there, she said yes and then said there are buses on the street!!! We had to ask her for a map, she seemed only interested for us to book tours with her. The elevator was also not working for us as the work men were using it (renovation work at small part of hotel, did not disrupt us), my friends who were booked into room 26 spent nearly 30 mins trying to find their room, again very little assistance from Anna, however the elevator became use-able again and they managed to locate their room eventually. Fortunately, her shift finished early evening and Asha and Paulina on different days assisted us in every way, checking out bus times, pointing us in the right direction, nothing seemed too much trouble. Karolina was also very good e-maling us back quickly and reserving our room as requested. I would definitely come back to this hotel, it's very central, quite close to the square and local transport

Room Tip: Room 33 is very spacious, 23 might be the same, you could always e-mail reception they will return y...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your feedback. We are happy to read that you had such a good stay in our house. I would like to mention that I spoke to Ms Anna and I can assure that described situation will never occur anymore. We hope you will return to Cracow so we can take good care of you at our hotel again.
With best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have just returned from another stay in Krakow, a beautiful city. This time we stayed at the Maksymillian Hotel. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very attentive. The room on the 4th floor was lovely. A very good shower, queen sized bed and very quiet. There were tea and coffee making facilities and bottled water in the room daily. The room was serviced daily, to a high standard. Breakfast was typical for eastern europe, eggs, sausages, cereal, bread, toast, as well as many items we are not so familiar with eating for breakfast, such as salad. Fresh, juice, yogurt, fruit and very good coffee was also available. The hotel is in a very good location. We emailed the hotel ahead of arrival so they had a car waiting for us at the airport. This is very cheap and much cheaper than just getting a taxi at the airport. The staff are very helpful and friendly at the hotel, and speak good english.

The only minor, was that we were wakened on our second day by builders working at the hotel, around 8 am. This was the only day it happened, and would not put me off using the hotel again.

Room Tip: We had room 46 on the fourth floor. It was quite big, very good shower, warm and quiet. You could...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback on which we strongly rely. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you would recommend our hotel.
It would be great to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in early January. On arrival we received a pleasant welcome, all of the reception staff were friendly throughout the stay. The room was clean, was a good size and was always warm - crucial when visiting Krakow in January! The bathroom was modern with plenty of hot water for the shower. The safe in our bedroom did not work however staff were very keen to resolve the problem and whilst they were unable to fix it, they gave us the master key to use until it was fixed. There were tea and coffee making facilities and two bottles of water were provided daily.

Breakfast was served until 1030 and was a standard European breakfast with cold meats, cheese, salads, eggs and sausages.

It is a 5-7 minute walk from the hotel into the main square and there is a tram stop close by.

This hotel is good value for money if you pay the listed price (we went through TravelWasp and paid over the odds for the room) and is fine for using as somewhere to base yourself when exploring Krakow.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

+ location: 10 mins walk from the old town square
+ room: good size, clean, tea maker
+ building: historical and newly rebuilt
+ friendly and smiling staff

- breakfast:not much variety and scrambled eggs were not available anymore. Staff took longer than expected to clean and prepare the tables for next guests, considering that there were not that many tables.

Overall, considering the extremely busy time of the New Year's Holiday, the experience in this hotel was very positive.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank europeansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you liked our hotel. Sorry for the impression of " not much variety" . I will share your impression with our team so for the next time it will be fixed surely.

Hoping to welcome you at the Maksymilian Hotel again I am sending you my best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights arriving 15/12/12. What a wonderful hotel. Very nice English speaking staff available to answer any questions that we had and offer directions to places we wanted to visit. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The rooms clean and spacious. Breakfast is self service with something for everyone one. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Krakow. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the centre of Krakow, less than 3 minutes walk to the bus and trolley stops. Local beer is between 5 and 8 zl depeding where you go. We were told to take GBP and change them at the Kantor (bureau de change) as you will get a better rate than in the UK. You can find these on every street corner. We got 5 zl to the pound. If we ever return to Krakow the Maksymilian is where we would stay. If you are thinking of doing any trips, book before you go. We booked Auschwitz with Escape to Poland, recommended by trip advisor, booked before we went and they picked us up outside the hotel. I would definatley recommend them. Salt mines tour we just booked the tour and made our own way there on the bus from the end of the street, took 20 mins and cost 3.20zl. The tours are denfinatley cheaper if you book on line before you go. Getting to the centre of Krakow from the hotel is so easy, there is a bus stop outside the airport and for 3.20zl takes you straight in and takes about 30 mins, the train from the airport cost 15zl.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sillyfrog1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)

Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 261 in Krakow
1,300 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 261 in Krakow
991 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#46 of 261 in Krakow
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Yarden Aparthotel
Yarden Aparthotel
#52 of 261 in Krakow
946 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#17 of 261 in Krakow
441 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#26 of 261 in Krakow
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: $53 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing