We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay!”
Review of Kossak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kossak Hotel
Ranked #19 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Three of us stayed at the hotel recently. We had a bright, spacious suite with a wrapround balcony and a view overlooking the castle and river - I would highly recommend that, even though there is some street noise due to being on a busy corner. The hotel is within walking distance to the old town and we found it relaxing to return to a change of scenery, after spending most of our time around the square - we enjoyed the walk back through safe, interesting streets. One note of caution - the streets are not well-lit and there are lots of trees so, if you feel uncomfortable after the sun goes down, you might want to take a taxi. Prior to our stay, we received exceptional assistance and guidance from Paulina and Monika. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Veronique. A young man - sorry I didn't get his name - was on duty regularly and helped us with specifics (like where to find perogie cutters). The staff were consistently pleasant and willing to help in any way possible - providing adapters, extra hangers etc. and always having a smile and friendly greeting. The reason I am giving it a 4 star, not 5, is because of two factors. Firstly, although there is ample space in the suite, there isn't much storage. There is a dark closet - not user-friendly. Instead of three tables, I feel it would be an improvement to have at least one dresser with drawers. The bathroom, too, was spacious, but there was nowhere to put "stuff" so we used the ledge in the bedroom. A more important negative was that we never could really tell if the cleaning staff had been in; that is something that I feel should be addressed immediately - it should be stepped up asap. The breakfast provided was a feast - I can't imagine anyone faulting any aspect of that; it was a great start to the day. There is a kebab stand right outside the hotel - 11z, and delicious; it is always busy with locals as well as tourists. There are many conveniences nearby - market/beer-wine stores/hair salons. Just a note - we went to Wadowice and Zakapone by bus and the prices are extremely reasonable (30 z return to Zakapone); arranging that is not difficult and allows one flexibility; in the morning we took a taxi to the bus station (17z) for convenience but walked back easily at the end of our day. There are many concerts available for reasonable prices. And, we had the best perogies ever!! Krakow is a beautiful city and Hotel Kossak is a great place to stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear "anna320",
Thank you for posting such a positive review of the hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your comments We are always looking to improve the quality of our service so all feedback helps us.
Our entire team is committed to exceed your expectations and your comments about reception staff . I will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to them.
I know that he will appreciate it and be happy to know that he helped to make your stay as wonderful as possible.

I do hope that you all will be able to stay with us again soon.
Best regards
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    373
    51
    15
    14
See reviews for
154
705
46
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

From the outside this hotel does not look very nice, but as soon as you get inn you will notice that this is a great experience from the reception desk all the way to the top floor where you will find the fantastic balcany with a marvelous view. The rooms are nice and so is the service. Especcially I am impressed when it comes to breakfast. You can ask for whatever, and they will fix it (and it is included in the price). I do recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear "Landraak",,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you experienced such good customer service at our hotel.
Our employees strive to offer excellent customer service and it is good to hear when they succeed! We are glad you felt pampered by our breakfast staff and our services offered.

We shall look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Kossak again soon.
Yours Faithfully,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Moved for one night from our original choce hotel - whilst slightly out of the main areas, it is easily walkable to Main Square , Castle etc,. Had a room with a great view over the river, castle etc. Staff friendly, and helpful, Breakfast is very good with lots of choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniebea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear "anniebea",
Thank you for giving a trust to the opinions about Hotel Kossak on tripadvisor.com and for visiting us. We very much appreciate all your kind words about our staff, rooms and breakfast.

We hope that it wasn’t your last visit in Krakow and we will have pleasure to welcome you again. We are looking forward to it!
Best regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

With its convenient location for both the Wawel and the Old Town, plus its enviable and stunning views from the roof terrace, this hotel should be an absolute gem. However, whilst adequate, it is hard to see why it rates its 4 stars; it could be so much better with a just a little thought and attention to detail - after all, details count when paying a not inconsiderable amount for accommodation. The hotel overall seems to be suffering an identity crisis, unsure of what image it is going for - the ground floor "breakfast" restaurant seems to randomly mix folk art, bead draped light fittings, quirky, full-size horse statue with a lampshade on its head - need I go on! More specifically, our double bedroom was small (although our daughters' twin room was better proportioned), dark and dull - not helped by the dark furniture and purple soft furnishings. The towels were thin, the bedding poor quality, TV screen and wall art randomly positioned with no reference to the bed (those pesky details again!). The guest information pack contained more "rules" than useful information - it felt like we were on a school trip! Maybe some guests are inconsiderate but most of us are grown-ups and know how to behave. The hotel was reasonably clean throughout - but did not merit close inspection, with dust building up along stair edges, etc. Breakfasts were OK, with a good selection, although to find that coffee was not included was a little harsh for the caffein dependant. The breakfast staff were not exactly engaged with their guests, nor particularly friendly, although those we met in reception were helpful and polite. Not sure if there was a Concierge - an occasional appearance by a member of staff in the lobby did not count. So - adequate and convenient but slightly disappointing - definitely not living up to 4 star expectations.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room - and were given one overlooking the service courtyard. No traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear "Carol A",
Thank you for choosing Kossak Hotel for your recent visit to Kraków.
Please also be assured that we have taken good note of your comment Your recommendation is highly appreciated and will be highly considered.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have just come back from a wonderful stay at the Hotel Kossak for 3 nights over Easter. The service was faultless, staff friendly, helpful and polite. We had a standard room which was spacious, spotless and had a wonderful view of the river, Wawel Castle and church spires. We ate every night in the rooftop restaurant and the food was exquisite and unbelievably cheap. They have an extremely talented chef and the 7 course taster menus (the four of us tried a different one each) is not only exceptional value but extremely creative. The breakfast was plentiful with a wide variety of cold and hot food available. This hotel is a gem!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear "Christian21",
We were delighted to welcome you to Hotel Kossak. We are very happy that you appreciated our location, accommodation as well as facilities available in the hotel.
On behalf of our team I would like to thank you for your positive opinion regarding our staff and service provided.

Hoping to have the chance of welcoming you again.
With kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Second visit to this hotel. Staff, service, food still top class and at very resonable prices. Love the roof top bar and restaurant. The taster menu was excellent. Views amazing day and night. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear „Matt M”,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay in Hotel Kossak. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We are very pleased that your impression of Hotel Kossak is very positive. Thank you for yours warm words about rooftop restaurant - Oranżeria.

We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you or your friends and relatives back to our hotel in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Kossak for 3 nights over Easter. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we could not fault the service, the staff were extremely polite and could not be more helpful. We had a Superior room, over looking Wawel Castle that was spacious, the bed was amazing, the pillows were nice and soft, and the room was spotless. There were also robes and slippers which was a nice addition.
Breakfast consisted of a hot and cold buffet with a full selection of Western, European and Polish foods which was fabulous. The staff on reception were really helpful, they were happy to book restaurants for us and on the last day when our pre arranged taxi did not arrive, they quickly called a local firm to take us to the airport so that we would not have to pay an extortionate fee to the taxis outside the hotel.
The location is perfect for a 10 minute walk into the market square and the famous Cloth Hall.
All in all a fantastic hotel which I could not fault and would definitely recommend it to others. Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 311 and it was fabulous :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettieSpagettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear „NettieSpagettie”,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with other travellers here on TripAdvisor.
I was reading with pleasure that you sped Easter with us, and have enjoyed your stay.
I am also pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our central location, the cleanness and you think that your room "was spotless".
I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about our breakfast offer as well.
Last but not least we all very much appreciate your kind compliments on our welcoming personnel. It was our greatest pleasure to host you!

Thank you once again for your great review and for recommending Hotel Kossak!
We wish all the best and look forward to welcome you back again!
Yours sincerely,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 259 in Krakow
1,692 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 259 in Krakow
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Stare Miasto
Senacki Hotel
Senacki Hotel
#12 of 259 in Krakow
857 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kossak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kossak Hotel

Property: Kossak Hotel
Address: pl. Juliusza Kossaka 1, Krakow 31-106, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Krakow
#6 Business Hotel in Krakow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#12 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kossak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the wide variety of exclusive hotels or luxury hotels there is one hotel in Krakow that shines brighter than the others. Kossak Hotel located in the center of Krakow - city by many considered to be the most beautiful city in Poland, will definitely meet the requirements of each and every client. Regardless, if you plan to stay in Krakow for the business, cultural or touristic reasons, Kossak hotel would be the best choice for everyone who wants to feel the unique atmosphere of Krakow and who wants to spend time in the comfortable conditions in the hotel that belongs to the heart of the city of Krakow. Poland attracts you? Then why not stay in the beautiful, comfortable, modern boutique hotel in Krakow? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kossak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kossak Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing