We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
243
128
15
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
128
15
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wawel castle the main square old town sitting area no air con min walk small hotel lovely little hotel city hotel packed lunch clean bathroom reception staff were very helpful quiet area rooms are big excellent hotel the hotel staff breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 388 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had a lovely 5 day visit to Krakow mid-March and stayed in the Benefis Hotel – what a wonderful find! It’s a small hotel in a residential area with only 20 rooms but they are very spacious. We had a double room (comfortable bed – no problems sleeping!) on the 4th floor with a balcony overlooking Wawel Hill. It also had a sofa bed & coffee table and wireless Internet access so we were able to sit and relax and check out TripAdvisor for restaurants etc. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but the staff will organise this for you at any time and there was complimentary bottled water each day.
The bathroom was very clean - good powerful shower (no bath – of no importance to us) with complimentary shampoo & shower gel and towels were replaced daily.
The staff were absolutely lovely - very welcoming and helpful and they all spoke excellent English which was probably just as well as they didn’t have to listen to my murderous attempts at 1 or 2 very basic Polish phrases! We had emailed the hotel before we arrived and Magdalena had organised trips to Auschwitz and the Salt Mine in Wieliczka for us. On arrival we received our itineraries and a map of the local area.
Breakfast included a selection of fruit juice, cereal, breads, cheese, cooked meats, salad and boiled eggs and was always plenty of choice as it was regularly replenished.
From previous reviews on TripAdvisor, we knew that the Benefis was about 10 minutes from the main square which was no problem for us, especially as the unexpected good weather made for a very pleasant stroll along the Banks of the Vistula and around Wawel Hill.
Krakow is well worth a visit and the Benefis is an excellent place to stay – we would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 43 had a balcony and a good view of Wawel Hill
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Krakow and would fully recommend the Benefis Hotel for anybody looking for affordable accommodation. Situated around the corner from the Vistula river and with some room views overlooking at the Wawel Castle we found our stay most welcoming.
The rooms were very clean and spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable and rooms were cleaned daily. The reception staff were extremely helpful in recommending places to eat and drink as well as showing a genuine interest in what activities you had planned.

The location was great for us, I would suggest that people with walking difficulties this would not be an ideal hotel as the walk to the main square is approximately 10 minutes although a taxi is between 15 - 20 zlotty which is only £4 sterling. The walk to the centre is pleasant enough the underground subway is completely safe and we never felt uncomfortable.

The breakfasts were good, not great but if all else failed there was toast with eggs or beans if you didn't like the meats etc.
Overall - a great stay for a budget hotel and comes fully recommended.
Advice - When booking request a view of the castle so you are not just overlooking a street.

Room Tip: Request a view of the castle
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99h23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Spacious, comfortable and warm (despite the temperature outside). The rooms had everything we needed. Hairdryers available on request for the duration of our stay, towels changed every day, plenty of hanging space for clothes and even a complimentary copy of "Krakow in your pocket" which is the perfect (and very honest) guide to Krakow, telling you where to visit and what to expect, where to eat and what to try, and how to get around safely.

The staff were very helpful and spoke very good English. They helped us arrange our day trips and tours and even typed us out an itinerary telling us what we had planned, where we would be picked up, what time and how much it would cost. The bar staff recommended various Polish cocktails for us to try, all of which were lovely. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, with lots to choose from, both hot and cold.

The hotel is a short but pleasant walk into town, but make sure you use the underpass and designated crossings as you can get an on the spot fine if caught jaywalking.

I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay that the benefis hotel and I cannot fault this hotel at all. we arrived at the hotel a couple hours before check in time but the room was ready and we were able to check in. We had a twin room on the second floor which was massive and spotless. There was a couch, coffee table with complimentary bottle of water each day, desk, phone and tv. There was a nice little balcony where we could see the top of wawel castle. The bathroom was also huge and spotless with fresh towels every day. The breakfast was fab with a large selection of breads, cheeses, fruit, meat, sausages, cereals, eggs, tea and coffee and herbal teas. The reception staff where very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. We asked the receptionist about booking a tour which she happily arranged for us. The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk to the city centre but this wasn’t a problem at all and theres a very nice view of the castle from that side of the river.

Krakow is a beautiful city and will definitely stay at this hotel again when I return 

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Good value hotel with large rooms and excellent breakfast.Our room overlooked Wawel Castle and had all we needed. Staff extremely helpful before we arrived (by email), and during our stay, assisting in recommending and organising trips and confirming transfer arrangements.(My Polish is nowhere near as good as their English, very useful). We knew the hotel was away from the centre but this was not a problem as it was virtually on the river and a relaxing walk to the castle, city centre and Kazimierz, so in that regard, fairly central to the main places to visit in Krakow. If we were to go back, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook Wawel castle
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhickerLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews