We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crazy Guides - Private Tours
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Crazy Guides - Private Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Crazy Guides - Private Tours
from $44.00
More Info
from $57.80
More Info
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
490
39
9
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
39
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nowa huta milk bar communist era deluxe tour steel works trabant car propaganda film great fun communist times east german great tour great morning unique experience highlight of our trip history lesson recent history dumplings
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

If I could have awarded 10 stars I would have. This guided Communism Tour of the Nowa Huta district is the coolest way to spend 2.5 hours in Krakow. Pre-booking was easy and everything went like clockwork, from pick-up to drop-off this tour was faultless. Our guide was knowledgable, engaging, passionate, authentic and funny and our Trabant vehicle was just THE best way to travel back in time to the Communist period in Poland. We visited key sites, learned about the history of each and sampled vodka shots with pickles! I cannot recommend the tour highly enough for a genuine authentic taste of what life was like under the regime. Thank you Crazy Guides and thank you Eda (please accept my apologies because that spelling is almost certainly wrong).

Thank A15057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We signed up for their communism tour of Nowa Huta in trabants. This was a top trip. Our family of 4 were picked up on time in a coupe of trabants. Great spectacle! Tour guides were so good, so friendly, knowledgeable and engaging both on the history but also life in Poland / general. We were taken around the sights, plenty of history lessons, coffee in an original bar, visit to a flat and lunch in a Milkbar. Our teenage kids loved it for the originality but also because they have done the history at school so could relate to it. Trip really made by the slightly quirky approach, varied content and above all the guides, can’t praise it enough.

Thank 354stepheny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The crazy communism tour was a highlight of our time in krakow. The guides were hilarious and knowledgeable, I learned a lot about history I didn’t know. And riding in a Trabant is something everyone should experience. Take a tour with these people :)

Thank 172dang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to give this a try after seeing advert in a leaflet in our hotel. The guide picked us up punctually. She was very friendly and had a lovely fun nature with lots of enthusiasm. She was an excellent driver too which was a relief since we were in a car with no seatbelts in the back. She had an excellent knowledge and was able to give us a good picture of how things were. We began by being shown some buildings from 1950s and the factory gates. We were taken to a little cafe where we had refreshments including a shot of vodka. Then finally onto a place that had a tank. Loved this tour and would recommend to anyone. Lot's of fun and very informative too.

Thank mrspotato7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow. When you first see or hear your trabant coming you immediately grin from ear to ear. Going through Krakow everyone is looking and smiling at you.
Our guide Maciek was wonderful and very informative.
We did the 2.5 hour tour through Nowa Huta and into an old restaurant for a drink.
Thanks Maciek for a wonderful time.

Thank dridok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yesterday we were picked up by Claudia and taken in an east German made 2cycle engine 26 horsepower car. Quite the ride and experience. We went to the Nowa Huta area which was an eye opener for us. Much nicer than we had invisioned. Got to see an apt. from the 70,s and an original decorated store with the owners having lived there from the building of the city. We ate at a government subsidized Milky bar and the food was home cooked and tasty. Another stop at a first class restaurant with a dance floor . The place is still decorated as it was back then. Had cherry and lemon vodka very good.A very nice 4 hours.

Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were picked up from our apartment in a noisy little yellow Trabant and off we went. Out guide was very knowledgeable about the Nowa Huta and it's history. We did the longer tour and had lunch in a Milk Bar, still very popular with the locals. The car is beyond insane, the looks you get as you drive around are priceless. If you enjoy some history and doing something a bit different this is the tour for you.

Thank ebabe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did the commie tour in trabi several times already and still, love it! Stylowa restaurant rocks, vodka is super cheap and you travel back in time. The apartment has a lot of interesting items and all the guides are super nice and knowledgeable! Trabant cars are the best fun for a hair-raising ride and this tour is a must!

Thank MartinaG2564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

A fascintating glimpse into what was to be a Communist Utopia on the outskirts of Krakow. Kornelia really brought it to life after picking us up at our apartment in an old blue Trabant, which drew some attention as it rattled noisily along the streets on the way to Nowa Huta She was very knowledgeable about the area and it was an entertaining few hours in her company – plus the Polish Vodka whilst watching a Propaganda film went down well with my husband! Thank you, Kornelia, for a snapshot both of Communist life in Nowa Huta under the shadow of Lenin’s giant statue (!) and everyday life in Poland today.

3  Thank Miss-Haversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

I was picked up at 8.30am in an old East German Trabant “car” and taken around Krakow and shown some sites that are relevant the Soviet occupation period, especially the “Nova Huta” area, which was a model communist village built to house workers on the giant steel plant.

For those that don’t know what a Trabant is, this was the most common communist “car” made in East Germany from the mid 1950s to about 1990 when communism collapsed. They never really changed it, it remained pretty much the same design for about 30 years of manufacture.

It has about a 30 horse power engine. When I say horse, I mean Communist Rocking horses. The ride in the Trabant was fantastic, imagine riding in traffic on a ride on lawnmower with a plastic roof, and that just about sums up what the experience is. Noisy, smelly, slow and with a tinge of danger. Almost everyone you pass turns their head to look at it and smiles as you chug past and leave them a cloud of exhaust pollutants accelerating from 0 to 60 in Stalin’s life time.

The “car” has seatbelts in the front, but I doubt they would actually help in an accident give the structure and layout of the car. The fuel tank is located in the engine bay, which just adds to the excitement knowing not only would you most likely die if stuck by another car, it would probably end in a spectacular fireball as well.
I highly recommend a ride !!

Nova Huta was built by the communist government for political as well as economic reasons, Krakow was considered rather “Elitist” at the time given its history as a University town and the government wanted to move “workers” into the area to dilute the political influence of the existing residents. Many people wanted to move from other areas of Poland to get an apartment as they had running water, electricity and central heating which was unheard of in the 1950s. It has wide Avenues, it was sort of modelled off Paris, although in reality its nothing like Paris, apart from being located in Europe.

We also visited a communist restaurant where we were shown some various pictures of when Nova Huta was built and had a shot of vodka (mine was a hazelnut flavour) then drove to an area where we took some photos near the entrance to the steel works and visited an area where there is an old Soviet built tank on display.

After this we went to an apartment that is in original condition, surprised how spacious, bigger than some 2 bedroom units in Australia. We were shown an old propaganda film, had some more Vodka and a polish pickle. Both were quite delicious. The apartment contained lots of old products from the communist time. Apparently toilet paper was an extremely rationed product, and everyone was granted a yearly allotment of 10 roles each !

At the end of the tour we went to traditional polish “milk bar” where the cost of all food (except the meat) is subsidised by the government. very popular with pensioners. There used to be thousands in Poland, now only about 100 left, and 5 are in Nova Huta. The food was extremely cheap, the cost of the meal for three of us was about USD$3 and there was more food than we could finish.

1  Thank sgharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews