We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Excellent breakfast”
Review of Hotel Unicus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Unicus
Ranked #44 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I was in Krakow for my second time in 4 months and ended up at the Unicus by chance after my son spotted it,
The Unicus is in the best part of Krakow on a side road off the main square,
It is literally only 1 to 2 minutes walk from all the bars and restaurants,
The hotel is spectacular all brand new fixtures and fittings including beds, The bathrooms are so modern and very good quality,
The staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble,
I had a twin room with a 3rd bed put in to make it a triple, although the bed was a put u up it was brand new,
I did find the mattress on the fold out bed a little hard but with in 1 hour of telling staff we had a normal mattress on the bed which was perfect,
The most impressive thing I found was My Mum and Sister were staying at the Sheraton and paid a lot more yet the Unicus was the better hotel, Breakfast included unlike the £30 per person at the sheraton.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    180
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
84
219
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I booked two rooms at the hotel, staying for three nights to explore Krakow. The hotel staff were all very friendly and keen to help whenever they could. The hotel itself was very modern, clean and the rooms were excellent value. The location of the hotel could not have been better. It was only a two minute walk from the main square. In fact we tended to walk everywhere because the hotel seemed central to most things.
Included in the price was a buffet style breakfast and there was enough food there to satisfy my expanding waistline demands. The amount and quality of the food was excellent. If I had to find one small blemish is the hotel does not do a good cup of tea!
At the hotel you could pick up tickets for the main excursions such as Auschwitz and the Salt Mines. However all excursions had to be paid for in cash, the hotel cannot accept credit cards because they are only acting as an agent for the tour firm.
I went on two tours to Auschitz and the Salt Mines. These were not run by the Hotel and were OK. Neither tour really gave much free time (in fact only 15 minutes) and both attractions were really (I would say too busy) to enjoy them properly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SportyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Hotel modern and contemporary, well located just off the main square and only a 10 minute walk from the rail and bus stations. The air conditioning wasn’t working in the first room we were allocated, but we were moved to another without fuss. The room was well decorated, clean and new but quite small. Might get a bit claustrophobic for a longer stay. There was a ‘bar’ in the cellar basement, which was actually just a single row of tables and had no atmosphere (or customers) at all. Breakfast was served in a beautiful series of cellars with high ceilings. Excellent choice of cold meats, cheeses, salmon, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, and so on. Hot food also available, though after the waitress told us this she never re-appeared to take an order!! Wi-Fi available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiMacEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is a very new hotel which is right in the centre of Krakow (60 metres from the main square). The rooms are excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is superb, probably the best meal we had in the four days we were there was our dinner on one night. It exceeded the meal we had in a Michelin star restaurant in the city centre.
We can recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BelfastmickeyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This beautiful hotel was in a perfect location. Walking distance from train station and the main square in Krakow.
Very comfortable rooms with lovely toiletries. Beautiful breakfast in stunning cellar restuarant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickySouthWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the boro
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

great location just off main square, freindly staff, very clean hotel. go on free walking tour 11am outside st marys on main square.also recommend small resteraunt just off the square on street named bracka i think. menu on boar ds outside freindly waiters good food and cheap

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raggylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The hotel offers good value for the cost. It is in a great location - close to the main square and within comfortable walking distance to all sites. If you are a light sleeper, you may be bothered by a bit of street noise at night, but it did not bother me at all. While the hotel has the charm of an older building, it was renovated thoughtfully and has all the valued amenities - modern bathroom, nicey toiletries, powerful AC, fast (and free) internet, comfy beds with quality linens. The standout feature for me was the excellent breakfast featuring made-to-order omelets, crepes, french toast, coffee/capuccinos, smoothies, and a buffet offering a wide variety of items. The staff are friendly and helpful. Recommend the free walking tour at 11am and Jewish district tour at 3pm (meeting point is in front of St. Mary's). The trip to Auschwitz is worthwhile. Also, consider the College Maius tour.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelmke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 259 in Krakow
918 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#77 of 259 in Krakow
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 259 in Krakow
511 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,069 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#52 of 259 in Krakow
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicus

Property: Hotel Unicus
Address: Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unicus 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Unicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing