We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic late bar with great staff”
Review of Scandale Royal

Scandale Royal
Ranked #126 of 1,567 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
1 review
“Fantastic late bar with great staff”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic meal here earlier in the year and were so impressed that we returned on our next visit to Krakow, this time for late drinks after meeting friends.

As we remembered from our last time, the atmosphere was bustling without being overpowering and the service absolutely great.

All of the staff were very efficient and the manager (A Clark Kent look alike) who spoke excellent English, took the time to chat with us and was very friendly.

The only problem was that we had such a good time, our night ended up being later than we had intended.

Great place, we will be back again for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCAK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    135
    44
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nice drinks, horrible main dishes”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went here with a group of friends earlier this week. We chose the restaurant mainly because of our previous experiences with the drinks and starters, which were amazing and good value for money. Sorry to say that we did not enjoy the main courses, nor the service which was average to poor. The duck tasted like fish (!!), came with little garnish and was slightly overdone. The pasta was uninspiring and tasteless. Several of the dishes lacked items listed on the menu and several dishes could not be made due to the same issue.

A good place for drinks and starters, but I would recommend you move on for the main courses.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in the area”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

As a group we ate at a few places in the old part of the city and we agreed that this one was the preferred. The chef is clearly more creative than many of the piece of meat, chips and salad variety. Breakfasts are great value as well. Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craighungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice food in lovely setting!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Set in the small square behind the main one with lovely fountains!

Food was delicious!

We had tomato soup, chicken consume with duck raviolli, Caesar salad and selfish tempura to begin and all were delicious!

For main there was a lot of choice but we went for sirloin steak with potato and Argentinian steak with chips for main as well as tagliatelle with beef in white wine sauce!

Desserts were some of the best I've tasted personally with the creme brûlée stealing the show and an impressive chocolate cake!

Service was a bit slow but nothing to complain about. We found the average meal to take 2 hours everywhere we went and its a holiday so time to relax! Patriciya our server was very helpful with the menu and recommended some delicious banana marguerita!

Only down side was as 6 diners we were sat at a table where the hatch to take the plates down to kitchen was so constant stream of servers by me with glasses and tableware for washing which was slightly annoying.

Average price of about £18 pp including drinks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcdougalll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Late night opening.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Was one of the last places open to eat after midnight. We had the Argentinian steak which was a bit of a disappointment; particularly as it was the most expensive item on the menu. It was not very big and a touch tough.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scandale Royal also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Scandale Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing