We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, interesting surroundings”
Review of Hawelka

Hawelka
Ranked #107 of 1,520 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, interesting surroundings”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

17 people met from England, France and Canada and ate here to celebrate a birthday. It was the perfect location, being in an historic building in the central square of old Kracow, serving traditional Polish food with (on the evening of our visit) traditional Polish dancing!

It is possible to eat very cheaply (compared to UK or France) in Kracow and by comparison the Hawelka may seem pricey, but for the quality of the food and the general ambiance, it was not expensive. We had a great night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopep268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    170
    48
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goa Velha, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Its right in the centre square of rynek glowny. We were a group of friends and had dinner. Each one ordered a different dish mostly meats-rabbit, beef etc each dish was well presented and food was well prepared. Food took a little time to come but the wait was worth it. Prices may be a bit higher but then you are in a touristy place right in the centre.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice polish food”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Where do you choose when in Poland for your first visit to try Polish food.?
Hawelka! We chose it cause it looked nice and we had some tasty food Pierogi was really nice. Great bit to sit out on a lovely day.We recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4me4you4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food with views on Main Market Squere”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Cracow on a sunny spring day and the best option for us was to take lunch outdoor under umbrella. The restaurant is rather expensive one but no complaints and lunch special was served and many other polish traditional dishes. I saw many curious foreign customers taking boletus soup served in bread bowl. The interior looked very nice and historic but due to relaxing sunny day we enjoyed food outdoor and atmosphere of Old Town. Even pricy compared to other off Market Place restaurants I recommend the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARM-RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good, simple food with a great view”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

As good as grandma makes. Dumplings fried or boiled and different varieties, followed by soup. The food was very good. We were seated outside in the square and had service immediately. There were vegetarian dumplings and very pleased I had the conversation with the waiter that the meaty gravy to come in gravy boat next to the meal so we could share between meat and non meat eaters. When they served our mains they came to the table with 3 meals and said they have run out of the soup he ordered. Would he like something else. An odd to e to realise or notify of this. We shared our meals instead. When the bill came at the end of the night I asked if his meal had been taken off and it hadn't so he corrected it at the table.

A good meal for us and lovely hearing the trumpeter on the hour, sun going down over the square and good simple, filling meals and great value for money.

Outside seating area is smoking so hit and miss with table selection and guests coming and going. Same across Krakow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawelka also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Hawelka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing