We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent rooms”
Review of Hostel Euro Room

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Euro Room
Ranked #110 of 451 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed only for 1 night - paying 110zl for a double/twin room with attached bath.Location is good- 5 mins walk from market sqaure, 5-10 mins to Kazmierz and 10-15 mins walk to train station. The rooms were clean and basic. The hostel staff were friendly. The only drawback was that it was very cold inside the room. heating needs to be improved. It is an old building , and windows are not good enough to block the cold, and when it is minus fifteen outside, as it was when we were there, it can get quite cold in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hgoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and I booked a private double room at this hostel and paid less than £30 a night.

The rooms are very clean and tidy, beds reasonably comfortable and ensuite bathroom was nice with good shower pressure and a hairdryer (bonus!) The hostel is located a few minutes walk from the town square and five min from the train station.

We didn't sleep well during the three night we were there, it was very noisy as there was a club next to the hostel that was open until around 4am with Loud drunk people in the streets and music loud enough to make the windows rattle
constantly.

The ladies at the reception desk were very friendly but were unable to suggest good restaurants or bars to try and just pointed us towards the main square.

Breakfast was 8zl (£2) and consisted of instant coffee and brioche with spreads.

It is cheap, comfortable accomodation, however you certainly get what you pay for and if I return to Krakow I would probably choose to spend a bit more for something a little better with less noise and a better nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yay4cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Euro-Room. The staff was very helpfull and the hostel was recently renovated inside. The location is great, only a short walk to the center. And a 24h reception, so it's easy to come and go however you want. If you need a lift from/to the airport, they'll take care of it.
I really recommend this hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alice88_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

First of all, when we first arrived the pitch black hallway that greeted us was very daunting! However after we carted our luggage up to the 4th floor it was all fine. The hostel itself is v clean, bright and modern. I found all receptionists to be v helpful.

Our ensuite room had everything we needed although there was no air conditioning. The communal kitchen is clean and you can have free tea and coffee.

Location is really what makes this hotel, only a minute walk to the main square.There is a night club right next door to the hotel and it does become quite noisy but that didn't bother us.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IrelandCat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Euro Room in Krakow for 4 nights from August 16 to 20, 2010. We live in Shelby Township, Michigan, USA. The hostel is located on the 3rd floor of a very old building about 4/5 city blocks from the main square. There is a monstrous 50 stairs to climb to reach the third floor (and with luggage, it is a killer). There is no elevator in this building. The front door to the building is locked, so each time you enter, you must ring the bell, and wait for someone to let you in. Sometimes we waited for several minutes to be buzz me in.

When we finally arrived on the third floor exhausted, the lady at the reception desk did not speak any English. As we speak only limited Polish, this made any communication next to impossible. My wife does speak a few words of German, so we were able to learn that she wanted to be paid for the four nights in full in advance, she pointed to the sign on the wall that merely said that breakfast was available in the morning, and she gave us a key to the room.

The next morning, when we appeared for breakfast, another lady told us that because we did not follow their policy that breakfast had to be ordered a day in advance, that we could not eat breakfast. She told us (in the most limited English) that the lady the day before had explained this breakfast policy to us in detail, and it was our fault we couldn't have breakfast because we had not ordered it in advance. Needless to say, after listening to these hideous lies, we found great pleasure in eating our breakfast elsewhere.

Our room had two beds, a full and single size. The room had a private toilet, sink and shower (with hot water), and with linens, toilet paper and towels provided. There was no air conditioning (and so we had to open the window for fresh/cool air at night. Of course, once we opened the window, all the outdoor bugs visited our room, along with the noise from the bar/restaurant below, which kept us awake until 4:00 a.m, when the revelers decided to catch some sleep.

The small two table dining room has a small refrigerator and microwave. The so called free coffee/tea is "instant" - make it yourself - heat your own water.. The dining room was noisy in the morning, and was located immediately outside our room door, so at 7:00 a.m., we were awakened again. But at least its quiet at this hostel from 4:00 am to 7:00 am.

I would surmise that if Polish is your language, that you don't mind propelling your luggage (or body) up 50 stairs and you don't care whether you sleep at night, then this is your place.

Otherwise, find another hostel in town to stay at.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antopase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Curro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Topolowa Residence
#1 of 262 in Krakow
594 reviews
ibis Krakow Centrum
#63 of 262 in Krakow
650 reviews
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#29 of 451 in Krakow
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#37 of 262 in Krakow
2,108 reviews
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Euro Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Euro Room

Address: Ul. Wielopole 11/4, Krakow 31-072, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 451 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: $24 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Euro Room 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located within short walking distance both of the attractions of the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. Nearby you can find many pubs, clubs and restaurants. At Euro-Room you are offered a kitchen with a fridge, a washing machine, a lounge with a TV and 24/7 front desk. The staff will provide you with tourist information and ticket service. We offer 26 accommodation places in a diversity of rooms: 1,2,3,4 person rooms and one luxury apartment for max. 6 Person. At the guests' disposal is a kitchen, fridge, washing machine, TV in the living room, Internet (Wi-fi), reception 24h. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Euro Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing