We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend City Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kossak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kossak Hotel
Ranked #15 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Weekend City Break”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night weekend break. Can not fault this hotel. Fantastic location, lovely rooms with comfortable bed and a Michelin restaurant on the top floor with scenic views. Perfect. So good I shall return in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1969janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear 1969janine,

Thank you for writing such a thorough review of the hotel and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to hear that you found our rooms to be so perfect and the restaurant to meet your every need.

We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are Krakow. Hopefuly on the summer time!

Best regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    362
    50
    14
    14
See reviews for
146
692
43
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Kossak for three nights on a short trip to Krakow. Took the advice to book a suite at a little extra cost and it was really worth it - spacious, great view and everything you could want, even dressing gowns and slippers. Friendly, helpful staff throughout the hotel.
Breakfast choice was as good as any I have experienced in an hotel. We also ate in the 7th floor restaurant and enjoyed the 7 course tasting menu. The only disappointment was that the advertised 10% discount if charging the meal to your room number, which we did, was not applied to our bill. Unfortunately I only realised this as I made my way back to the airport. Talking of the airport, we were glad to make use of the speedy taxi transfers organised by Hotel Kossak.
We'd certainly recommend Krakow as a city to visit and be happy to return to Hotel Kossak.

Room Tip: The little extra cost for a suite is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMRMMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear JMRMMR,

Thank you for your kind words which are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We were delighted to read you enjoyed the location of our hotel and also our amenities especially two restaurants. It was great to hear that you found our suite to be so perfect .
Please note that if you have paid your restaurant bills directly on the front desk they are always discounted (mentioned 10%). If you are paying in the Restaurant bill is not discounted.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from Krakow having spent 6 days there. Hotel Kossak is a smashing hotel close to the Main Square, reasonably close to train/coach stations and the main Shopping Centre. The staff were so polite and helpful, providing maps of the area and offering to call taxis when required. The rooms were spotless and so warm, which was most welcome when returning from day trips in -9 degrees. TV, radio, tea/coffee making facilities, and a mini bar were standard in all rooms. The view of Wawel Castle from the window was lovely especially since the area was covered in snow. It was excellent value for money and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody travelling to Krakow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle. Smokers be warned there are only 3 smoking rooms so book e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear BigPauly,

I am delighted to hear that you were so impressed by the hotel. Our central location is very advantageous to our guests both for those travelling on business or leisure. With Main Square moments away and Wawel Castel within walking distance we are able to accommodate a variety of visitors. We appreciate your kind words regarding our rooms with amazing views I was extremely pleased to read that you considered us to be an excellent destination choice for a stay!

TIP: Please remeber that smoking rooms are avaiable only on request. If you contact us before arrival it increases the chance of getting it :)!

We are looking forward to your return, please come back soon.

Best regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I arrived at this hotel at 10.30am, early, but we delighted in the fact our room was indeed ready to check into. Our room was 511, we asked for a quiet room and it was. It also had a superb view of the castle and the river. The bed was huge, very comfortable, the room spotlessly clean, well equiped, a mini bar complete with drinks and chocolate based sweets. A pack containing slippers, dressing gown etc was available for each guest.We ate in the hotel roof top restaurant twice, the view was fabulous, the food excellent, what made our meals so enjoyable was our waitress, always smiling very polite and eager to please. The hotel staff really made our stay at the hotel so pleasurable, so friendly, polite and curteous at all times.
The only bad point was the breakfast, the food was cold at best luke warm, however this did not detract from our high opinion of this hotel and its wonderfull staff. When I return to Poland this Hotel will be my choice of places to stay. Yes the staff really are that good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a good view, you wont be dissapointed the higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2frogslegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent service, great room with excellent view and superb restaurant. Had an romantic dinner with the wife - orange infused tomato and carrot soup, excellent - Chicken breast, one of the best I have eaten and superb view to the river and castle.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a view of the castle and river, not much noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aslaktro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear aslaktro,


Thank you for your wonderful review of Kossak. I am so glad we were able to make you feel so welcome and comfortable.

We were delighted to read such a gleaming report of our service and facilities . Our rooms are amazing and never fail to amaze our guests who book it. It is fantastic to be able to share with the team such great comments.

I am happy that you spent lovely time in our Restaurant with your wife. I will pass your fantastic remarks about meals to the proper workmates.

As always we are on hand literally 24/7 to respond and react to feedback from our Guests and we wait anxiously to learn of ideas or suggestions which may further enhance the Kossak experience.

Best wishes, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just back from a lovely break in Krakow stayed in Kossak Hotel and we couldn't recomend it enough Outstanding hotel with very friendly pleasant helpful staff View towards castle and river exceptional easy access by public transport from airport and to salt mines etc staff will help you with bus numbers and routes if you have any difficulty. Room warm comfortable and clean kept to a very high standard by friendly maids. Top quality breakfast lots of it, food in Michelin guide restaurant absolutely lovely.Easy walking distance to the main tourist sites No matter how hard I would try I could not find anything negative to say about my stay and experience here If you haven't been to Poland I recomend you go and stay here ther are great offers on the hotels web site Ryanair fly from Dublin and when you get there you need very little money things are not expensive.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor and the views were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Colin B,

Thank you so much for the time and energy you spent to share this information about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy you stayed with us and were pleased with the accommodations and the service you received. We are reminded every day that our guests have numerous options in the Kossak Hotel area and we appreciate your recommendations.We are so glad to read that you also enjoyed your meals in our beautiful restaurant and found it delicious and value for money.

The hotel does indeed benefit from a fantastic location as it is in walking distance to Main Square, Jewish District and also Wawel Royal Castle.

Please consider this a warm welcome to return again.

Best regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Love this hotel. Have stayed here 2 years running to visit the Christmas market in the Old Square & the location is ideal! Easy to walk to most of the popular areas (the Square, castle, Jewish quarter, Schindler's factory are all within reasonable walking distance). Both stays we've had great rooms with views towards the river and castle. If you have a room at the back of the hotel the view would not be so pretty as they look down on the delivery yard. Everything is modern and clean and the beds are very comfy. Buffet breakfast is delicious, lots of choice and variety. The mini bar in the room is the cheapest I've known in a hotel. We had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was excellent & not too pricey. The bar food and cocktails are good too! Staff are friendly and helpful. Can't fault this hotel and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have the best views. It's pretty dull at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Andrew C,

Thank you very much for the glowing review of Kossak Hotel - what a compliment it is to be recommended as such valuable Hotel. I greatly enjoyed reading that you found Kossak Hotel to be "great" one. I would like to also thank you for your loyalty
I am delighted to read that stay was perfect in every moment. The team takes great pride in connecting with our guests in creating memorable experiences.Thank you for kind words about them- I will pass it with pleasure.Everytime we get reviews like yours it makes us more proud and pushes us to continue to provide the best customer service.

I am very glad to hear you were able to enjoy Kossak Hotel also and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
1,624 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Galaxy
#31 of 256 in Krakow
1,272 reviews
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#32 of 256 in Krakow
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kossak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kossak Hotel

Property: Kossak Hotel
Address: pl. Juliusza Kossaka 1, Krakow 31-106, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Krakow
#6 Business Hotel in Krakow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#10 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kossak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the wide variety of exclusive hotels or luxury hotels there is one hotel in Krakow that shines brighter than the others. Kossak Hotel located in the center of Krakow - city by many considered to be the most beautiful city in Poland, will definitely meet the requirements of each and every client. Regardless, if you plan to stay in Krakow for the business, cultural or touristic reasons, Kossak hotel would be the best choice for everyone who wants to feel the unique atmosphere of Krakow and who wants to spend time in the comfortable conditions in the hotel that belongs to the heart of the city of Krakow. Poland attracts you? Then why not stay in the beautiful, comfortable, modern boutique hotel in Krakow? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kossak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kossak Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing