We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun, great food, incredible value”
Review of Pod Wawelem

Pod Wawelem
Ranked #119 of 1,696 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Reviewed November 8, 2013

we loved eating here it's a lot of fun for big drinkers and eaters and a great atmosphere. the crispy pork knuckle is a must eat..enough to serve a family of 8 for a sunday dinner but a bit much for a couple since we ordered the gigantic chicken kebab as well. staff are very friendly, we were plied with free vodka shots as well (lemon and cherry flavours were lovely).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank simon47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz B, Guest Relations Manager at Pod Wawelem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for the review!
We' re very happy that you enjoyed the meal in our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,597 of 4,704 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were given a lovely welcome by all the staff , who spoke good English. This is a big hectic restaurant with the staff rushing around with huge trays of food, and big litre glasses of Polish beer, it was an experience just being here. The atmosphere was great, so we entered into the spirit by ordering Beer by the litre, and the food came quickly, which we all loved, great Polish food, tasty, in big portions. We had room for desert, but stayed even longer , as the live music from the jazz band was a great addition to the evening.
If I come to Krakow again , I will come straight to this restaurant again. It was a great evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smokeyjoelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz B, Guest Relations Manager at Pod Wawelem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for the review!
We' re very happy that you enjoyed the meal in our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Service was very slow, a number of items not available on the Menu. Overall quality of the food was poor !!!

Thank Munster-FanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very busy place, very popular with the locals. Set at the bottom of the Planty in beautiful surroundings.Every time we come back to Krakow we visit Pod Wawelem just to try the home made lemon vodka, the recipe of which is known to only the staff here. I'm not a massive fan of mass produced flavoured vodkas, but this little boutique lemon number they do here is a stunner! Be warned though, it's powerful stuff.

2  Thank CookiesLeftFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This was the best sit down meal of our trip to krakow! Big plates of amazing food. Highly recommend a visit to this gorgeous looking restaurant. Was worth the wait

Thank Kaitlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomasz B, Guest Relations Manager at Pod Wawelem, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for the review!
We' re very happy that you enjoyed the meal in our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pod Wawelem also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Pod Wawelem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing