We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a lovely location”

AWIW Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #215 of 1,520 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: European, Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kazimierz
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food in a lovely location”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Awiw is situated in Kazimierz, the Jewish Quarter of Krakow. Ul, Szeroka is the heart. Awiw sits outside the childhood home of Helena Reubenstein of cosmetics fame.

The menu is quite extensive offering kosher and gentile food. I enjoyed a huge salmon salad and my wife loved her pork ribs. We laughed about eating pork with an English family who had just ordered kosher French Fries.

The menu also includes some very interesting desserts and cocktails. The temptation was great but we managed to avoid them.

The food prices are very reasonably and the serves are generous. The waiters are very attentive and respond well to the customers. English language was not a problem.

Be careful with the wine. The list is quite extensive but the prices are very high. We spent as much on a bottle of Chardonnay as we did for the entire meal. We will return but will probably stick to beer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    135
    51
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Where's the peach?”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ordered a prosciutto and peach salad. It came with no peach and a tiny bit of ham. We spent 5 mins trying to get the attention of the waiter who took it to the kitchen where they confirmed they didn't have the ingredients but hadn't told our waiter. We didnt stay to try another dish. The fruit juice also came in small portions

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheehanigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
230 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The restaurant serves a mix of Polish and jewish dishes. Very nice outdoor seating at the square and the staff is good and the service is excellent. Ask the staff what to eat if you´re not sure, they will compose a great meal for you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Place for tourists”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice decoration. Food average: all the tourist stuff you can find in krakow and kazimierz. Some Jewish food, inauthentic as usual. Very large and nice terrasse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic pierogi and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This restaurant is located in the atmospheric Jewish district of Krakow called Kazimierz. The place is not owned by Jewish people but there are Jewish foods to try and it caters for those visitors with an interest in things Jewish. I was with some friends who knew the owners so we were treated as special guests but from looking around (the place was full) I saw the owner and his family members were treating everyone as if they were honoured guests! We ordered three plates of different Pierogi and shared them out so we all had a variety. They honestly were the best pierogi I have every had in all my 22 visits to Poland over the past 14 years. Live musicians entertain you (they seem to like playing Havah Nagilah)! we opted for a rather lovely Galilean Cabernet Sauvignon and indulged in some Polish vodka and local beer too. I was too full for desert so cannot comment but other people's looked yummy. Lovely spot for a relaxed meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AWIW Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to AWIW Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing