We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastefully done hostel”
Review of Mundo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mundo Hostel
Ranked #10 of 449 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Feels a bit more like a B&B than a hostel. The rooms are tastefully done and cosy. Love the large lockers available in the dorm and the amazing spread at breakfast. The seating area can get busy at breakfast but was never really a problem.

Very easy to find and a short walk to the Old City. The street it is off is not well light so it helps if you have a flashlight but never did feel like it was "dangerous."

Very quiet area as it is off the road so great sleep quality.

The staff were lovely, especially the women working there were very helpful.

Highly recommend and will go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 287 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here in May earlier this year. This was one of the best hostels that we stayed in during our travels around Poland. Lovely atmosphere, clean and tidy. The breakfast was wonderful and prepared before our eyes by the friendly staff. The ONLY thing I would say is that they really do need to put up blinds or provide curtains because although our room wasn't facing the streets we did face other residents! Other than that, I would thoroughly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizatripit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The breakfast is fantastic, and nothing is too much trouble at Mundo. This place oozes character, charm and appeal . Official breakfast times are 9-11, but if you have an early start the staff are happy to personally cook you breakfast any time after 6, and they have extra staff on just for breakfast.

More couch space in the chill out area would be an advantage.

Room Tip: The floorboards help create a great atmosphere, but help the noise of footsteps carry. The bunk beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard1977_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Mundo was perfect - lovely breakfast, dished up by friendly & helpful staff. Although close to centre & easy to reach, it was also one of the quietest & most peaceful at night. The common room is cosy & we liked the fact that it's size encouraged a community atmosphere. That said, you could also sit quietly & relax. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a very nice stay!

The staff was very kind, even preparing a a tasty breakfast for us at 5:45 in the morning ;)

The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the common area had a very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulundlaura2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Tram stops near the end of the street and the old town centre is just across the road yet the hostel is still in a quiet location. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was clean and adequate with secure lockers under the beds with heating in winter. The breakfasts were great although the table space is a problem when the hostel is busy.
My only slight problem was it was quite difficult to meet people here as there is only one small common area at reception and not much seating. There is no outdoor garden or patio apart from a tiny balcony with one table and a couple of chairs for smokers. Would suit couples and groups of friends rather than solo travellers or party animals. Most people didn't spend too much time inside the hostel so if you are travelling solo and like to meet people it may be difficult here.
On the other hand if your looking for a good clean and quite place in a central location this place is perfect. There is a charming little French restaurant around the corner at the traffic lights before crossing the road into the old town just after The Best Western Hotel. It is set back from the main road a little in a small courtyard. You may need to book at weekends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lees806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I've been in this hostel for 2 nights in August 2012. Regarding my experience, calling it hostel is unfair since I've been in private rooms.
The price was awesome, so was the location. Really close to everything you need to enjoy the city. 10 minutes walking distance from the Galeria Krakowska, 5 minutes from ATMs, 3 minutes from a supermarket. Not to mention that you have to walk just 500 metres to be in the Main Market Square. Hostel is very clean, the guys behind the counter are super kind and helpful. They booked for me a guided tour to the Salt Mines and a guy came to pick me up directly at the hostel and also brough me back, awesome.
The only thing I would change about this hostel is the WiFi range: I would spread it to all the building.
Beside that, you can't find anything better in Krakow for this price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#68 of 261 in Krakow
439 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 449 in Krakow
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Dizzy Daisy Hostel DD Downtown
Pink Panther's Hostel
#34 of 449 in Krakow
349 reviews
Stare Miasto
Greg & Tom Beer House Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Hostel

Address: ul. Jozefa Sarego 10, Krakow 31-047, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 449 Specialty Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: $15 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mundo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mundo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing