We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4 star joke more like 2 star at best”
Review of Hotel Centrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Centrum
Ranked #143 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A 4 star joke more like 2 star at best”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We just came home today 07/05/12 after spending 10 day in Poland for the first time. We arrived on the 27/04 /12 about 6 30 pm at the hotel . We were given room 128 so far so good , the heat out side is about 28 C , and the air con in the room does not work . I went to tell them and ask if it can be put on and / or fixed ? I was told maybe , or not until Tuesday, now thats 4 days away , So I ask for another room , that did not go down very well , please let us ty ot fix it first it may take a couple of hours , ok but I am tired and have been on the go all day I want a shower and then relax in a cool room . We did not unpack due to the chance we were being moved. We went to the hotel restaurant for our evening meal placed an order for food and drinks , it did arrive after some time but it was only warm at best on a cold plate.
9 pm the air con started to work cool but just a draught not a blast , ok better than it was . Then as we found out when you have a shower the door leaks and the floor begins to get rather wet , the radio / alarm clock does not work , if you need to use the pc ( its free ) that`s ok if it`s in the hotel . The porter gave me his to use ( Tom ) .No one tells you the restaurant is closed to guests when they have something on , you find that out at the door , no notice saying sorry please use upstairs at reception. First morning breakfast was pretty good , but every day after that the selection got less and less, we even had to ask for salt and pepper. Then a bus party arrived for 1 night only , my god we came down to a banquet in the morning , even a toaster was there . Next day yip some cold meat & cheese spicy sausage runny scrambled egg , warm milk for cereal ( only because it wasn`t chilled ) just left out at room temp , nothing to keep the youghurts cold just room temp. There is a menu in the room tell you what`s on offer , but don`t ask for anything with mushrooms because the price is different , except the fried mushrooms on their own.There is never any change in the menu , and we found that ther is quite alot of it from packets .

This was our first time in Poland and I think our last . for us it is a good value for money holiday all the prices are well below what we are used to in the UK so that`s a plus . I will say we had 3 staff members that were outstanding , Klaudia and Monica in the reception wer top class and Tom the porter a really good guy . We would have left and asked for a refund if it had not been for them. Not a 4* hotel 2* at best they need to pay more attention to what the guests would like rather than locals taking over for 1 night at a time . Oh we could have had chicken drumsticks this morning for breakfast some more left overs from yesterday.!!!!!.Yum Yum . The coldest day was today the rest of the week went between 28c to 36c . You need air con for that.

Room Tip: Just dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank instrucor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
26
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch ,New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The hotel is in Nova Huta which as other reviewers have mentioned is about 30 minutes by train from Krakow centre. Locals were very surprised when I mentioned I was staying in Nova Huta as apparently this is well known as an undesirable residential area. I didn't encounter any problems but I did notice a rougher element present.

The rooms are modern,clean and well appointed. The staff were all very friendly and quite helpful. The double bed is actually two singles pushed together. The problem I encountered was with the drapes which are white so let full light in as soon as day light rises. Its a common mistake of many hotels.

For the price it is good value, the free breakfast included with my rate was a nice bonus. and the free onsite car parking was beneficial. They do charge extra for basement parking which is not stated in their booking information (simply states free parking).

If you can find a good price compared to hotels in the actual Krakow Centre, and you have a car, then stay here. If you can get something similar in price and in the centre, then I would go for that instead myself next time.

The hotel can be a little difficult to find as they have an unusual street numbering system in Krakow so do your homework (googlemaps etc) before you come here.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front of the hotel which had a view. If you stay at the back you will be looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Do not be misled by the hotel name, this hotel is not in the cnetre of Krakow. It is however a clean and good value hotel 30 minutes away on a direct tram line. We got a good deal on bed and breakfast and enjoy using public transport with the locals. The tram is ever 10 minutes and costs about 70 cent. The hotel is near nowa hutte, a great Soviet era housing masterpiece. Worth a wander. The rooms have double height windows and are better than your average hotel. Recommended as long as you do not mind the tram journey. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBestMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

It is a very decent hotel in Krakow's Nowa Huta district. What does it mean? That if you're interested only in the Old Town, King's Castle ans so on - it is too far.
But if you want to know how does "real socialism" in architecture look like, if you want to feel the atmosphere of 50's (20th century, of course) - come and see.
The hotel is typical business hotel - quite big rooms, big beds, decent bathroom and typical gadgets as sewing kit, bath cap and so on. TV, Wi-Fi, brreakfast - nothing special, all in good quality.
The one "failure" of this hotel is that you cannot open windows - there is only a A/C.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hitek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Myself and 4 other friends went to Krakow this summer to mark the end of our University lives. I won't lie, we were there to party and trust me Krakow NEVER sleeps.

We ended up booking the holiday for a long weekend on travel republic and actually ended up here by accident. Be careful as there is 3 hotels in Krakow entitled "Centrum". This hotel is however not in the "centrum" of Krakow but in a cultural suburb.

The location is perfect with a 20 minute tram journey taking you from outside the hotel straight into the town centre. You probably had to pay but little is in English and we were never questioned, so free public transport it was.

As you can imagine, when finding out we were heading to a Hotel we knew nothing about we were a little bit more than apprehensive. However luck must have been on our side as the hotels huge rooms decorated with an incredibly classy and modern feel was a fantastic surprise. With floor to ceiling windows ranging at least 10ft high, electric blinds, plasma televisions and walk in shower the hotel is one of the best i have stayed in. It was immaculate and spotlesss throughout the weekend. It's like the hotel room straight out of the hangover and if you with groups of 4 or more there are double rooms which share a hall with two doors off. Phenomanal for our socialising and pre-drinking.

The staff were some of the nicest i have ever come across. The porter was such a lad, he handed us a map and marked out the best clubs and bars before we headed out into the centre. The receptionists were so sweet and the restaurant which we only used for breakfast even made us something when we were an hour late.

Room service was delicious and arrived on a silver platter. Like everything in Krakow it was cheap as chips. You will be hard pushed to spend over £10 on a three coure meal anywhere even in the heart of the centre.

Myself and the lads would go back tomorrow if we had the chance. This article is mainlty dircted at those who want to party. The rave is life changing and all the underground cave clubs are like something out of a James Bond film. For those worried about security we felt safe throughout the whole visit. If i was to advise one thing, it would be to choose your taxi drivers carefully as they don't have SatNav or in fact know where anything is. Check if they know where they are going otherwise they will drive around for hours racking the meter up.

English is rare so be prepared to embrace Polish languag, do some research beforehand and be sympathetic.

My final piece of information is the most crucial of all, BOYS, i have never seen so many beautiful women. The count is easily 3 to 1 against males and they are all stunning, and i have high standards. They're hard work but it's rewarding. If you have a group of lads on a budget this place is the best on earth. Go in the summer too and it's BOILING 35 degrees when we were there, so you may even top up your tan.

You NEED to visit at least ONCE this lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomtotheSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
1.1 mi away
Orient Hotel
Orient Hotel
#213 of 259 in Krakow
104 reviews
6.2 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#133 of 259 in Krakow
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santorini Hotel
Santorini Hotel
#161 of 259 in Krakow
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Szary Residence
Szary Residence
#101 of 259 in Krakow
48 reviews
6.8 mi away
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
#164 of 259 in Krakow
238 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Swing
Hotel Swing
#103 of 259 in Krakow
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrum

Property: Hotel Centrum
Address: al. Jana Pawla II | os. Centrum E12, Krakow 31-934, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing