We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old City Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Krakow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old City Apartments
Ranked #67 of 403 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great location for the railway station and city centre, 8th trip to Krakow and this property was ideal,

On the upside:
1. Spacious apartment with a 4 poster bed
2. Secure
3. Balcony, useful if you smoke.

On the downside
1. Could do with a bit of maintance TLC

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samlamlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    81
    39
    23
    37
See reviews for
79
85
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went for a long weekend with friends and booked the Lux 2 apartment.

We prebooked on the internet and prepaid for private transfers. Our driver was waiting at the airport for us and drove us (around 30 mins) into town to the Old City Apartments office where we picked up the keys. We were also give maps and guide books. The driver then drove us as close as he could to the apartment which is right on the main square (vehicular access is limited for most of the day). The driver and staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke English.

We had to walk a few hundred yards and then up 3 flights of stairs with our luggage. We were already aware of this and for us it was not a problem.

The apartment has 2 double rooms - one with 2 double beds and one with a double and single bed. There is also a sofa bed in the lounge. There are 2 separate bathrooms (one with bath and shower over, one with shower cubicle) - both have loos.

The apartment looks directly onto the square and there are good bars, restaurants , shops etc all around. The problem is the noise on Saturday night. There were football fans / revellers of some sort letting off flares and fireworks (?) and singing and lots of music coming up from the bars. I guess it's the price you pay for being right on top of the action! On Sunday and subsequent nights there was little or no disturbance.

When we arrived the heating in the apartment was stifling. There are 2 large ceramic heaters of some sort, that were red hot with no way of turning them down / off. When we were exploring round town we popped into the office and asked for them to be turned off. I believe this was done straight away, but it took over 12 hours for them to cool so we had to sleep with the windows open - hence too much noise from the square!

In the morning there was no hot water. The boiler was flashing a fault. We tried to reset it, but managed without hot water and called the office to get it fixed. We went out to the salt mines (well worth a visit) and when we got back it was sorted.

The kitchen is well equipped but we ate out all the time because the food options are so good, and so local. Try Wesele next door , Mandorla nearby and Starka in the Jewish quarter.

On departure we walked to the office, as previously arranged, (they did offer to pick us up closer, but we were fine with it) and handed in our keys. The driver was waiting to take us to the airport.

We would stay in Old City Apartments again, and on the main square (with the windows closed on a Saturday night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Have just spent one week in Golden Apartment 9 with view out to the Florian Gate and a small park. Snowed most of the time but the apartment was warm and the snow, especially at night, with all the lights looked wonderful. We were very comfortable, excellent wifi and well equiped for a stay of this time.

It was very central and we walked everywhere. The staff were at all times so helpful - we could'nt fault them. They arranged transport from the airport (70 plz) each way and always anwered emails before we arrived by return.

Krakow is a beautiful city and I would recommend a city break there and would love to return one day. Going in midwinter has many advantages as all the sights are not crowded and restaurants easy to get into. We enjoyed the one virtually next door to our apartment. Staff lovely, very Polish food and not expensive.

Room Tip: Suggest one contacts the Old City Apartments office by email with any questions you may have before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer4243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Huge apartment located on corner of the main square. Apartments are quite old fashioned in beautiful historical buildings and this really adds to the charm.
Let me just say KRAKOW IS AMAZING!
It's got everything, the most fantastic architecture all around the city, beautiful romantic restaurants and bars by the bucketload.
If you start in the square it doesn't matter which way you walk you will always find something interesting.
Auschwitz and Birkenau is a must, we asked the apartment managers to arrange transport and it was the best thing we could have done. VIP Tours collected us in a Mercedes minibus and stayed with us all day, arranging entry to the sights, obtaining discounts on the tickets, organising lunch at the Salt mines. All in all a great choice for cramming in everything you want to see and do in a weekend. Piotr our driver was perfectly polite and patient the whole time.
When we return, which is a must, we will arrange it all again with Old City Apartments.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ace8366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've just returned from a long weekend in Krakow with my brother, where we stayed in Golden Apartment 7, one of the many Old City Apartments in Krakow Old Town.

The first thing I'm going to say is quite why anyone would pay to stay in a single hotel room when you can have a large apartment as we did, and all for just £135 (total) for three nights, is beyond me.

The pluses/highlights were as follows:

* CONVENIENCE - the apartment is located at the top end of Ul Szpitalna, next to the Florianska Gate, and around 5 mins walking distance from the main Krakow Glowny Railway Station. The 'Old City' office is on the ground floor next to the apartments, so check-in and out is a breeze. Location is within the city walls part of the Old Town, so uber-convenient for when exploring the lovely Old Town part of the city, as well as further afield.

* AMENITIES - the building housing the Golden Apartments has been recently refurbished, so everything feels pretty much brand new, light and airy, and relatively minimalist in design. The apartment consists of a main living area, containing two sofas, satellite TV, with adjacent kitchenette area. There are two seperate bedrooms, each containing a comfortable double bed (or two singles) as required, each having a bottom sheet and light duvet. The bathroom has a toilet, washbasin and shower cubicle (no bath tub).

My guess is that most people staying in apartments in the city would not be self-catering - why would you when there are so many fabulous restaurants on the door-step - but there is a fridge, cooker, microwave, washing machine, kettle, crockery and cutlety, and basic provisions to get by for those who need them.

* SECURE - Golden Apartment 7 is on the 4th floor of a relatively modern apartment block and behind the street-facing part of the building. It is accessed via three doors and a lift, so easy to get to, relatively quiet and very secure. Aparently there is a security guard there 24/7, but we only saw him when we popped back to the apartment during the day. The front door to the apartment has two seperate locking systems. In terms of overall security, the slight downside is there is no view to speak of, other than a small courtyard below and the remainder of the apartment building.

* CLEAN - the apartment wasn't serviced while we were there, but it was spotlessly clean when we arrived.

We thought the apartment was great and had no problems or complaints during our stay. Our only slight observation was that the apartment didn't feel overly warm which could have been an issue as it was extremely cold outside, and this despite us turning the radiators up to maximum. We raised this with the office downstairs when we checked out and they said they would look into it.

All in all then, a fabulous base to explore the sights of Krakow and would we would both wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldGold&Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the apartment Florianska Penthouse delux in beginning of January. We found the apartment in perfect condition, clean and very good standard. The apartment is located in best location for visiting Old Town. We recommend for large families or groups of friends as in the apartment very spacious, consist of 5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and spacious living area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed at the above apartment for 4 nights just prior to christmas,found it to be as advertised modern and clean this apartment is situated approx 5 mins from the main square and in the opposite direction 5 mins from the bus/railway station .approx 30 meters from the apartment block entrance is a small supermarket whose staff are very helpfull ideal for your provisions,immediately opposite is a beautifull theatre whose name i cannot remember.super location.the apartments agents office is virtually next to the entrance of the apartment block

would we stay at the apartment again you bet in fact thinking of going over for new years eve 2013.

if i had to be nit picking i would suggest placing a micro wave and toaster in the apartment

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trueblew9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Old Town Apartments
Old Town Apartments
#58 of 403 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Stare Miasto
The Spiski Palace by ApartmentsApart
Stare Miasto
Antique Apartments Plac Szczepanski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B La Fontaine
#21 of 125 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Stare Miasto
Tango House Bed & Breakfast
Stare Miasto
Flamingo Hostel
Flamingo Hostel
#53 of 403 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old City Apartments

Property: Old City Apartments
Address: ul. Szczepanska 1, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 403 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old City Apartments Krakow, the most attractive located Apartments in Krakow, we offer accommodation in Krakow, guest rooms, apartments for rent in real Old City in Krakow. Old City Apartments offers apartments both for tourists and people on business. All apartments consist of at least one bedroom, bathroom and kitchen or kitchenette. Enjoy stay in amazing Krakow Old City! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old City Apartments Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing