We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Pod Wawelem

Pod Wawelem
Ranked #104 of 1,520 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just got back from this place. Food was excellent and ribs get the Texas seal of approval!! Would easily recommend to a friend and the serving sizes were huge and great value for money. There was also some great live music!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrimanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz B, Kierownik ds. PR at Pod Wawelem, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you mrimanb for your review!

Huge portions of food we serve are famous in hole Cracow :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,823
    1,308
    524
    192
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One you have to go to !!!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We called in for "Drinks Only" and myself, the hubby and our eldest daughter were shown to a table by a really friendly and polite waitress. Whilst sat we couldn't help but see the food that was coming out from the kitchen which looked really good.We decided that this might be a good place to eat for our first meal in Krakow. We left and came back at about six thirtyish. A trio of polish men were playing live music which added to the wonderfully authentic surroundings and atmosphere. My hubby had already eyed up the huge kebab on skewers, and we decided to share one. Our daughter opted for a fish dish. The portions were huge, the food well cooked and delicious. Our bill came and we had had starters, a couple of rounds of drinks, mains. it all came to less that thirty pounds and we were well and truly stuffed. We left at about nine o'clock and each table was packed and people were queuing out of the door. I would highly recommend this place to anyone with a big appetite who likes good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz B, Kierownik ds. PR at Pod Wawelem, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you couplefromHalifax for your review!

We hope to see you and your family again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Ludicrous sized dinner portions and half priced beer?! What wasn't to like?! Food prices were outstanding too! Gets very busy in the evenings, some items were unavailable when we got there at 7pm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeteCrompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz B, Kierownik ds. PR at Pod Wawelem, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you PeteCrompton for your review!

Big portions and good beer is what its all about :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Huge portions, great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent a rather fun night at Pod Wawelem. The food was good (and the portions huge), the litre tankards of beer were good, and the atmosphere was good. It was also very, very cheap. Unsurprisingly this is not fine dining, however a great place for a relaxed and enjoyable night out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz B, Kierownik ds. PR at Pod Wawelem, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you Andrew N for your review!

Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD VALUE”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you're on a small budget and are looking for a large meal - this is the place to eat. We didn't book and turned up on a Sunday lunchtime. The queue was out the door. We were travelling in a group of 8 and we waited approximately 10-15 mins. We were shown to a private dining room and our waitress was happy and helpful.

The food is good quality, nicely presented and tasty. Don't expect the Ritz, because that's not what it is set up for. But I have no complaints at all.

We stayed all afternoon, ate all we could eat, drank litre glasses of lager and had several vodka shots.

Dreading the bill, we asked for it and there was a quick discussion between us that we did have a credit card if it was needed.... it wasn't......745 Zlotys which roughly is £150/£160 for 8 people to eat and drink all afternoon which we felt was extremely good.

Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz B, Kierownik ds. PR at Pod Wawelem, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you Marie S for your review!

We hope to see you and your friends again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pod Wawelem also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Pod Wawelem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing