We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeking out”

Plaszow Concentration Camp
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.20*
and up
World War II in Krakow Private Tour
Ranked #61 of 297 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Originally a forced labor camp, this concentration camp was built on the grounds of two former Jewish cemeteries in the summer of 1942 during the Nazi occupation of Poland.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went here before visting the Schindler Factory museum and the Eagle Under the Pharmacy Museum (both 'must see's' for anyone interested in 20th century history). So glad we did. The best way to get there is to get a tram to Dworcowa tram stop, then head up the hill to your right as you get off the tram, until you get to ul. Jerozolimska. You can enter the site next to a grey building which was used as a prison and torture chamber by the SS during the camp’s existence. There is a full explanation of how to find the small number of important sites to view at the following website: http://www.inyourpocket.com/poland/krakow/sightseeing/Plaszow - the 'Memorial of Torn-Out Hearts’ is worth going for on it's own but we spent an hour exploring. When we later visited the Schindler and Eagle Pharmacy Museums we saw photos of what it looked like as a functioning concentration camp and it was a little chilling to compare that to the lush greenery that exists there now. When you reach the Memorial of Torn Out Hearts statue, if you want to head back to central Krakow then walk down the hill to the busy main road and turn right when you hit the pavement - there is a bus stop about 500 metres down the road.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank retropalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    48
    29
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Geoth's Villa”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Easy to find if you have the address. ul. Heltmana 22. I took a cab from the center of Krakow, got the driver to wait, had a look round and got the cab back. It cost me about £15. It was worth every penny. The place now is almost derelict but some students are running a project in it so access is possible. Sadly though you are not allowed onto the balcony. I found this place very harrowing. I think because I had a good background knowledge of this place and also because it is run down and now in the middle of a residential area that the experience got to me. If you study this subject matter then a visit to this place is a must.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank micytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A place for quiet contemplation.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spurred on by a recent viewing of Schindler's List we walked the couple of miles to the camp after visiting Schindler's factory and the pharmacy in Heroes Square. It has been mentioned in other reviews that there is not much to see to here. There are a few memorials, the villa used by the SS and the villa used by the camp commandant Amon Goeth. There is a strange stillness about the place which hides the undoubted acts of brutality that happened here and in my view is worth a visit keven if just to spare a quiet moment to think of those that didn't return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank footster1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“please do go!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

i read the reviews on here whilst having visited the other local camps the day before and wasnt sure if to go.

However i bit the bullet and went. so glad i did.

the boys went to a shooting range so it was just me and my mother who got a taxi from the square with a taxi man we had used the day before.

he showed us the house amon G used with the balcony which no you could not see or get too. Yeah as people say the house in in ruins and forsale but its just seeing where it was and thinking for the horrors that took place there and in the cellar. I dont blame people for not wanting to buy it.

As you go to plaszow going up the hill knowing the hill to be the place many people was shot is crazy. and if you walk you get to see more monuments.

yeah the land is only sign posted to be plaszow and has odd monuments but its deffo worth a visit. it was only 80 zlty and that included the wait of about an hour whilst we walked around. Thats less then 20£

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank steph_ryan_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, UK
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Not much left”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Not really very much left here to see, the dark history of this place seems to be deleted but is very much not forgotten

Helpful?
4 Thank alan_meyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaszow Concentration Camp also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Plaszow Concentration Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing