We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in great location!”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in December for 3 nights,all the hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is very new and clean. Our room was very well sized with a double bed and large bathroom with a great shower! Spotlessly clean all of the time. The rooms themselves are nicely decorated and are lovely and warm great to return to after a long day touring Krakow. The breakfast is also very good with a great selection of food. The hotel has a spa which offers excellent massages, I had the hot stone massage and it is very relaxing!! The bar and restaurant are also very good. We booked our tickets for Auchwitz with the hotel reception and they explained everything to us in detail and gave us a little map to the bus stop to get the bus to Auchwitz. We didn't get to visit the saltmines as we had a lot of Christmas shopping to do!! ps the shopping centre is huge with a great selection of shops we literally shopped till we dropped!! Hopefully we will get to visit the salt mines on our next trip. The Christmas markets were on while we were there and they were lovely to see with all the Christmas decorations and trees and the mulled wine was very good to heat us up!! I would also recommend getting the horse drawn carriage around the square and the castle at night it was magical! Overall we had a brilliant time in Krakow it is a beautiful city and Hotel Maksymilian was perfect for us. If I ever return to Krakow I will be staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Guests,

It is absolutely fantastic to receive such a great comment. I am really happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. I hope that now you will visiti it again. All the Maksymilian Team is awaiting your future visits with us.

Best regards,
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maksymilian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 861 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from Krakow after spending 3 nights at the Hotel Maksymilian.

The room we had was small and not well thought out for a double room (bed would have been better on a different wall, shower cubical would have been better square rather than curved so you had an extra 3" of space!), only one light over the bed worked (which was fine as we only needed one), the safe in the wardrobe didn't work (couldn't open it even after following the instructions), there were no opening times for the spa attached to the hotel (but you had a detailed price list/ booklet in the room) AND of course the quilt's being more like single quilts on double beds! But it was clean, warm and we had fresh water and towels every day, the shower was amazing, high pressure and hot water was wonderful after walking around Krakow sightseeing all day :)

Our room (# 31, 3rd floor) was at the end of the floor, on the stair well leading down to the reception. Initially, on the first night this was not a problem and everything was really quiet and peaceful, however on the second night it sounded like half of Krakow were using the stair case in the hotel. Plus the room next to ours was now occupied and you could hear them flushing the toilet!

This said, i think there are other rooms in the hotel where you would not be disturbed as we were and the noise didn't last well into the night

There was free WiFi, the breakfast was good - you could tell the scrambled eggs were fresh and was made from free range chickens. My boyfriend loved the scrambled eggs with ham

It is defiantly 3 star accommodation, there are a few finishing touches it is lacking, which if addressed, would make it more like a 4 star hotel

The staff are lovely and the location is great. Its a good hotel if you are only going to be there to sleep.

Room Tip: try and get a room away from the lifts and the stairwells for a quieter stay with less through traff...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrixiBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zatoń,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

One funny thing about this hotel, the duvets are very short. staff supplied additional ones so all ok but odd.
room was clean and warm. beds comfortable. tv only had bbc world in english so not great.
nice and quiet and still only a short walk to main square.
Breakfast a touch disapointing but plenty and well presented but not much change day to day. felt very secure. would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)

Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We (a couple) stayed here in late November 2011 for 5 nights.

The hotel is well located, about a 10 minute walk from the main square, which is where you will probably want to be. On arrival to Krakow we walked from the train station to the hotel, it took us about 20 minutes and with a street map it is easy to find your way. When arriving in Krakow you should get the shuttle bus from the airport to the train station (its free). To go to Krakow you pay on the train and stay on to the last stop. All very painless.

Staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. We booked excursions to Auschwitz and the Salt mines through the hotel and would recommend both trips thoroughly.

Our room was extremely small. Although we booked a double I think we must have had a single room with a double bed in it (this is mentioned as a cheaper room rate in the hotel but was not mentioned when we booked with the hotel). The room was very cramped. But the bed was comfortable.

A lot of reviews have mentioned getting fresh bottles of water every day however our water was only replaced once in our 5 nights. Towels were replaced daily.

We did not eat in the restaurant except for breakfast (which was acceptable continental style) but we did have a drink in the bar. It was empty and smelled like cleaning supplies! We didn't go back. There just wasn't any atmosphere.

This was a great base for exploring Krakow and you will feel welcome. However, it is most definitely three star accommodation, as advertised. I wouldn't want the high ratings on tripadvisor to make anyone think they are getting more than that.

One last thing. Our room was very very noisey. We were next to a family room on the 4th floor and were woken often by people talking, coughing or even just flushing their toilet. I have to assume this was specific to our room as it has not been mentioned in reviews previously but it did somewhat spoil our stay.

We would stay here again purely for the value for money and friendliness of staff. A good 3 star hotel. No more.

Krakow itself is awesome. We had a fabulous time here and would thoroughly recommend the city for a break. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomaddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zatoń,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located, just a short walk away from the old town, and great value. Not much more you can want from a hotel for a short city break!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theproclaimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback on which we strongly rely. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you would recommend our hotel.
It would be great to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed here the first weekend in December so that we could visit the xmas markets and would definitely recommend this hotel. The rooms though small, were perfectly adequate with, tea an coffee making facilities, tv, safe etc and were spotlessly clean. Somebody had mentioned in a previous review that the rooms were cold, ours and our friends rooms were the complete opposite they were baking, which was lovely as the weather was so cold there. The staff were very very helpful and very knowledgeable and were only too glad to help you. The hotel is in an excellent position about a 10 minute walk to the main square and about 20 minute walk from the railway station. There are plenty of restaurants near the hotel which offer excellent food at very reasonable prices about £25 per couple. The hotel has a bar and the prices of the drinks there were no different to the bars in town which makes a nice change. The hotel has its own restaurant which did look very good but we never got round to eating there. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of everything.


The only criticism, if any, would be that the beds could do with a bigger duvet as they are rather on the small size!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolBenfleet_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zatoń,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Maksymilian 25th - 28th November and altough this is a 3 star hotel it would beat many hotels for style, cleanliness and appearance. We were delayed landing because we weren't allowed into Polish airspace and as a result had to land in Dresden to refuel. We were soon back in the air and about 2 hours late. We had booked our transfer to the hotel via the hotel and were greeted at the airport by our driver who was very pleasant, in fact we booked him to take us to the Salt Mine. 6 of us one way 110 zloty about 30min journey good value I think. Anyway, when we did get to the hotel we were pleasantly surprised. Room spotless, tea and coffee in the room and it was so good to see after the flight, which we thought was a bad omen. The food was ample, nothing extravigant but something hot to start the day. The hotel is well placed for sightseeing and minutes from the beautiful market square with all the Christmas stalls. Had a great time in Crakow and will be back sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobalicious21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)

Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 261 in Krakow
1,300 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 261 in Krakow
991 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#46 of 261 in Krakow
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Yarden Aparthotel
Yarden Aparthotel
#52 of 261 in Krakow
944 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#17 of 261 in Krakow
441 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#26 of 261 in Krakow
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: $53 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing