We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamenty Pod Wawelem
Ranked #43 of 425 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very impressed with this accomodation, we stayed in the gold apartment with fireplace and it was gorgeous! We didnt use the fireplace as the room was always very warm but there was another couple heaters there too. Bed was very comfy, very large modern bathroom, nice wee kitchenette, and everything was spotless. We organised airport transfer to and from apartment before arrival and was great not to have to worry about this. Everyone here was so helpful and always there to answer questions, our flight home wasnt til late at night and we were able to leave our luggage in the office after check out which was very helpful! The apartment location was great, only a 5 minute walk from the main market square and very quiet at night. Would recommend this apartment to anyone looking to visit Krakow!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    49
    25
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
83
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked the gold apartment which is in the loft (be warned up 6 flight of stairs) real fire although we never used. Double bed and a spare settee bed, small kitchen area well equipted tv small table and fab bathroom, with a bath.
Was immaculate staff very friendly and could not help enough 2 mins from the Castle and about 5 min (once you get your bearings) from the centre of town.
Loved it so much booked to go back next March

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall extremely impressed
Location great walking distance from centre of krakow, room nicely modernised for a old building downside to this are the 101 steps to the top
The owner greeted us upon arrival and showed us aroundthe room and answered questions plus gave us a free upgrade :)
I would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in krakow

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L4NKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the orange room for 3 nights, and cannot fault the service we received. I was easy to find (we walked from train station to the building), we were greeted instantly, and were told of places to visit during our stay and all room information. We were escorted to the room so any questions we had were answered straight away. The room was lovely, it had air-con fitted. But when we returned during the day it was like an oven, which was uncomfortable when we tried to sleep or get ready to go out. But other than that it was lovely. Facilities in our kitchen were top notch and everything was clean.
We would recommend this to anyone looking for a great location - 5 min walk from city centre so no tourist noise and for a relaxing stay!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoladmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Apartamenty Pod Wawelem is situated in a quiet street around four minutes’ walk from the Wawel Castle; local restaurants and a scenic section of the river which has floating restaurants tied to the jetty.

Access to Apartamenty Pod Wawelem is via the apartment blocks main front door which is one of the grand old styles that stands about fifteen feet high. Access can be gained via the intercom which connects to the reception desk; or via a key for those already checked in.

As you enter the foyer area you are confronted with a dilapidated and dusty 1930’s style lobby which provides access to the main staircase. The Apartamenty Pod Wawelem is situated on the higher floors which means having to walk a few (3) flights of stairs. I managed it with a bad back so it shouldn't be too much of an issue for those more healthy than i.

Although the foyer and staircase from ground floor to the Apartamenty Pod Wawelem is old, dusty and dimly lit in areas, it gives you a sense of being back in the 1930’s and war torn Poland with every flight of stairs moving you forward through the years to 2013.

I became quite fond of those stairs and looking out the windows as we climbed.

Once you reach the floor where the Apartamenty Pod Wawelem is located you will find a locked door and intercom. Access again is via intercom with reception or via a key for those already checked in.

One more flight of stairs and you reach the reception area and the wonderful staff that manage the property. The staff are warm and friendly and the area is modern and nicely set out. A drinking fountain (water bottle) is available 24/7 with cold and hot water.

Our rooms were modern and furnished quite well and the apartment’s windows were double glazed for an added level of quietness. The bathroom and kitchen facilities were very nice and we had everything we needed for our comfort. No microwave was available in our room but that wasn't really an issue for us.

One thing to be warned about; and this affects most of the area; is that the Wawel castle’s main bell goes off every thirty minutes or so – all day and all night!! Although distracting at first having come from Australia where few such bells ring, we soon adjusted and hardly noticed them after a few days.

It takes about ten minutes to walk to the main square which is abundant with restaurants and cafes and is a joy to walk around. Nearby to the apartment is a fairly large tree filled park for those who enjoy some quite time in the park. There are several supermarkets located between the main square and the hotel should you want a few extra supplies for the room.

I would recommend these lodgings to anyone unconditionally and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If we visit Krakow again we know where we will be staying!! Thank You Tomaz and Staff!!

Room Tip: Make use of the local buggy tours. 2+ hours of touring areas such as the Oscar Schindler factory; J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dryad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

we had a four night stay in Krakow from 11-15th August, we were allocated the 'red apartment' which was very clean, spacious, and the beds and pillow so comfortable. The power shower was great and the bathroom modern and contemporary. On arrival, as per other reviews it doesnt look that great but once up to the fourth floor it became light, clean and modern where we felt perfectly safe and secure. We were greeted by Magda who was so helpful and sweet, as were the other members of staff. A water cooler is on the 4th floor for guests to use which was very welcome. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we had a bottle of sparkling wine in the room with a note of congratulations from the staff, which was lovely. The flights up are hard going the first few times then you just get used to it and by day 4 we were wizzing up them! The air conditioning is free and was great, we needed it several times. The location is fantastic, we never needed a tram or bus we just walked everywhere, apart from the organised trips and airport transfers with Escape to Poland which we booked in the UK beforehand. We did not have time to sample the buffet breakfast at the sister hotel down the road but at only 25 PLN (approx £5) per person it looked really good, considering just a coffee and egg on toast in a local cafe works out the same. I would recommend these apartments 100% - providing you are able to use the stairs! Magda, Thank you for a lovely stay in your beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week and were very impressed with the location and thought it was really good value. Our two apartments were a good size and generally clean. Staff were really helpful. The kitchen was well equipped and there is a supermarket just down the road, under the big Jubilat sign, as well as a big Carrefour in the galleria krakowska shopping centre. Only slight concern was the lack of smoke alarms or any written procedure for evacuation in a fire - slightly worrying considering the only way out was down 4 flights of wooden stairs!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlf1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Pod Wawelem Hotel
Pod Wawelem Hotel
#55 of 259 in Krakow
507 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#27 of 259 in Krakow
528 reviews
Stare Miasto
Rembrandt Aparthotel
Rembrandt Aparthotel
#113 of 259 in Krakow
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Amstra Luxury Apartments - Wawel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Czapskich Apartments
Czapskich Apartments
#33 of 425 in Krakow
60 reviews
Stare Miasto
P & J Apartments
P & J Apartments
#47 of 425 in Krakow
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamenty Pod Wawelem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamenty Pod Wawelem

Property: Apartamenty Pod Wawelem
Address: Pl. na Groblach 14/6, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 425 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamenty Pod Wawelem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamenty Pod Wawelem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing