We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best lunch in Krakow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Resto Illuminati

Resto Illuminati
Ranked #154 of 1,471 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: European, Central European, Polish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Krakow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just dropped in; the interior looked like a pleasant stay. Easy to accept when we got a good champagne waiting for a table. We order a good Merlot, veal for me and omelet for my dear. Tasted delicious. The service, two girls, give us immediately respond. A restaurant we can recommend and want to visit again next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    124
    50
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well tidy cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

To be fair we didn't eat here tonight but thought we'd scope it out for another night. Having done our best meerkats at the window, we were enticed in by the sax and piano for a cocktail. Good cocktail list, slightly limited range of premium spirits behind the bar for the malt, American, cognac crowd, but don't let that make you think this isn't a serious team. Great knowledge of offering and skills to match. Probably some of the best, on glass, presentation I have seen. Thoroughly enjoyed a local wheat beer recommended by our barman. In a nutshell; the customers, band and staff had mostly left before we realised we should. Nuff said.

Helpful?
Thank Alpen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not what I'd hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having sampled another of the top restaurants based on TA reviews and being overwhelmed by the quality of their fare, we were looking forward to eating here. Frankly it was a disappointment. The surroundings were lovely and the staff excellent, however the food was a bit of a letdown. I ordered filet steak med/rare and it turned up Blue. By the time a replacement had been served up the rest of our party had finished their meal. There was no forthcoming apology from anybody in the restaurant. My friends ordered fish and duck respectively both of which were quite bland in their taste. My wife ordered chicken which was probably the best choice.

I doubt if I would eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iron0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A fabulous find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staying in the Stare Miasto aparthotel next door on B & B basis, this is where we came for our breakfast - and we were not disappointed. We came back for evening dinner and had a 3 course meal with an excellent wine plus a couple of drinks ( 18 year old Laphroaig) and coffees for a fraction of what it would cost in UK. The service was excellent - so friendly yet unobtrusive. The food is delightful - chef certainly knows how to tickle the taste buds. A good varied menu so it was difficult to make a decision! There was a very talented musician playing piano and saxophone which created a lovely ambience. All in all a tremendous place just off the main square. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank esfalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Illuminati takes the lead!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Well it is night 4 of 5 in Krakow and another amazing meal. This time at Resto Illuminati that is of modern contemporary design, very elegant and comfortable. The service was by far the best so far in Krakow and the food was just as good. I loved the way each course was served to my wife and myself simultaneously by two staff. Our meals were also cleared the same way. We both opted for the soup of the day and Darne of Salmon. Soup was Leek and Potato with spinach and scored full marks on all three points of my soup test - 1. Arrived piping hot 2. Tasted superb 3. There was plenty in the bowl. As for the salmon, it was served on a bed of roasted potatoes so elevated as a mouthwatering centrepiece on the plate, surrounded by a delicious salsa of salad. For dessert we contained our quest for a cheese cake with the wow factor and this did not disappoint. Washed down with a beautiful Chilean Merlot and finished off with a gentle cappuccino the meal was accompanied by the superb piano playing and saxophone of the unobtrusive musician, adding a smooth and rich soundtrack to the evening.

Helpful?
2 Thank MrChipsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Resto Illuminati also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Resto Illuminati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing