We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Krakow”
Review of Hotel Unicus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Unicus
Ranked #44 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend in Krakow”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just spent a weekend at the Unicus. The Hotel is very nice and the room was well appointed. The Breakfast was varied and of excellent quality. The staff are very helpful and polite in general.
Unfortunately, on the night of our arrival, we met one who wasnt. We were served by a very rude young lady who made it clear she did not want to be there and virtualy threw a coffee at one of our party, not a very nice welcome!
The biggest asset and problem this Hotel has is its location. Right in the heart of the City, just a few strides from the square but facing 2 clubs, 1 a 'gentlemans Club!!' and the other a rock club. The users of these places spend most of the time, into the early morning, on the street, so they can smoke, with the net result of very loud street noise well into the early hours and as all the bedrooms at the Unicus face the street its a major problem.
If you dont mind your nights sleep disturbed in this way then stay at the Unicus you are right in the centre of Krakow which is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 262Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting our hotel and for your comprehensive opinion. We are very sorry to hear that you found our employee impolite. We put great care to the standard of our hotel service since we are aware that the personnel is the crucial element of our guests comfort and well – being.
Our hotel location in the city centre happens to cause some noises coming from the outside when the windows are open, but at the same time it is ideal according to the biggest tourist and cultural attractions of the city and we hope that this is the asset that soften some inconveniences caused by our neighbours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    180
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
84
219
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Unicus for a single night stay (July 2010). This hotel was selected to celebrate a delayed honeymoon by a few years but it was well worth the wait until we could travel to Poland. The room was extremely posh and the place was immaculately kept. It’s in the heart of Kraków; this was ideal for us as we wanted to explore and walk through the city throughout the day and in the evening after dinner. We enjoyed the amenities – a special and delicious dinner in their restaurant and a relaxing stint in the sauna.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Unicus Hotel to celebrate such an important occasion. It is great to hear that you enjoyed spending time in our hotel and you liked our cuisine. We do hope that we will have pleasure to host you again in our hotel if you ever decide to come back do Krakow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for four nights clean room, comfortable beds, best breakfast we,ve ever had in a hotel. The staff are polite and very helpful.We think the best location in krakow ,so convenient for everything, also a short walk from train station.The nightclub near did not bother us just closed bedroom window and could not hear any noise. Wish we had tried the restaurant for evening meals next time we definately will.We have recommended this lovely hotel to our friends and will return ourselves.

Room Tip: request 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your great opinion. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that we will have pleasure to host you again. We are looking forward to it! Thank you also for the recommendation to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

For the location of this hotel it is, of course, expected that there will be noise from the bars, clubs, restaurants and people enjoying themselves. However, it was the extremely high volume of drum and bass type noise coming from the nearby nightclub that completely spoilt our trip. On Saturday night the noise was non stop until 6.30 a.m. on Sunday morning.

The windows are double glazed in the rooms and are effective at reducing the general noise but the windows were actually vibrating with the nightclub racket and were totally ineffective against the non stop unbearable thudding noise.

As we had another night to stay we spoke to the staff on Sunday morning. They seemed to know about the noise levels being dreadful but didn’t seem to care that we had been unable to sleep and were unable to offer us a quieter room– most likely because there isn’t one. We asked if the nightclub was going to be open again that night – staff didn’t really want to say that it would be and couldn’t tell us what time it would close.

The noise was repeated again on Sunday night at a somewhat lower volume but was turned up to full volume around midnight. The noise stopped around 1.30 a.m. Not good when you have to get up at 5.00 a.m. to get to the airport.

Take your industrial grade ear defenders if you actually would like to sleep in your room between midnight and 6 30 a.m.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilliek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting Unicus Hotel and for your opinion. It is a great shame that you felt inconvenience because of the coming noises. Since our hotel is located in the very heart of Krakow, it is at the same time the most lively part of the city. In such situations, as you stated, if it is possible, we always try to change the room. However, lately we had most rooms occupied and it could have been impossible to do so.
We do hope that this drawback didn’t affect significantly on the perception of our hotel and overall you will have good memories of your visit in Krakow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Central location, lovely big rooms and bathrooms. Nice decor. Would not stay anywhere else in Krakow - perfect. Agreed there is a nightclub across the street but you might want to be in it! We didn't but were not affected by it. Loads of lovely bars and restaurants right on the doorstep, a lovely city and hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your opinion. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed time you have spent with us. We warmly invite you again during your next visit in Krakow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Unicus for two nights during a recent trip to Krakow. The hotel is located in close walking distance to all major old town attractions. The room was quite large, bed extremely comfortable, and bathroom clean. The only complaint we have would be the nightclub across the street has a bright neon sign and the streets below can get loud at night into the early morning hours on the weekend. This requires the curtains be shut to keep out the light and windows closed. However, there is no air conditioner and therefore poor air circulation with the windows closed. This was the only reason we gave it 4 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting our hotel and for such a positive opinion towards our service. It is a great shame that you felt inconvenience because of the noises coming from the nightclub. Since our hotel is located in the city centre, at the same time it is the most lively part of Krakow. All our hotel rooms have air-conditioning controlled manually. It is a pity that you didn’t call our staff so that we could help you to regulate the temperature.
We do hope that this drawback didn’t affect significantly on the comfort of your stay and you will have good memories from the trip to Krakow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Excellent Hotel in a fabulous city!!
Recently stayed for my 40th Birthday and what a treat!! Clean tidy and comfortable rooms and the staff do not stop smiling!!!

Breakfast was excellent with choices to suit every taste.

If you want great value for money then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
At first, a little bit late, we would like to wish you all the best for your Birthday! It is a great honour for us that you chose our hotel to celebrate such an important occasion. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed spending time with us and that the standard of our service reflected your expectations. Please, visit us again if you ever decide to come back to Krakow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 259 in Krakow
919 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#77 of 259 in Krakow
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 259 in Krakow
511 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,069 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#52 of 259 in Krakow
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicus

Property: Hotel Unicus
Address: Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unicus 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Unicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing