We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, simple apartment (Vanilla)”
Review of ApartmentsApart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ApartmentsApart
Ranked #99 of 444 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned from the Vanilla Apartment in Krakow where I stayed with my girlfriend for 4 nights. We have used Apartments Apart several times in various cities and really can't fault them, their service is always fantastic.

The apartment is clean and simple with good heating and an air conditioning unit for the colder months that you might find in Poland. The biggest selling point is the location which is just a couple of minutes walk from the main square but also set back far enough from the main street on its own cobbled alley way to be quiet most of the time.

There were a few things that may bother other visitors though. The WiFi stays connected but the connection to the internet frequently drops, usually this is just for a few minutes but at one point it went off for 24 hours, however this was resolved quickly by calling Apartments Apart and went back to its intermittent functionality. If you were planning to work from the apartment as I was for part of our trip this will probably cause you problems but if you are just using it to find activities, maps etc then it ought to be sufficient.

As mentioned before, the apartment was in the main very quiet considering how conveniently close to the main square it was however, every morning at 5am there are about 7 bins right outside the building which are emptied and whoever empties them couldn't make more noise if they tried so if you're the kind of person that can't get back to sleep after being woken up then expect to be awake pretty earlier every morning.
The only other noise problem we got was locals singing and shouting at about 3am on the street below on the first Saturday night and the Friday night, there is a bar below the apartment and I assume this was their closing time at the weekend.

Would certainly stay again but would probably try one of the other properties as I can't fault Apartments Apart's consistent impeccable service and the only problems here were outside of the company's control.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e111s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna K, Manager at ApartmentsApart, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review of Vanilla apartment. I am happy to read that your experience was great in general and that you trust our company. It means a lot for us. As for the negative points you mentioned, I would like to inform you that last weekend our technician improved the internet quality by replacing the internet devices to the new and better ones. I do hope that this will help to use the wifi in the building without any problems. As for the garbage vehicles which collect garbage every day, it is totally out of our control as these kinds of services are done in the the whole city of Krakow in early mornings (5-7 am).
Please remember that you are very welcome in our apartments in future, You can contact me directly and I will assist you in choosing the perfect apartment exactly according to your needs.

Kind Regards,
Joanna Kobylecka
Krakow Department Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for ApartmentsApart
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just booked an apartment in Krakow for 2014 and, although we have not yet stayed there, I did want to comment on the booking experience. Often when we have traveled, we have found it difficult to book lodging due to the lack of communication from the hotel or apartment owner. ApartmentsApart does it right. The website has full descriptions of all the available units, with features (or lack thereof) clearly stated. Rates, cancellation policy, customer comments, etc. are all there. Booking is easy, online or by phone. Confirmation is quick and clear. We hope that our experience staying there will be as favorable as our current impression. (We will update our review then.)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank wompbomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I booked a two bedroom apartment for five days at ApartmentsApart in Krakow...The location is excellent, the security appears to be reasonably effective and the apartment that I checked into ('I Am Legend') was altogether spacious and clean.

There were a number of negatives however, that sadly let this place down quite badly...The general state of the entrance was very poor; a bank of dirty bins was arranged around a large derelict courtyard and there were construction works going on in the building next door which was under scaffold. The actual apartment building (located on a side street) is not numbered so is difficult to locate, there is no elevator in the building and the light sensor in the communal stairwell didn't work very well, which involved walking up and down two flights of stairs in partial darkness when returning back in the evenings.

The fixtures, fittings and furnishings in the apartment were all of a very good standard, however the decor was really quite tired; the white walls were covered in scuffs, stains and squashed insects. There were no wardrobes in the bedrooms so nowhere to hang any clothes. Both bedrooms were interconnected as well, which was disappointing i.e. it was necessary to walk through one of the bedrooms in order to reach the other. Although the beds were comfortable the wooden floors creaked and the walls were very thin...All of this this wasn't exactly conducive to a great nights sleep.

There was very good WiFi access but the code to log-in did not appear in the 'welcome pack'. Complimentary tea and coffee was a nice touch although there wasn't enough of it. Some extra bin-liners would have been useful too. The linen and the towels etc. were frankly nothing out of the ordinary and attention to this type of detail was really lacking overall. Beyond the aesthetics there were also some maintenance issues that required attention...The shower-head in the WC was broken, the washing machine in the apartment didn't work at all and lightbulbs had gone out and had not been replaced.

All things considered it wasn't really a bad place to stay because the location sells it, however any number of the above issues conspired to detract from what could have been a much more favourable experience overall. Unfortunately, on this occasion, I would therefore be somewhat reluctant to give it a hearty endorsement, as other reviewers have apparently been inclined to. A decidedly average 3 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna K, Manager at ApartmentsApart, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Mr Smith
Thank you for posting your opinion. I am truly sad to read about all the negatives. Please let me refer to them.
First of all, you booked the apartment through an external booking system and not directly through us.But I checked the description of our offer on their website, There is no information that the building has an elevator so it is not a surprise for you, I suppose. .However, as you might notice there is a brand new elevator in the building which just needs to be activated. And we wait for the owner of the building to do it. The building itself was renovated a few months ago (new facade). Unfortunately, we can not be responsible for other buildings in the close area and scaffolds on them. Due to the recent renovations, the owner of the buidling is going to replace also the main gate very soon. As for the light in the staircase, I asked our handyman to check it every day to make sure that it works fine. As for the walls in the apartment, we are going to repaint them within a few months in low season. On the external system's website I can see that there is information about interconnecting rooms in the apartment, so that should not be any surprise as the apartment in reality is exactly as decribed. As for the maintenance issues, I asked our handyman to check it once more. The washing machine works fine and there is instruction on how it works in an apartment booklet.
I hope that my explanations put some light on the issues you mentioned.
Thank you once more for your review. Thanks to it we are able to improve our quality. As a manager, I can assure you that I will take a deep look at this apartment and other apartments we have in our offer so that the standard and the quality is higher every day and so we can serve our guests better.

Kind Regards,
Joanna Kobylecka
Krakow Department Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at the Basil apt for five days and was really impressed with the facilities. The kitchen had everything you could need including coffee sachets and washing up liquid. The apartment is really well located along a quiet side street and is only 5mins walk to the main square. The nearest supermarket is only yards away and is open 24hrs. We were really pleased with the flat, it was clean and had a lovely modern feel. Would definitely recommend it and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaCJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna K, Manager at ApartmentsApart, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Fiona,
Thank you so much for your opinion on Basil apartment. It's very nice to know that you enjoyed your stay there. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Joanna Kobylecka
Krakow Department Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

2nd time we have stayed here. Wasn't disappointed again. The apartment 'Mars 10B' was modern clean and tidy. We experienced a couple of really minor issues, but they were rectified very quickly. It is literally a 1 minute walk into the main square. Great location. Staff are very polite and courteous and responded very quickly to any emails I sent. To be really picky the stairs to the flat do need some urgent TLC. They are a first impression and not a good one. Fortunately the flats make up for this. Bottom line, would we stay there again? YES.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Emin8te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna K, Manager at ApartmentsApart, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for your nice review. It is always a great pleasure to host you. I hope to see you again in our apartments.
Kind Regards
Joanna Kobylecka
Krakow Department Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived quite late & managed to find the apartment with the help of the friendly staff at Tutto Bene restaurant which is on the ground floor of the block. It was great to have the restaurant there for a late dinner & also for breakfast if you like. We loved our apartment, perfect for a couple. Lovely solid wood furniture & very clean, nice bathroom with good shower. Fantastic location, right on the edge of both the old town & the Jewish quarter. Also close to Starowislna tram stop. Only negative is there appeared to be no air con. It was quite hot in the room at night so we opened the window & it was quite noisy with traffic. But this didn't spoil our stay in any way. We loved Karkow & would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natstar12uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent apartment totally as described and pictured. Location great within 2mins walk of main square but then noisy some nights - nothing ear plugs didnt sort. If stairs are a problem three flights are not for you. Very helpful staff and services.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edelpauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Oberza
Aparthotel Oberza
#82 of 261 in Krakow
144 reviews
Kazimierz
Secesja Hotel
Secesja Hotel
#140 of 261 in Krakow
165 reviews
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Miodosytnia
Aparthotel Miodosytnia
#175 of 261 in Krakow
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton by Hilton Krakow
#42 of 261 in Krakow
583 reviews
Stare Miasto
The Spiski Palace by ApartmentsApart
Stare Miasto
Old Town Apartments
Old Town Apartments
#58 of 444 in Krakow
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ApartmentsApart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ApartmentsApart

Address: Main Square 34, ul. Dietla 75/1a, Krakow 31-007, Poland (Formerly Kazimierz Residence)
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 444 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: $45 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ApartmentsApart 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant, spacious and fully equipped apartments are located in most favourable locations, either right next to the Main Square or in the middle between the Old Town, the Wawel Castle - the royal residence and Kazimierz (the famous old Jewish district).We offer you twice as much space as a hotel. Serviced apartments are the typical flats with rooms, standard kitchen and bathroom. Apartments are not located in one place, but in 4 buildings surrounding the Old Town Market Square & city center, with individual entrance. All these guarantee a home atmosphere and maximum of privacy. We offer various apartments suitable for each guest. All of them are fitted with a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with bath tub or shower, cable TV with international channels, washing machine, iron and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your ApartmentsApart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing