We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Indian Cuisine”

Indus Tandoor Restaurant
Ranked #201 of 1,480 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Description: Indus Tandoor is a well known and reasonably priced Indian restaurant where you can often meet tourists who know and like the original taste of Indian cuisine. Professional cooks for the preparation of all dishes use only natural and exotic spices the guarantee the original taste. By the wishes of our clients we prepare dishes with different levels of spiciness. We also offer take away. Open Sunday to Thursday from 12 noon to 10:00 p.m., Friday and Saturday until 12 midnight. Being the first Indian restaurant in Krakow established in 1998, we have good experience in Indian food service. We don't want to boast to much about our food, so visit our place in person and decide for yourself. There is a Garden Grill behind our restaurant.
PL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Real Indian Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I recently took a group of indian colleagues to this restaurant and they were absolutely bowled over, the taste of India in Krakow.

A word of warning, although the quality of the vegetarian indian dishes and breads is as good as you might find in India, once you start ordering the more traditional Birmingham-Indian food, e.g. Chicken Balti, you may end up a little disappointed.

Service is ok, English is spoken, the prices are not cheap by local standards, 10-15 Euros per person with drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    141
    51
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice food, average interior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Probably the best Indian restaurant in Krakow. Food tasty, but not very comfortable interior (too dark in the evenings). The problem is the toilet located outside, especially if you have children with you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kubap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A welcome change, lovely atmosphere, and amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having been bombarded with the choice of eateries whilst in Krakow we spotted the Indus and had a read of the menu outside. We were relieved to see they had 3 vegetarian choices so decided to go there, as I am a vegetarian I had amazing choice compared to other places in Poland, and my friend is also a bit of a fussy eater.

When we went inside we were presented with an even bigger menu, which meant even more choice! We placed our order and were asked to choose how spicy we would like the meals. Though I know some say you shouldn't have a choice, being from a Pakistani family, all my family enjoy meals at different heats, regardless the type of curry. The food arrived quickly, and was more than enough.

The price was amazing, the decor was lovely, the staff friendly, and one of the best curries I have had in such a long time. The waitresses uniforms were borderline theme restaurant, however, its a uniform, does it really matter?!

If I return to Krakow, I will be going back to the Indus. We were upset we hadn't tried it earlier on in our trip so we could return!! One word of warning, I ordered medium heat, and it was very very very hot!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what kind of madras mild medium or hot i like a madras”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

the lady in sara took our order did not write down i said will you remember no problem well wife wanted pakora she got onion baghee i got the tandoori chicken wich was dry in two bits they should have cooked as a whole it might have been moist the madras was like lava my wifes chicken needed a spade to cut through it never a gain but i have heard chilli chilli is class

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank sodge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karachi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food with excellent receipies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had vegetarian dishes and were pleased with quality, quantity and service. To find pure basmati rice was a treat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KIWIPAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indus Tandoor Restaurant also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Indus Tandoor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing