We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restauracja Starka

Restauracja Starka
Ranked #1 of 1,480 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Polish, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Polish restaurant and vodka bar
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family visited here a few months back while visiting krakow. We went to a different restaurant each night and this was one of the best. We had 3 courses plus a selection of flavoured vodkas (which were delicious may I add) and it was really cheap. We were pleasantly surprised! The staff were welcoming and attentive which was nice. I will defiantly be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank Soph2012ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,607
    796
    161
    45
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I checked out tripadvisor for restaurants in the area and as we were staying near the Jewish quarter this seemed perfect we tried to go on the Saturday night but it was booked up always a good sign, so we booked the following night which was our last night we expected something great as we had eaten in lots of places in the area but we were disappointed it wasn't bad but it wasn't better than anywhere else. We had had better meals.I had pate to start and rabbit for main my partner had dumplings to start and ribs for main nothing to write home about service pleasant but average sorry !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moya f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We went because of the reccomendations on here and they do not disappoint. We visited at arround 1.30 for lunch and all was well! Waiter was friendly and knew what he was doing, even made some good reccomendations. There was a nice atmosphere in there and the music was on at a decent level so you didnt have to sit there whispering as a lot of the resteraunts we found to be very quiet in krakow. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank bearboy774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I enjoyed my meal in Starka although I was a bit surprised that it was the #1 restaurant in Krakow. Nonetheless, I left very satisfied. We had pate and mushrooms on toast for starter which was very tasty. We had pork and salmon for the main which was also good quality although the cognac pepper sauce was a bit bland. We had the walnut cake for dessert which was grand but nothing amazing.

The atmosphere was very nice and the service was excellent. The people beside us weren’t happy with their meal as I kept hearing them give out but I was very happy so maybe it depends what you get. They got the frozen meringue which they complained was too hard but not sure what do you expect from a frozen meringue 

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you come to Krakow you MUST eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lovely relaxed atmosphere - really nice surroundings and the food was fantastic. Great selection of very traditional Polish cuisine. 4 people in our group and we all had something different to try and none of us were disappointed! Soups to start - then the pork knuckle, stew and off the bone ribs for mains. The pork knuckle was a gamble but it certainly paid off - my husband loved it! All food was cooked perfectly and the portions were a good size. The accompaniments of sauerkraut type cabbage included cloves and a few other things and were delicious too!

We ended with some cakes to share and again these didn't disappoint! A selection of their home made vodkas topped of the evening nicely. Pear, apple, cherry and raspberry were the particular favourites.

Staff were lovely - friendly and attentive and service was great. Amazing value. 3 courses for 4 people with a couple of rounds of beers and soft drinks during the meal and a 6 vodkas after was a mind blowing £60.

If you go to Krakow you MUST eat here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VikkiVanBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Starka also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Restauracja Starka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing