We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Based on Previous Reviews”
Review of Resto Illuminati

Resto Illuminati
Ranked #196 of 1,567 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Paphos
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Disappointed Based on Previous Reviews”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The good points are the staff, service, decor, pianist & wine list. Sadly the food left a lot to be desired. I had the scallops to start with, which were bland & the lamb fillet was tasteless although very well cooked. My wife thought that the goats cheese starter was very good but her duck main course lacked taste. Due to our disappointment with the main courses we did not try a dessert. I normally try to be positive with my reviews if I can but in this case I have found it hard to be upbeat about the food. I am also surprised by how high this restaurant is rated. Maybe we went on an off night in the kitchen.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    124
    50
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ambiance”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The dining room was beautiful, we had a reservation and were shown to a table for 2 inside the front door along the bar. We asked for another and were shown to a table for 4 in another room which was very nice. This was a little off putting to start the meal. We noticed that the original table we were shown was never occupied. The food was good but nothing to write home about.
The staff was stuffy and condescending. Would not return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Out of this world bloody Mary's and such helpful staff”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Read the reviews on TA and thought we would give it a go.. Well, my my, the bloody Mary's are amazing.. Hats off to Adrian who will tailor it to your exact specifications. Amazing! Going back for dinner tomorrow night, I wanted to give them advance notice and chat through the menu as I have wheat and dairy intolerances and they were so helpful, nothing is a problem as they have real chefs who care for their clients. Warm and friendly place, lovely decor.. Watch this space for my food review!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Attentive and accomadating”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Read reveiws for a few restaurants to visit whilst in krakow all were good but this one was exceptional the food was outstanding the service second to none and the whole ambiance off the place was great not far off the main square this truly will make your visit to krakow a memorable one thanks all

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrpink2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quality atmosphere and spot-on service and presentation, food leaves much to be desired.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

In a party of four, we ordered various appetizers and entrees. The duck spring rolls were fantastic. Very flavorful, but in the end... spring rolls. The goat cheese toast appetizer was also fantastic. The lamb was quite good, but the ratatouille could just as easily have been taken from a microwaved airline tray. The steak was of good quality and cooked well. The pesto plastered on it was a strange choice and didn't add to the meal, nor did the greasy and overcooked onion and mushroom slush. The house wines were fantastic! Decor and ambiance were great, and service was spot-on. The waitstaff deserve special thanks for this. This review should be a 3.5 out of 5, but service and decor are only worth so much when the food is not up to par, especially at a restaurant so highly rated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrojek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Resto Illuminati also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Resto Illuminati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing