We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“city tour with Marta / and saltmines with point travel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krakow Tours by Point Travel DMC

Krakow Tours by Point Travel DMC
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.02*
and up
Half Day Trip to Lagiewniki - Wadowice - Kalwaria Zebrzydowska from Krakow
Ranked #76 of 254 Tours in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: KRAKOW TOURS are operated since 1990 by Point Travel DMC - Polish Touroperator. We offer local tours and excursions in Krakow and its environs - day tours in English all year round by bus with free courtesy collection from hotels in Krakow. Luxury Private tours by car, Krakow Sightseeing, Three Faces of Krakow, Tours for KL Auschwitz and Birkenau, Salt Mine Wieliczka, Holy Father John Paul II , Czestochowa - Black Madonna Shrine, Kazimierz - former Jewish District , National Parks : Zakopane, Dunajec River Gorge, raft trip and many other tours. City Breaks packages in Poland with accommodation, tours and transfers.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“city tour with Marta / and saltmines with point travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Marta gave us 120% of her knowledge,time and energy..We observed other long tour groups around us being rushed through whilst we were able to linger and listen to her excellent knowledge of Krakow and its history. The following day salt mines again a small group which flowed quite easily. We believe money well spent with point travel recommended by Tomasz from 'Greetings from Poland' company (also a great company to deal with on internet)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DotMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    25
    3
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
359 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Krakow Point Tours Salt Mine & Auschwitz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just returned from a week long break in Krakow. We booked two separate day tours a half day at the Salt Mine and full day at Auschwitz which included travel to both.
The Salt Mine tour was very welcomed on a very hot day so helped up stay cool. Overall we were fortunate enough to have a small group size and the tour guide very knowledgeable. The trip was very enjoyable and insightful the only thing I would say was it felt very rushed. You were briskly moved from one point to another and felt the tour could have allowed two half hour stops for individual exploring and regroup at a central point. Felt like we were missing out on some good and interesting areas in the mines. The mines themselves are wow, sculptures, grand rooms, the history itself worth seeing. Our tour guide was a middle aged lady and was accompanied by a Salt Mine guide, older man who doubled up to be a good comedy pair, complimented each other well. The lady had a tendency to repeat herself a bit with certain facts ands by the end if it was indoctrinated with how many visitors to the mine a year, etc. We all had headsets so we could the guide and would recommend she turn her microphone off when walking as we were subject to some heavy breathing for most the tour, lol. Be aware for this tour you need to be reasonable mobile as there are almost 700 steps to go down into the the mine itself, in stages though, the backs of my calves hurt a few days after!! We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel with no issues.
Auschwitz was a very sobering and sombre day on a very ironic hot ands sunny day. Again pick up and drop off from the hotel posed no issues although I would say in both tours they dropped up back some distance from the hotel claiming it was to traffic but saying it was a short walk slightly over exaggerated and we got lost on the way back, we were not the only ones!!
The camps were hugely populated on this particular day with tourists and would have to be honest and say our group was way too big with nearly 30 people. Again we had headsets but felt like we're either pushed at the front or trailing at the end, when at the end of the chain the guide was moving onto the next site point where us at the back had no time so see what she had been talking about and running to catch up, something the tour company need to think about. Again could have done with some time to explore out with the tour, even if only 15-20 mins.
The guide herself was fantatstic ands knowledgable yet putting some emotion into it and very passionate about the history that had taken place and the experience those poor people suffered.
Wont go into the detail too much as you have to see it to believe it - get to see camps, sleeping quarters, prisons, personnel effects and pictures of prisoners which brings it all home.
If you are visiting Krakow you must visit Auschwitz.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evievi123139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had a really good time in Krakow thanks to these guys. Point Travel guides are very helpful and friendly. Krakow is great if you want to see an antique religous places. Salt mine was also very nice. I can recommend this tour operator very much. I bought my tours online on www.krakow-tours.pl

Thanks Point Travel

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“excellent tour company to go with in krakow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

this is our third time with this company and what a excellent company they are we did three trips with them on each trip we had a excellent guide with excellent knowledge of the area we went to.we would definately use them next time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ianharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked two tours, one to Auschwitz and one to the salt mine. The trip to the camps was very good, only three of us so we were able to ask lots of questions, got into conversation with our guide, really enjoyed it. The minibus driver needed to be a little more attentive when trying to drive and sort out the DVD player at the same time. To be honest it wasn't acceptable.
The salt mine the day after was good, however we really weren't impressed to be an English group on a polish speaking tour. Our bus guide translated for us but it was quite clear she got a far more in depth tour than we did, she was constantly discussing the mine in polish with the group guide and then we got a clip note version. Im confident they were discussing the mine as he was talking and gesticulating around him much more than she was. At one point we stopped for a while as he spoke to her and demonstrated something with his torch, she nodded, replied in polish and walked on, while we all just stood there looking on! It was still a good tour despite this which we did enjoy but if you're an English group you should be on the English speaking tour and not relying on an interpreter because they get a better tour than you do!

Helpful?
1 Thank VLFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krakow Tours by Point Travel DMC also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Krakow Tours by Point Travel DMC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing