We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Hostel Faust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Faust
Ranked #194 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Hostel Faust early December. The price of the hotel was really cheap and the room was great. The location of the hostel is probably the best feature. There is a bar right opposite the hostel with drink as low as 20p!!!! There is also nightclubs within 100 yards. Would definitely recommend this place and will come back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Chompenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
2
16
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hostel is extremely close to the "movida" of Cracow and to the main square so it is suitable for young people who want to have fun. There is a bar in the basement where you can get a discount for your drinks. The rooms are comfortable (we had a double room with shared bathroom) without any towels, soap or breakfast. The prices are really good for the summer season too but the breakfast is too expensive for the food they give. I would suggest the managers of this hostel not accepting families with children because it is a place for people who want to party! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueKay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Thank God I read bad comments about this place only after I stayed over there. Perhaps they solved their problems, but i had no bad experience except that it was a little too noisy in the yard early in the morning for a short moment. And walls there are too thin so if you're staying whole day and night in your room and you had bad luck with noisy neighbors that might be disturbing.

Anyway, I was amazed how cheap this hostel is (app. 15 Euros for a double room per night) knowing the fact that it is just in the heart of town. Rooms and showers were really clean and in great condition, no bad smell or so (except at the staircase where they used too much of some cleaning material). Staff was really friendly and helpful though distracted and had average English skills.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomchius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for three nights. Checking into the hostel was a hassle - although I had given my credit card number I had to pay again and there was administrative confusion. You have to leave a deposit for the towels which they will try to forget to return. The hostel is right next to a party area of Krakow and is popular among young people who come to town to party. It plays terrible dance music from a loud speaker into the surrounding area all night - which means if you want to keep your windows open you will be listening to this, along with noise from drunk partying people. The hostel has shared bathrooms among two or more rooms. In our bathroom the water leaked from the shower onto the floor, there was no floor mat to soak it up, so everyone walked in the puddles and by the morning it was a soggy dirty muddy mess. The first night the electricity went out and it was impossible to fix because the person on staff during the evenings and nights has no access to the fuses nor had any intention of contacting anyone who can fix the situation. When I asked about being reimbursed for that night the manager said that isn't something they do, and it wasn't their fault anyway. The second night very loud teenagers lived next to us who screamed in the hallways, took up the bathroom half the night putting on make up to go party, and left their underwear, beer cans, and dirt all over the space. The third night a whole battalion of kids moved into the hostel - they took over all the empty rooms, and must have had five people in that one room next to ours. They were extremely disrespectful, and while I was showering were knocking on the door yelling - why are you taking up our bathroom. And then said nasty things about us outside our door in broken English (though we never had any interaction with them directly prior to this, other than being in the bathroom when they wanted to use it). And of course made tons of noise. So, unless you are a 17 year old who would like to party it up to junky dance music and get sloshed on gallons of beer, and who doesn't care about quality or cleanliness, this may not be the establishment for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Irina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Krakow hotels

pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at Faust with my wife in a private room a few months ago. At first everything seemed fine and the front desk was fairly friendly and helpful. We checked into our room and when we went to bed, I noticed that there seemed like there was too much space between the lock and the door frame and it looked like some of the wood had been shaved away. In hindsight that should have been a clue, but we were having a great time in Krakow and at the time we were little careless. We were also in the room with our things so we were not as concerned.

That night someone entered the room while we were sleeping. They did it without forcing the lock open. Our passport, wallet, laptop and iPad among other things were stolen. Needless to say it was a pain in the a$$. At the time I didn't entirely blame Faust because we should have been more careful with the lock and we always leave our bags in front of the door now (in private rooms) so that no one can come in without us being aware.

However, the strange part of the whole story is that Faust has about 9 surveillance cameras. One of the cameras is trained on the stairway leading to the room. We were robbed within a 6 hour window and reviewing the surveillance video for whomever came down the stairs with our stuff including my wife's big white bag should have been easy. If no one came down, then our stuff had to be with someone in the hotel. My feeling was that our things were stolen by someone familiar with the hotel, otherwise how would they have known that our room had a weak lock and that we were staying there (other rooms on our floor were unoccupied), therefore the security tape would lead to us getting our stuff back.

The police came and asked for the surveillance videos, but the hostel workers said they did not have the keys to it and had to wait for the boss to come in from out of town (he was gone for the next two days). However, they never turned the tapes over (the police didn't push them for it, they are worthless). When I follow-up with the hostel they "apologized", that the surveillance cameras had recorded over the night in question before they could turn over the tapes. I was told at the time that it records a week's worth of surveillance, so clearly something strange happened.

I wish I could give zero stars. I won't say we were robbed by the hostel itself because I can't prove it, but feel free to make your own conclusions. Stay here at your own risk!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank THEW0RLDAR0UNDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed in the Hostel Faust for 2 nights with a group of friends on a stag do. Rooms basic with just beds and a couple of wardrobes but rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Only one bathroom on each corridor meant a bit of a queue but the shower was good. Hostel is in a great location just off the main square and around 10 mins walk from the train station. The jazz club undrneath the hostel is also a great place to get a drink. Overall a great place and very reasonable at £12 per night with the option of breakfast aswell for another £2.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank step1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was a bit worried about booking this place. It is right in the city centre very close to the amazingly stunning main square, and it's only £12 a night. That means that there has to be something wrong with it right......wrong.

It's a hostel just of a side street in a little courtyard. It has it's own little underground bar which is lovely. It is walking distance from all of the main central locations. The showers aren't fantastic but never the less they do work. The whole place is clean and tidy. The beds come with clean bedding so no need to bring your own and you do get a clean towel as well, although it is miniature.

If you're worried about privacy then you might feel a bit uncomfortable because the bathroom has a frosted glass window which can give away more than you'd like.

All in all we had a great stay here. Good value for money, which could have been much much worse.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank filthymanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Dom Turystyczny Indigo
#217 of 259 in Krakow
16 reviews
Hostel Amber
#210 of 259 in Krakow
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#73 of 259 in Krakow
405 reviews
Kleparz
Ibis Budget Krakow Stare Miasto
Kazimierz
Good Bye Lenin - Pub & Garden Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Faust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Faust

Property: Hostel Faust
Address: ul. Szewska 21, Krakow 31-009, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are welcome to Hostel "Faust". Unique place to chill out and meet fellow travellers. We are located in the most magical area of Kraków. Hostel Faust is superbly located just a few steps from the Market Square - about 100m!!! Anyone looking for a little pleasure, relaxation and comfort at a reasonable price should visit us! Our receptionists will do their best to make your stay with us as enjoyable and fun as possible.Hostel "Faust" offers wide range of room types from single rooms to nine-beds dorms. We offer 5 studio with 10 rooms. Each studio has: 2 rooms, one modern bathrooms and one equipped kitchen.Our services includes: coffee and tea anytime, bed linen, blankets and pillow, maps and tourist info, security and of course free Wi-Fi Internet.The bathrooms and toilets have hight standard like in a hotel. You can prepare your own meals in the well-equipped kitchen throughout the day. Because , in our rooms you'll find kitchen-anex with fridge, cooker, tea-cups, plates, kettle. We also have one lounge area where you can relax or just chat with the other guests. In common room you can meet other travellers, surf the Internet with free WI-FI and relax after a busy day of sightseeing. Make sure you ask the friendly and helpful staff for advice - their tips will help you make the most of this beautiful city. Don't hesitate to ask them anything :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Faust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing