We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay at a reasonable price”
Review of Mundo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mundo Hostel
Ranked #12 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay at a reasonable price”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The Mundo hostel is a 15-20 minute walk from the bus/train station and right on the edge of old town. Walking to the center of old town takes about 5 minutes. The hostel is very clean and is very accommodating. The breakfast they serve every morning is great and they have one computer with internet access. I recommend this hostel to travelers looking for a hostel which goes out of their way to help their guests. One of the best hostels I've been in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatGuy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    67
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
93
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The location is brilliant as The Mundo sits between the old market square (3 minute walk) and Kazimierz (3 minute walk). It is only a 15 minute walk from the train station too.
The hostel is spotless. We had the shared bathroom which was never a problem and it was kept clean all of the time.
The staff could not do enough for us and the breakfasts they prepared were better than any hotels, basically they gave you loads and a big choice of cereals, breads, cheese, meats, salads and as much tea and coffee that you could drink.
Stay at this hostel and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris6781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

My friend and I found ourselves stranded in Krakow due to volcano eruption. We needed to find somewhere cheaper to stay and a luckily sequence of events lead to us staying at the Mundo Hostel. We are older than the usual hostel guests and this was our first experience. It was modern, clean, comfortable and welcoming. Quite a contrast from the so called 4* hotel we had been staying in. The staff were helpful and spoke excellent English.

The hostel only had a few guests when we stayed, so it was a quiet and peaceful place to be. The communal lounge/kitchen area was comfortable and there is a small terrace which is a lovely place to relax when the sun is out. The free internet access was much appreciated given the circumstances surrounding our enforced extended stay in the city.

Breakfast was included in the price which was a lovely bonus. My friend and I wished we'd had our entire stay at this hostel and, as our perception of hostels has now changed, would consider this type of accommodation again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chocbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

One of the best hostels I've stayed in! Ok, so its early February in Krakow and -10 degrees, hence the hostel was quite empty - and SO nice and quiet. Staff were incredibly friendly and attentive, helpful with directions and suggestions, and happy to have a chat.
And yes, they do make you eggs in the morning! With an unlimited supply of cereal, bread (toast), tomotoes, cheese, some sliced meats, fresh coffee.. Free tea and coffee to help yourself through the day or in the evening.
Despite the look of the entrance (which doesn't bother me but was noted in a previous review) the hostel is only a few years old and therefore is all new and modern. We stayed in the private Nepal room which was spotless, warm and comfortable, and the bathrooms were new, clean and practical. And they supplied (small) towels - but perfect for the weekend away with no luggage - the last thing you want to do is carry towels.
I wish all hostels were this good!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

It's so funny everyone's gushing about the scrambled eggs, but it's true. The two lovely ladies preparing breakfast each morning do such an amazing job, it gets everyone's day started on such a good note. (Funny, I'm somewhat a foodie and noticed she uses very similar techniques as Gordon Ramsay's famous scrambled eggs, check it out on www.youtube.com/watch?v=dU_B3QNu_Ks; if the link is broken just type it in... hunk of butter, crack the eggs into the pan and don't scramble beforehand, whisk inside the pan on light heat, she skipped the crème fraîche but definitely had the chives and seasoning at the end! Put it on the bread, add some tomato/cheese/ham and you've got a delicious breakfast.)

Anyways, this was a good hostel all around. It's only slightly out of the way but still very central (between the town square and old Jewish Center which is good... overall about a 15 minute walk from the train station). The private rooms are a bit inconsistent - definitely pay the slight increase and get the rooms with private showers. They're bigger, much more convenient, have better furniture, and are only slightly more expensive. There's laundry (PLN8), lots of cold Lechs and other Polish beer (PLN6), and a good wi-fi connection accessible best from the living area (I couldn't get a connection in my room, but it was much nicer in the common area anyway). The 24hr desk/accessibility is obviously a huge plus for a hostel (no curfew).

I think the big difference is the staff. They are young, helpful, cheerful, and really make the stay enjoyable. I would strongly recommend this hostel to any traveler, not just backpackers and adventurers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atourist00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Stayed with friends at Mundo at the start of July. Initially fearful looks were exchanged as we had to be buzzed in off a side street, walk through a slighty run down looking courtyard with fenced off 3 feet high weeds and be buzzed in through another door next a very tatty sign. However once you're in, the hostel is excellent. The staff are all very giggly and amazingly helpful. In fact all Polish people were giggly- they found us amusing for reasons we didnt understand. The rooms are very clean, basic yet very comfortable. Most hostels I would expect to have to collect my sheets at the front desk so to have a comfy, ready-made bed is a perk. The bathrooms are even better, never ever dirty and very stylish and modern. The breakfast coverage by other reviewers is accurate. It's excellent- we never stopped gushing over their scrambled eggs (haha).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uratargetmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2009

The staff was genuinely friendly, the other guests were interesting, the place was new and clean (better bathrooms than most budget hotels like Marriotts). They don't charge for locks or towels and they collect your linens for you. I felt at home, and I would have been happy staying there for weeks.

The breakfast was amazing too - they make good smoothies, scrambled eggs, sausages. No bread-and-jelly here! It's not much of a gritty backpacker or frat partier hostel; rather more of a laid-back traveller place.

Highly, highly recommended.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank deltaintegrale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Wielopole Hotel
#14 of 259 in Krakow
1,195 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 259 in Krakow
1,698 reviews
Legend Hotel
#33 of 259 in Krakow
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#43 of 259 in Krakow
146 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 420 in Krakow
707 reviews
Greg & Tom Party Hostel
#14 of 420 in Krakow
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Hostel

Property: Mundo Hostel
Address: ul. Jozefa Sarego 10, Krakow 31-047, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mundo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mundo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing