We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, pity about the jail cell, the noise and the crappy pillows!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pergamin Apartments
Ranked #87 of 446 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Let's start with our arrival, which was promising. The hallway was beautiful, tiles sparkling, chandeliers twinkling. The surly, but efficient receptionist handed me a box of remotes (four to be exact - one for the flat screen tele, one for the freeview box, one for the DVD player, and one for the climate control air conditioning unit) and explained that they should be handed back in when we checked out. Fabulous! Well not exactly, I'll explain in a minute.

We slid down the highly polished hallway to "Apartment 6", opened the dark teak door and crack!! That was the sound of our high expectations shattering to a million pieces on the sparkly tiles. It was a jail cell. I don't know about you, but I think the word "apartment" implies facilities other than just beds and a bathroom. There was no minibar, fridge, wardrobe, kitchenette - nothing that would justify calling it anything other that an ensuite twin room. That established, I shall continue.
Our "twin apartment" was iddly-widdly-teeny-weeny. Two single beds against opposite walls with just about enough room to walk sideways between. The good news was that the room was really nicely decorated and spotless. But I can not stress how small this "apartment" was. There were the two beds, a chest of drawers and two bedside (which were actually at the heads of the bed - no head boards- due to lack of space) stands. The bathroom was also small, but you can live with that.

So we feel a bit cramped and hard done by, but hey look! There's a 32 inch flat screen way up there on the wall and freeview and a dvd player! We'll suffer through, I thought. But on removing all the remotes from the impressive box it was clear - NONE OF IT WORKED. The TV wouldn't turn on. The Free View wouldn't turn on, The Air Conditioner wouldn't turn on - BUT - the DVD player worked. True, that wasn't much use on its own, but one out of four ain't bad. Yeah, Right. When I went back to see surley receptionist she told me that none of it worked and that she would send someone up to look at it for us. Result - we thought.
Anyway, we were right smack bang in the Old Town in Krakow so we didn't annoy ourselves with
the lack of entertainment facilities. Afterall, it was just somewhere to lay our heads after a long day sightseeing and sampling the local delicacys (vodka!). So a good night's sleep was all we were counting on. NO CHANCE. The walls are PAPER THIN and we were woken several times every night when people were returning to their rooms hiccuping and singing (as we did ourselves). Then when everyone was nursing the morning's blossoming hangovers - the cleaning staff started drumming practice. At least I think that's what they were doing. Am almost certain that none of them will ever make a career out of it though. They really weren't very good at it. They must have done a bit of cleaning while they were at it though because the highly polished tiles were always glistening when they had finished band practice.

Surly Receptionist was replaced by Even More Surly Receptionist. Who told us that Original Surly Receptionist should have told us that the TV and freeview hadn't worked in months. So why did she bother trusting us with the box of remotes? Was she daring us to still the batteries and create an international incident? I have my doubts.

So the band practised every morning (no improvement detected), other guests sang, burped and hiccuped into bed every evening and the tele never did get fixed.

Oh and one last thing... the pillows! They were square. I have never seen a square pillow before and by the grace of God I hope I never see another one again.

Room Tip: Avoid Apartment 6!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed in there in march. It is very close to the Market Square, rooms are very quite, staff is very friendly.We have only some issues with tv and radio ( both didn't work). Breakfast is served in the downstairs pub but it`s very good and tasty:) I am Strongly recommending this place

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gryzback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in August and could find no bad points. Staff are really friendly, rooms are clean and really good value for money. Hotel is about 10 mins walk to Rynek Główny and has lots of amenities close by such as shops and tram and bus stops. I would highly recommend staying here and would definately come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fantastic location. Comfortable well equipped rooms. V helpful staff. Would go back

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPUDDDDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Rooms are excellent, clean and well decorated. Staff were really friendly and very accommodating. Excellent location only a few steps away from the main Square. Great staff would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeMark7566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed for 3 days, rooms are spacious, clean and staff on reception spoke good English and were very helpful and friendly. Room was located on the front of the building but be aware that the trams start at about 0500 hrs and the street noise can be a bit loud if the window is open. Good internet connection in the room. Breakfast was excellent value with plenty of choice. Apartments are located about 150 metres from the main square and about a 5 minute walk to the train station. Recommend this hotel for families and friends

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

When we stayed here, there were four of us: two adults and two teenagers. When we first arrived we were told that we had been upgraded to a bigger room so we had two bathrooms instead of one which was great and made it a lot quicker when we were getting ready. The staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived and told us anything that we needed to know about the town. The only thing that they didn't know how to help us with was the WiFi as it didn't work for us at all but that was not a big problem. The rooms are spacious, stylish and very, very clean. We also had enough space to store all of our clothes which was good because we didn't have to live out of our suitcases. This hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk from the main square which is fantastic. Our room was very quiet and we heard no noise from the bars/clubs. We brought earplugs but we did not need them so it must depend on which room you are in. We did have a slight problem trying to get the hot water working but once you know how to do it, it works just fine. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it for big groups who want to stay together.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Pergamin Old Town Apartments
Stare Miasto
Aparthotel Pergamin Hotel
Aparthotel Pergamin Hotel
#77 of 261 in Krakow
387 reviews
Stare Miasto
Rembrandt Aparthotel
Rembrandt Aparthotel
#126 of 261 in Krakow
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venetian House Aparthotel
#16 of 261 in Krakow
949 reviews
Stare Miasto
Pergamin Royal Apartments
Pergamin Royal Apartments
#43 of 446 in Krakow
80 reviews
Stare Miasto
Apartments Rynek Glowny
Apartments Rynek Glowny
#88 of 446 in Krakow
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergamin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergamin Apartments

Address: Ul. Bracka 3/5 | Old Town, Krakow 31-005, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 446 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: $48 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pergamin Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Krakow, just 50 metres from the beautiful Main Market Square, Pergamin Apartments offer stylish, air-conditioned apartments with free Wi-Fi, DVD player, a refrigerator and a minibar.Each of the apartments is decorated with strong colours and modern furnishings. Every apartment is also appointed with private bathroom facilities and satellite TV.Every morning a varied homemade breakfast is served in the comfort of guests' room. Guests can enjoy discounts at the Pergamin's popular bar as well as entrance to its vibrant night club.The hotel's English-speaking staff can arrange tours of the city or arrange airport shuttle. Guests have access to the computer in the main hall or enjoy spending time in the summer garden.The Pergamin Apartments are located just 220 metres from the Planty Park and just a 15-minute walk of the famous Wawel Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pergamin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergamin Apartments Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing